We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I booked this at the last minute and as soon as we drove up, realized it was a mistake. As others have said, it is very old and the cleanliness is questionable. It may be that things are just so worn that they can't be revived, but to say that it is tired is an understatement.
The staff were pleasant but not around much, we went to the office 2 or 3 times to ask about something and they were no where to be found.

Our main complaint is the location. It is in the middle of a residential area, not near anything, and the beach that they tell you they are near is quite a drive and is a little spit of sand.

I see that others don't agee but I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripfoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Hello Guest. Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are, indeed, nestled in a quiet area. As our name and website describe, the ‘Hideaway’ has earned a reputation for this particular ‘hidden away’ quality, and tranquil surroundings. And although there are a few smaller beaches in the area, we are also within easy driving distance of world-renowned beaches such as Fort Myers and Sanibel.

Of course, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Our commitment to Guest satisfaction is our first priority!

Mark
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 256 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a very nice stay at The Hideaway recently. Our suite was down-home cozy and comfortable. We made new friends at the pool, had fun trying out the paddle boat, and enjoyed our evening out on the back deck chatting with cool breezes, water views, and sparkly lights that set such a pleasant atmosphere. Mark and Linda went out of their way to welcome us and provided great service. See photos and videos of our trip:

http://come-to-cape-coral.com/the-hideaway-resort.com

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank CometoSWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Where else can you go and get free paddle boats, kayaks, barbecue area ?? Plus on our first trip they called us and told us what we had left behind!! I have never had that kind of service anywhere else.
The price is great. The service is outstanding. It is a low key, family atmosphere and we love it!

Room Tip: Room 9 next to the birds is much larger than some of the other rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karynthana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Karynthana,

It was great to see you again! We'll continue working toward creating the best experience possible for our guests - thanks for your kind words!

Mark & Linda
Owners, Hideaway Waterfront Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed here with my fiance for 2 nights and we enjoyed it.

We really didn't spend much time in the room but ours was clean and well equipped with kitchen, fridge etc. Beds are comfy and the grounds are really quaint as the hotel backs up to the canal.

We enjoyed laying in the hammock and watching the boats go by.

The staff are super friendly and gave us a tour of the hotel. Small things like that make a big difference.

This really has to be the best deal in Cape Coral / Fort Myers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the great review!

Best,

Mark & Linda, Owners
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We needed a place to stay before a week on Sanibel. Fort Myers beach is just tacky. So we opted for Cape Coral. We chose the Hideaway Waterfront Resort based on Tripadvisor reviews; once again thank you for a great place. Yes, it's dated but it's clean and in a safe neighborhood. My family and children stayed in a suite with separate bedroom (huge confortable king size bed) and children on fold out couch in living room. My parents stayed in an adjoining efficiency. The pool was good sized and felt great. As a bonus, use of kayaks and a paddleboat were included (and use of life jackets). My kids loved it. There is music at the pool (more of my parents genre) but we could still carry on a conversation. We would stay there again. Not the Hilton but a bargain in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidMoMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

Great to know you liked Cape Coral! We're thrilled to be a choice for families, and it's really terrific to see guests having fun and enjoying the water!

Best,

Mark & Linda
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I've actually stayed at the Hideaway multiple times...I bought a house in Cape Coral and make many trips over during its renovation. I've stayed in several types of rooms, from a suite to the smallest one-bedded room. Great location close to downtown but a quiet, residential location. Nice pool area with music during opening hours. My pet was graciously accepted, which was appreciated. I grew up in the motel business and can appreciate the work behind this "mom and pop" motel. The owners, Mark and his wife are great. Nothing fancy, just the Florida you remember. The only negative I would say is that it can be a bit noisy between units.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mibenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very economical hotel that offers a lot of amenities! Suites available, good size swimming pool, large deck on the canal for entertaining or relaxing, kayaks and fishing poles available for use. The owners are very helpful and ensure a good stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_Orlando_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
2.8 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#5 of 6 in Cape Coral
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
14.5 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel

Address: 4601 SE 5th Ave, Cape Coral, FL 33904-8575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range: $74 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Waterfront Resort and Hotel, located in Cape Coral, Florida, is a full-service hotel, getaway resort and extended-stay hotel. Overlooking the waterfront, with hotel rooms or suites with kitchenettes, you'll be comfortable and have plenty of amenities for relaxation and fun! Tiki huts, heated pool, waterfront views, established coconut trees, bicycling, wireless and cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Waterfront Hotel Cape Coral
Hideaway Waterfront Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing