We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Traditional Mexican Food So Far”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taco's El Tequila

Taco's El Tequila
Ranked #93 of 422 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best Traditional Mexican Food So Far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I've been on a quest since moving to Cape Coral for a good Mexican food restaurant and so far, this has been the best!

My hubby and I went there based on a recommendation from a friend who used to live in New Mexico. Not that this would ever compare to Mexican in New Mexico but it was good. This is our new "go-to" Mexican restaurant.

You know you're in a good Mexican restaurant when you're the only "gringo" in the whole place that's filled with Latinos!

Starting with the salsa - they bring out a triple server with red, hot red and tomatillo (green) salsas. All of them were tasty but not spicy enough for our taste - we're fireheads! We mixed in some of the bottled hot sauce that was on the table to spice it up and mixed the two reds together. That made a pretty darn good salsa. The chips appear to be homemade. They're a little thick but good.

One of my favorite dishes is Chilaquiles, which is traditionally a dish made with yesterdays tortillas and layered with red sauce, onions and queso fresco. These were made with fresh tortilla chips - so not traditional but tasty! The portion was huge. The rice was rather bland - still looking for a good Spanish rice.

My hubby tried the chicken fajitas, which again was just chicken grilled along with peppers and onions. I guess that Florida Mexican restaurants don't understand that fajitas are typically marinated in tequila, lime juice and seasonings before being grilled with the veggies. The flour tortillas were different than the ones you usually get, so they may be homemade as well. They were a lot thinner.

You can get cold Mexican beer - a plus. Service was good. We will definitely go back to try other dishes there! Maybe tonight!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I love the authenticity of this restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is by far the best Mexican restaurant in Cape Coral. I've eaten here maybe six times and it has never failed me. The authentic Mexican tacos are excellent. I love the chili rellenos, the flauta, the enchiladas and the tamale (which was on special today). I'm eager to try so many more of the dishes on the menu. The waitress is always as sweet as can be and the manager is especially friendly. Go, go, go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE CORAL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Sonora style mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love this place for its freshness and variety of dishes. Though very typical of Sonora-style mexican food, it adds subtle flavors and sauces that you will be thinking "I want more".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank REYEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Mexican Cuisine = Bold Flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been eating at this restaurant since they have opened and each time they offer quality traditional dishes with mouthwatering flavor. The Rojo sauce on the Enchiladas is homemade and fantastic. The Carne Asada tacos are full of flavor and are some of the best tacos I've ever had. For the kids, they have Chicken Quesadillas that offer a healthy option instead of the typical chicken nuggets or macaroni and cheese that you usually see at other places. The Chicago Burrito is phenomenal! This is a great place to eat any time of the day. If you're looking for quality traditional mexican cuisine than this is your new favorite place. Also the furniture is all homemade with real cow-hide.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Mexican North of the Border”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have been here many times, the most recent in December, 2012. Every time, the food has been top notch. The chicken is amazing in whatever dish you order. Nice sized portions. Poor beer selection but margaritas are available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank captenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco's El Tequila also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taco's El Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing