We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go just for the dolphins!”

Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 42 Tours in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banana Bay Tour Company is dedicated to high quality eco-tourism. We specialize in ecological tours of South West Florida, Fort Myers Beach to the South Sanibel to the West and Cape Coral to the North. Come and watch the dolphins play in our beautiful estuaries. Your guides are trained certified Florida Master Naturalists in Coastal Environments / Wetlands from the University of Florida and we are a Dolphin SMART Approved tour operator.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We wanted a last holiday experience to finish our wonderful Cape Coral holiday in a memorable way. We chose the 3 hour Eco tour with lunch on the little island in the Calasahootche River. Captain JR started the tour off by saying that most people would be wanting to see dolphins. He guaranteed that we would see them or receive a free tour voucher for a future trip. This wasn't the reason for our trip though, and we saw far more than dophins and enjoyed the whole experience. Our first wildlfe viewings were various water birds including a pair of the relatively rare yellow crowned night heron. We then saw dolphins from a discrete distance, including a herding fish display. We then didn't see dophins again until just before docking, as we caught a glimpse of a couple as they frolicked in the wake of a passing boat. It was great looking at land from the seaward side, and the views were amazing. JR and Danny were very attentive, readily available for questions and pointing out features from big houses, to isolated kayak rivers, stories behind the names of islands, and the importance of mangroves and interaction between flora, fauna, the landscape, rivers, weather and people. He made sure everyone was involved and the light-hearted quizzes, although not my favourite thing to do, did mean that I remembered facts more easily. Picnic Island was lovely but rather spoiled for us by some of the dead fish due to 'red tide'. Some people still took their picnic on the island and other ate on the boat. After lunch we did some exploring and shelling on the shore line. Danny fished around and brought back hermit, spider, and small snow crabs to look at and JR gave us a great interaction session and explained each one. There was never a rush to get on or to get back and I had the feeling that the tour often lasted longer than 3 hours (ours was 4!) Oh, and did I mention, we saw a manatee on the way back! Thank you JR and Danny from the UK party on your tour. You made the last day of our holiday very enjoyable :)

4  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you SueEThurtle for writing such a great review. The Yellow Crowned Night Heron is such a beautiful bird with its yellow crown sweeping across the top of its head. It is very rare to see these birds in our area and I am glad you were able to be on the boat with us on the day that we saw them. Each of our cruises is an adventure on the water as we locate different birds and mammals moving about in and around the water and I'm happy you and your group enjoyed yourselves.

Thank you again from The Banana Bay Tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 572 of 787 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Two couples joined Captain JR and his First Mate on a Dolphin Watching and Sunset Cruise. It was great. Clean and comfortable boat, knowledgeable crew, and perfect weather. We saw dolphins playing the water within 5 minutes. Lots more dolphins are were cruised along as well as giant White Pelicans. Captain JR pointed out lots of interesting sites through the entire trip. The boat was in perfect position to catch a beautiful sunset. This was a great trip and I would highly recommend it!

2  Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Charlie S., Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We take the time to clean our boats at the start of each day and after each cruise. Southwest Florida is popular for its beautiful Sunsets and on the water they are simply amazing to watch.

I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and thank you again for taking the time to write the review, I look forward to seeing you and your group next time you're in Southwest Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went on the 3 hour dolphin trip and had a wonderful time! There were only 7 of us on that trip and JR and Danny were the best! Before we left the dock we saw a matinee wishing us a great trip and it was! The lunch provided was excellent! I would recommend this trip for everyone. Thanks JR and Danny for the best adventure in Florida!

2  Thank Robin7158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Robin,
Thank you for the review! Even though we are always on the water, the manatee is always a special treat for us to see also. They are an amazing mammal and such fun to watch moving through the water.

I'm glad you enjoyed the trip and I look forward to seeing you on a future trip,

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful weather and great service helped make this dolphin Eco lunch tour the best experience we've had in SW Florida in the past three weeks. Captain was knowledgable and a great presenter. Dolphins were amazing. We saw several birds, including a bald eagle. Mate and captain went to great lengths to help a passenger with disabilities. A wheelchair ramp is to be added in next 2-3 weeks. Don't miss this.

3  Thank 3d4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

3d4ever, thank you for taking the time to writer such a great review. We enjoy going out on the water every day to see what exciting things we can find along with the dolphins and am glad you were able to join us.

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great time touring with JR. The boat is wonderful, has a rest room and thankfully I never felt seasick which was a concern. Loved the dolphins and all the wild life we saw.

4  Thank NewLondonCTAdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRoverOfDover, Owner at Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us Adrift. I'm glad you enjoyed your Cruise with us watching the dolphins moving about in the water. All of our boats have dual pontoon hulls which gives you a much smoother ride on the water to help alleviate the possibility of seasickness.

I look forward to seeing you on a future Cruise,

The Banana Bay Tour Company Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Banana Bay Tour Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing