We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great way to spend the day”

Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 39 Tours in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banana Bay Tour Company is dedicated to high quality eco-tourism. We specialize in ecological tours of South West Florida, Fort Myers Beach to the South Sanibel to the West and Cape Coral to the North. Come and watch the dolphins play in our beautiful estuaries. Your guides are trained certified Florida Master Naturalists in Coastal Environments / Wetlands from the University of Florida and we are a Dolphin SMART Approved tour operator.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great way to spend the day”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went with my daughter ,my niece and mom ,it was so comfortable, great view from all sides .They were so knowledgeable and interesting ,without being annoying . we learned so much .we saw many dolphins and other wild life ,also learned alot about the mangroves and how important they are to the ecological system . they knew everything they were awesome. Both girls got to drive the boat .they provided a great lunch and were so accommodating and friendly ..we loved it well worth the time and money .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
NicoleM, thank you for the wonderful review. The Ecological Lunch Cruise is the crew and my favorite so I am glad to hear that you and your family had so much fun with us. When creating this cruise I wanted everyone to see everything Southwest Florida had to offer from the water. We have so much fun searching the water to see what nature has to offer each day on our cruises.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a great review and we look forward to seeing you on a future cruise.

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    32
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW, don't miss this one!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Snowbirding in FL, SIL/DD/GD down to vist and wanted to try boat tour. Came up with Banana Bay Dolphin tour set for a Sunday morning. Weather turned cool a few days before and we were really not sure what to expect. Would have toddler 2.5 with us and did not know if weather was going to cooperate. We bundled up and headed to Rum Runners to catch our boat. While traveling to Rum Runners, received a very nice phone call telling us to make sure to "bundle up" that it would be cool, but tour would take place. Waited a few minutes to board boat because of another boat in the way. Had stroller, but Captain JR and Dan made sure we got on boat safely with stroller and toddler. We were fortunate enough to sit inside area and out of wind. Captain JR assured us that if we did not see a dolphin on this trip, to come back and he would take us back out again, free of charge. He knew what he promised because with 5 minutes of taking off, we had seen a dolphin and a manatee. Highlight was seeing granddaughter interact with Captain JR and letting her (and the other kids) help navigate the boat. Captain Lucy was a treat to watch. Lots of dolphins, birds, manatees and fun. Weather was the only hinderance, but it was tolerable as we moved about inside and outside. Was a 1.5 hour trip, became a little lengthy for granddaughter and other young ones on the tour, but all in all, great trip and would do it again. Take you beverages and snacks, sunglasses, cameras, and jackets and get ready for some beautiful sights. Thanks Captain JR. A wonderful time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank slgoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! Captain Lucy did a great job navigating the boat that day to help us find the Dolphins and other wildlife! Manatees are not seen on all our trips so Captain Lucy was really keeping her eyes on the water for us that day.

Thank you again for the great review and I look forward to having Captain Lucy and your family join us again soon.

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't go just for the dolphins!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We wanted a last holiday experience to finish our wonderful Cape Coral holiday in a memorable way. We chose the 3 hour Eco tour with lunch on the little island in the Calasahootche River. Captain JR started the tour off by saying that most people would be wanting to see dolphins. He guaranteed that we would see them or receive a free tour voucher for a future trip. This wasn't the reason for our trip though, and we saw far more than dophins and enjoyed the whole experience. Our first wildlfe viewings were various water birds including a pair of the relatively rare yellow crowned night heron. We then saw dolphins from a discrete distance, including a herding fish display. We then didn't see dophins again until just before docking, as we caught a glimpse of a couple as they frolicked in the wake of a passing boat. It was great looking at land from the seaward side, and the views were amazing. JR and Danny were very attentive, readily available for questions and pointing out features from big houses, to isolated kayak rivers, stories behind the names of islands, and the importance of mangroves and interaction between flora, fauna, the landscape, rivers, weather and people. He made sure everyone was involved and the light-hearted quizzes, although not my favourite thing to do, did mean that I remembered facts more easily. Picnic Island was lovely but rather spoiled for us by some of the dead fish due to 'red tide'. Some people still took their picnic on the island and other ate on the boat. After lunch we did some exploring and shelling on the shore line. Danny fished around and brought back hermit, spider, and small snow crabs to look at and JR gave us a great interaction session and explained each one. There was never a rush to get on or to get back and I had the feeling that the tour often lasted longer than 3 hours (ours was 4!) Oh, and did I mention, we saw a manatee on the way back! Thank you JR and Danny from the UK party on your tour. You made the last day of our holiday very enjoyable :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you SueEThurtle for writing such a great review. The Yellow Crowned Night Heron is such a beautiful bird with its yellow crown sweeping across the top of its head. It is very rare to see these birds in our area and I am glad you were able to be on the boat with us on the day that we saw them. Each of our cruises is an adventure on the water as we locate different birds and mammals moving about in and around the water and I'm happy you and your group enjoyed yourselves.

Thank you again from The Banana Bay Tour Company Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Perfect Cruise”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Two couples joined Captain JR and his First Mate on a Dolphin Watching and Sunset Cruise. It was great. Clean and comfortable boat, knowledgeable crew, and perfect weather. We saw dolphins playing the water within 5 minutes. Lots more dolphins are were cruised along as well as giant White Pelicans. Captain JR pointed out lots of interesting sites through the entire trip. The boat was in perfect position to catch a beautiful sunset. This was a great trip and I would highly recommend it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Charlie S., Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We take the time to clean our boats at the start of each day and after each cruise. Southwest Florida is popular for its beautiful Sunsets and on the water they are simply amazing to watch.

I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and thank you again for taking the time to write the review, I look forward to seeing you and your group next time you're in Southwest Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An adventure for everyone!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went on the 3 hour dolphin trip and had a wonderful time! There were only 7 of us on that trip and JR and Danny were the best! Before we left the dock we saw a matinee wishing us a great trip and it was! The lunch provided was excellent! I would recommend this trip for everyone. Thanks JR and Danny for the best adventure in Florida!

Helpful?
2 Thank Robin7158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Robin,
Thank you for the review! Even though we are always on the water, the manatee is always a special treat for us to see also. They are an amazing mammal and such fun to watch moving through the water.

I'm glad you enjoyed the trip and I look forward to seeing you on a future trip,

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing