We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mel's Diner

Mel's Diner
Ranked #25 of 422 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ludington, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

we went there for the first time tonight and we never laughed so hard our waiter Mike was so funny and entertaining. We had the manager come out and we complimented him on his place and he gave us free dessert it was great fun place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmoverturfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    202
    76
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The food here was not as good as I remembered other Mel's Diners in the area (I was a former resident returning to area on vacation). The rosemary/lemon rotisserie chicken had stayed on the rotisserie too long so that the rosemary was charred; I couldn't detect either a rosemary or lemon flavor. Steamed veggies served as the side were delicious, however.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“comfort food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is the place when you want to go "as you are" and you want just plain good food. You've worked all week, had a bad day, just want good food & a beer or glass or wine-head to Mel's. No pretending- blue plate specials, good burgers & salads, value specials, friendly staff & priced right. What more can you ask for!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape coral
Level Contributor
235 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Always good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Enjoyed dinner with family and friends. Always great food at very good prices. Had fish, burgers and sandwich which were all very fresh and tasteful. Friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrpech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“As always great food, great value, and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

On our recent visit to Mel's Diner, we had a really great lunch. We started off with an appetizer we shared and then the great Mel's Burger special, with HOT GRAVY ON FRENCH FRIES, (wet fries to the locals), which are a reflection of my hometown diner in Pennsylvania, many years ago. The burgers entrees came with a house salad or soup, we chose one of each, both spot on. The burger plates arrived cooked exactly like we ordered them and a side of slaw, with a great big half pickle. If it could have been any better I would like to know how! It was as always, a treat to be served at Mel's, by the best waitstaff in southern Florida, who obviously take great pride in doing it the right way, first time. I have through the years had just about everything on their menue and have NEVER had a bad meal or service. The prices are modest and the quality of food is super! I can't wait to get back to Mel's for another great meal!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thefordman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing