We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Boat Trip”

Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 54 Tours in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banana Bay Tour Company is dedicated to high quality eco-tourism. We specialize in ecological tours of South West Florida, Fort Myers Beach to the South Sanibel to the West and Cape Coral to the North. Come and watch the dolphins play in our beautiful estuaries. Your guides are trained certified Florida Master Naturalists in Coastal Environments / Wetlands from the University of Florida and we are a Dolphin SMART Approved tour operator.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went on the 1.5 hours Dolphin boat trip, it was fantastic JR the captain and his crew were so knowlegible and enthusiatic and we saw such wonderful wild life. Everyone should go on this trip no matter what age you are

Date of experience: May 2013
3  Thank MrsG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaBayTourCompany, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

MrsG69 thank you for your great review. The dolphins are so much fun to watch no matter how many times we go out on the water. We just never know what to expect from those beautiful marine mammals! Watching them frolicking in the water jumping and gracefully moving about is just so much fun and I'm glad you enjoyed yourself.

Thank you again for the review,

The Banana Bay tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"captain jr"
in 165 reviews
"dolphin cruise"
in 43 reviews
"picnic island"
in 41 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 52 reviews
"beautiful sunset"
in 30 reviews
"mate dave"
in 11 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 39 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 12 reviews
"lunch cruise"
in 9 reviews
"white pelicans"
in 11 reviews
"small island"
in 7 reviews
"marine life"
in 11 reviews
"san carlos bay"
in 8 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 9 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 8 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 8 reviews
Filter

617 - 621 of 875 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

JR , Anya and Dimitri run a tip top cruise of the Calousahatchie. We saw dolphins, osprey, and eagles as well as other birds and wildlife. JR was a very informative captain, explaining mangroves, conservation and water creatures. Lunch from Pignoli's was good and a stop on Picnic Island was a chance to explore. Highly recommend this cruise.

Date of experience: May 2013
4  Thank annsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaBayTourCompany, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Annsh, thank you for the great review. The Eco cruise is our favorite cruise and we are all so glad you enjoyed yourself. The mangroves do amazing things for Southwest Florida's Eco System. They are a nesting area for birds, they serve as a storm buffer to reduce wind and wave action and they protect water quality by filtering it and trapping sediments.

Thank you again for the great review,

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future,

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We took the Half Day Ecological Dolphin Tour with Captain JR, Danny & Anja out of Cape Coral which includes lunch on a small island. It was a fantastic trip, saw loads of wildlife including lots of dolphins and JR is very informative about everything. Danny and Anja also did a brilliant job of making the tour feel very friendly and welcoming. We booked online through Zerve which was really easy and all the information needed was there, we even got to provide our lunch choices in advance without any problems. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Date of experience: May 2013
4  Thank LAJMC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaBayTourCompany, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

LAJMC14, Thank you for the great review. I'm glad you had so much fun on the cruise. The photos you took while on the cruise are amazing. The dolphins did a great job posing for the pictures!

I will look forward to seeing your group again,

Thank you again for the great review,

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've been going on tours with Captain "JR" and Banana Bay for 6 years now -- sunsets, lunch tours -- in various places. After the first one, we always jump at the opportunity, even if we've just been out, because it's always a great experience and, even though we are nature enthusiasts and pretty well informed, we always learn something. (JR is a certified master naturalist and today's comments about dophins and protecting mothers and babies from getting separated were news to all of us, even those of us who boat all the time!) Today was our first 4 hour "ecotour" out of Rum Runners in Cape Coral and we'll be back with our family to do that one again. Pick a picnic lunch cruise if you can and, when you call to make reservations, ask if you can take a swim during the lunch break on "picnic island." It's a pretty spot and you can always eat your bag lunch after the break. Get there early and grab some coffee and a breakfast sandwich at the coffee shop, RunAgrounds (get it?), and be prepared: they serve 24 flavors of very fine homemade gelato so you'll have to plan a return visit after the boat docks. Bring water (or ask if they will have a cooler on the boat), sunscreen, wear a bathing suit if they say there will be a place to take a swim, and shoes or flipflops that can get wet, a hat . . . .all the usual tropical stuff . . .a camera, binoculars, etc. I think you can also bring your favorite grown up drinks (but probably not red wine). JR is extraordinary with children and they don't forget that! We always find a tip for the crew has been well earned.
PS: There's a nice clean bathroom ("head") on the boat! Thanks JR!

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank vinnyandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaBayTourCompany, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

vinneyandbabs, thank you for writing such a great review. Our Eco Lunch Cruise is one of the crews favorite cruises. You get to enjoy the dolphin program, stop at Picnic Island for your lunch and swimming and then on to the Mangroves for the birds, manatees and much more.

Dolphins have a gestation period of up to 12-13 months and when they are ready to give birth the other female dolphins in the pod will surround the dolphin to protect her from prey while she is giving birth. Usually dolphins will have 1 baby at a time (twins are very rare). The calf will nurse for up to 20 months and then Males will continue to stay close to their mother for 3 to 5 years and Females 2- 3 years.

We enjoyed having you on the trip and look forward to seeing on another trip soon.

Thank you again for the great review,

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We did this tour two years ago, knowing nothing about it in advance. It turned out to be a wonderful experience for the whole family of five, three adults plus two kids - 1,5 year old and 3,5 years old. This particular day was Captain JR's birthday and he took us on a exclusive tour to various islands as well as to see plenty of wildlife - Dolphins, Birds, Manatees. Our 3.5 year old son got to steer the boat with him (our daughter fell asleep in this Paradise :-)) and was so thrilled about the experience. Captain JR thought us a lot of facts about the wildlife during the trip and is very knowledgable about the surroundings and ecosystems.

Now, for two years we have had pictures of "The Captain" and our boating experience on our walls at home in Sweden and our kids (and parents) have spoken about the trip many, many times. Today, this time on my birthday, we went back again and it was like meeting an old friend. Captain JR was the same ever-so-friendly, truly caring man he was the last time we met and we made sure to tell him that he and the cruise experience was one of the very reasons we came back to Cape Coral and Florida again, all the way from Sweden! Both our children, now 5, 5 and 3, 5 got to sit in Captain JR's lap and steer the boat again. I swear, they almost burst with pride and joy from seeing him again! And I think JR was proud he had made such an impression on the kids as well!

We would strongly recommend any trip with the Banana Bay Tour Company and in particularly a trip with Captain JR for any group of people really, solo, couples or families. If you have kids, they will love him and you will have pictures of "The Captain" on your walls in your homes :-)!

Captain JR, we will see you soon again!

All the best from Simon, Molly, Mom, Dad and Grandma!

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank Christoffer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaBayTourCompany, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Christoffer,

Thank you for the amazing review. I am honored that you chose to celebrate your birthday on a cruise with us. It was great to you and the family again. Simon and Molly were great helpers during the cruise as they helped us with the boat to find the dolphins.

We look forward to your next visit to Cape Coral, Fl and

Thank you again for the special review,

The Banana Bay tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours also viewed

 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing