We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid-back, down-home feel + Pet-friendly = Will Return Soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (Sunday thru Thursday) and enjoyed every moment of our visit. The moment we arrived we heard great music playing form the pool area. We had initially purchased the economy room, but once I went in I asked my husband to get us an upgrade; we were traveling with our pooch and with his belongings and dog cage, I knew it would be too tight for the three of us. So we were upgraded to the Guest Suite. (After checking the site, I did notice that there was still a larger suite available -- had I known I would have gone with that one, as it has an entirely separate kitchen/living area from the bedroom. This would have been ideal for us -- Now I know for our next stay, as there will definitely be another when we visit the Cape Coral area again.)

The hotel has a number of items you can borrow at your leisure -- BBQ grills, a fire pit, a hackey sack game, a paddle boat, canoes, bikes, magazines/newspapers in the pool area, floaties, etc. The room also came stocked with a microwave, full-sized fridge, toaster, plates, cups, etc. (FYI -- There was no silverware, so bring some plastic ones with you.) And the bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in while at a hotel. I usually ache for my bed when I stay at hotels, but not here.

The Cape Coral Yacht Club Beach is about 5-6 miles from the property; it took us about 10 minutes to get there from the hotel. There were also a number of bars/restaurants to choose from, but overall the area closes relatively early, so if you are looking for a "night life" vibe you will need to head down to Ft. Myers beach, which is about a 20-25 minute drive from Hideaway. We wanted something quiet so this was perfect for us.

I have only ONE con -- I wear contacts and it seems that the pool may have been overly chlorinated b/c my eyes were burning after having spent a few hours in there on the first night. However, I am glad they keep the pool clean! LOL!

The management was friendly, courteous and helpful, the property was warm and welcoming; the rooms, although on the older side, were clean and well-kept. Overall we would surely stay again.

Room Tip: Opt for the suites if you are traveling with a pet. We had originally purchased the Economy Room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emart018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Mark & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I always have intentions of giving reviews but have never taken the time to actually do so. In this case I feel obligated to "toot the horn" of this little gem in Cape Coral. We were in town for a funeral so the stay was last minute on Memorial Day weekend and everything had a minimum 3 night stay or didn't allow large dogs. Unable to stay 3 days or find an alternative for our dog on such short notice we gave this very reasonably priced place a try and are so happy we did.
If you are looking for the Ritz this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a laid back atmosphere that has a pet friendly, couple friendly or family friendly environment this is the place for you. Our unit had a full kitchen which came fully stocked with anything you could need from cooking utensils to coffee to dish soap. The rooms are very clean and believe me we did a "complete" check!! I strongly advise you pay the extra few bucks for the suite as you have a separate bedroom which gives you more of an apartment than motel feel. The room was very cool which makes for great sleeping! The pool is clean and always has music playing. When you arrive you get a tour of the property by the owners who are very accommodating. No matter what we asked for they provided, from a GPS charger to left over bait for quick fishing on the marina, directions to a great breakfast place "Annie's" and they even had fire wood for the fire Pitt in the back. Now about the back....

The real heart if this hotel is the back yard on the marina. They have a fantastic dock which is illuminated at night with tables and chairs. There is a fire pitt, a grill, paddle boat, kayaks, a hammock and even a small fridge for drinks while relaxing in the sun. They have a complimentary laundry facility which just shows they get it. Congratulations to this place for being so friendly and non-corporate!!! I will definitely stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for such a fabulous review, we do hope to see you again!!

Mark & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Maybe it´s low season because we were almost by ourselves in the beginning of may. The pool were clean and warm. The location were good. The deck was cozy, with a hammock, gas grill and sunbeds. Our room were ok for the money it cost. We will be back for some nights in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for posting your review - we're looking forward to seeing you again!

Mark & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have family in the Cape Coral area but we always stay here. Pet friendly with nice neighborhood to exercise our pets! Rooms are modest but nice and clean. Pool area is nice in front of complex and veranda area are nice along the canal. Peaceful at night to have a cocktail on the deck and watch the water roll by in the canal. They have bikes and kayaks too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for choosing us! We're glad you and your pets enjoyed your stay!

We appreciate your comments,
Mark & Linda, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We loved this place. The rooms themselves are modest but adequate but the facilities available outside are great. We sat on the verandah, overlooking the peaceful canal, watching the fish jumping. There's a double hammock, a good pool, lots of comfortable sunbeds and chairs, bikes to borrow and very friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnlyinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

So glad to hear that you enjoyed the verandah and canal!
Thanks for your review,
Mark & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at the Hideaway in late February as we wanted to visit Sanibel Island & did not want to spend Sanibel prices for accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised to find this hidden waterfront property with much more value for the money than anyplace closer to Sanibel. We had a studio room with full kitchen, full size refrigerator, dishwasher & full size stove & a king size bed. Nice big closet & nightstands for storage as well as TV armoire. Our TV had some issues and the owners took care of the problem in a timely manner. The pool was heated, the back deck area faced the canal with Tiki huts & plenty of seating as well as a hammock for relaxing. Although the weather was fairly cool while we were there, we spent a couple of evenings enjoying the back deck which was lit up at night so we could enjoy the waterfront & the moonlight. The owners made lots of suggestions for restaurants within walking distance and sights within the area. A nice quiet residential neighborhood surrounded the property; Cape Coral is an affordable alternative to other more crowded nearby areas like Fort Meyers & Sanibel. We always enjoy supporting family run businesses whenever possible instead of the large hotel chains as it makes travelling much more memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the heated pool area to the front & the waterfront is to the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Your description and room tip are very helpful, we appreciate your taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor!

Best,
Mark & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was in a great location and the owners were very helpful. I was not impressed with the lack of cleanliness of our room and even had to clean the soap scum off the tub/shower myself. Even older hotels can be clean and fresh smelling.The onsite washer/dryer was nasty looking so we went to the laundry mat at the end of the street and it was actually in much better shape than the hotels.but it was more expensive which was fine with me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueOverhiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate your review!

Mark & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#5 of 6 in Cape Coral
385 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
10.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel

Address: 4601 SE 5th Ave, Cape Coral, FL 33904-8575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range: $80 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Waterfront Resort and Hotel, located in Cape Coral, Florida, is a full-service hotel, getaway resort and extended-stay hotel. Overlooking the waterfront, with hotel rooms or suites with kitchenettes, you'll be comfortable and have plenty of amenities for relaxation and fun! Tiki huts, heated pool, waterfront views, established coconut trees, bicycling, wireless and cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Waterfront Hotel Cape Coral
Hideaway Waterfront Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing