We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wine and Roses - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wine and Roses
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
427 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very slow service. There was plenty of wait staff but it took almost 1 hour for the food to arrive from the kitchen,
The food was very poor quality and did not have any flavor.
It was almost like eating frozen dinners that you microwave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WAYNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    6
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Italian Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Drove by on the way to a boat show on a Sunday nite. Decided to stop for dinner on the way home. Service was a bit slow for a Sunday nite, 3 wait staff, but a few large parties being served and then 5-6 more parities of 2-4 people.

I had spaghetti and meatballs. Angle hair pasta. The sauce was good and homemade. meatballs were very good as well. More impressive was my friends spaghetti aurora. A thin spaghetti with a creamy and butter sauce, with fresh tomato and basil. The menu said the sauce " a touch of cream sauce". There was much more than a "touch". BUT it was excellent. The shrimp were absolutely fresh and nice sized, and probably 20 of them. We took a good bit of it home for lunch the next day and it was enough for both of of us.

Hey have a nice bar, well stocked. A glass of Greg Norman Pinot Noir was $7.00 and it was a very generous pour.

Good news and bad news about the Rolls. First the good-- they were fresh out of the oven, and waitress said they are made to order. The bad news was they were not really a good authentic Italian dough roll. But they were good. The provided herbs in oil oil for dipping and butter.

The dinner salas was good sized, and the creamy Italian dressing was perfect.

Cloth tablecloth and dinner napkins. For a random drop in for dinner it turned out to me quit nice.

The spaghetti wad 10.99 + 2.99 for 2 meatballs. The spaghetti aurora was $14.99. Salad not included.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner and party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband planned my surprise birthday party at Wine and Roses. 25 people showed up and the entire back room was ours - they allowed my husband and friends in early to set up - the staff was superb in providing excellent service and food. The food is always fresh, hot and tasty and the service (Mike is our waiter) is always excellent!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PEKFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“The food was terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Got carry out one night. It was terrible ( Alfredo Royal ).
I called to complain. They doubted me and made me bring the dish in.
They would not refund my money, but offered me another dish.
It was worse than the first one. A veal dish this time with vegiess and ???
The vegetables were overcooked, the veal was a mess. I picked at it then fed it to my dog.
I would have rather had my money back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like eating in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Located on busy 'main" street in downtown Cape Coral, this restaurant is non-descript on the outside (you need to be looking for it), but once inside you feel like you've been welcomed into an Italian home. Aromas tell you that you are going to have a great meal and you will. Service is very good and seafood cannelli's and egglplant parmesan are excellent. Haven't tried any additional dishes as this was our first, but not last, visit. Parking in front is very limited, so try to park behind the restaurant (there is a rear entrance).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al73vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine and Roses also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing