We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German Food in Cape Coral”
Review of Duke of Germany

Duke of Germany
Ranked #84 of 425 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated. Susen (owner and chef) has been indulging her guest since 25 years. Since march 2010 we serve German dishes in Cape Coral.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
198 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food in Cape Coral”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This family-run restaurant is located in a stripmall, but once inside, you step into a cozy, authentic German biergarten. The schnitzels and potato pancakes are the equal of any you'll find on either side of the Atlantic. The veal was fork-tender, and very flavorful. The Grillhaxe was delicious and cooked perfectly. The menu has a wide selection of wursts and traditional German comfort food (think sauerbraten, etc.) Beer and wine selections (no hard liquor) complimented the menu very well, with american and german choices. Deserts are limited to strudel, honey cakes and ice cream...(a chocolate cake would be a nice addition).We dined on a Tuesday evening (open Tue-Sun), and did not require reservations, although the weekends are busier.
If you're looking for a change from the usual seafood/ italian/ steakhouse choices in the area..this is a great option.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    53
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“Best Schnitzel Ever!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a lovely evening at this restaurant tonight. The music and atmosphere was very nice. He service was excellent. We had the veal Jaegar Schnitzel and it was one of the best I have ever had!! - and I've had many :)

Hubby and I can can highly recommend this restaurant for a great meal!!

PS we took adantageof their earl bird special: 20% off all schnitzels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorett306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
281 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC....Coming again soon!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I ordered the pork schnitzel w/mushroom gravy & my husband ordered the Grillhaxe. Everything was amazingly delicious & authentic. The German beer was excellent too. We can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Takemetoalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wunderbar! Very Nice”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

You will not be disappointed if you enjoy good German fare. Dined there for the first time recently and were pleased with food and service. Potato pancakes great, main courses we had were schnitzel and sauerbraten, with typical side dishes, spaetzle, dumplings, red cabbage all great taste/flavors. Often hard to find authentic, home cooked German, the Duke of Germany delivered above expectations.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokyo_Yoship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best German in Swfl”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After trying 3 different German restraunts in the area, this one is truly a gem above the rest. It is family owned and operated and immediately upon entering you can feel the homely atmosphere. Don't be alarmed if you enter and are the only patrons in the place, within 20 minutes every table was full and the wait staff was very prompt with each table. The menu had many choices of German fare and you can definitely not go wrong with any of the schnitzel. One in our party had the sauerbraten and they commented it was one of the best they've had, including many places they've tried in Germany. If you enjoy delicious German food, this is your place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrldtravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Germany also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duke of Germany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing