We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“busy but efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papa Joe's

Papa Joe's
Ranked #29 of 422 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“busy but efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went there on a Saturday night and had to wait a very short time to get a table. Waitress was prompt. I had their prime rib special and was very satisfied with it and the price. Others had a pizza and Itlaian dishes and all were pleased. It is very small so it can be noisy. Looks like they do a great take put pizza business. Give them a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank out4agoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    74
    23
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canal Winchester, OH
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great -- and you better be hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have had the chance to dine here a few times while visiting family in the area. Every dish we've had has been spectacular. But, the Calzone is an absolute favorite of ours. It is huge though, easily feeds 2, maybe 3 or 4 (depending on how hungry you are, etc.) It's filled with so much delicious ricotta and your favorite toppings. Highly recommend a stop there. Oh, outdoor patio dining is always nice too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAYBB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft myers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, Pizza and Pasta, Place to Unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always consistent, great pasta and pizza. Love the Papa Joe's Salad - don't be fooled the small is plenty to be shared. Baked pastas are a favorite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stop Reading This & Go to Papa Joe's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate at this place last year on Spring Break & did not want to miss it this year. In fact, we ate here twice this year! (We have not visited another restaurant even twice in three annual trips to the area.) Once six of us dined in & once we got carry out. We brave the horrific traffic on Sanibel & drive off of the island, in the afternoon no less, because it is so good.

When we dined in we were greeted immediately by a very busy hostess who quickly rearranged tables to accommodate our party of six on the lovely front porch/patio. Our server tended to us quickly & was delightful. In fact when I returned to pick up our carry out order a few nights later she recognized me & was very fun & friendly! When I could not remember the dish I liked so well last year she was sincerely interested & helpful in helping find the dish.

While dining in we started with the absolutely fabulous Stracciatella soup. I cannot say how much we love this soup, except even as I write this from back home I am thinking how much I would love to have some right now. Even one skeptic among us ("spinach!?") tried it & was won over! Of course their incredible triangle cut, garlicy, generously parmesan dusted bread got us started and then we moved onto baked spaghetti, chicken parmesan, fettuccine alfredo, Joe's salad & chicken Maria. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. The portions are perfect for taking a bit home to enjoy later & remember this excellent place at lunch the next day.

A few nights after we dined in we ordered their Sicilian pizza (it takes 40 mins to achieve this perfection, but it is really well worth the wait), a Brooklyn pizza, the incredible Stracciatella soup and fettuccine alfredo. I arrived and was immediately greeted & tended to so warmly by several of the very busy staff who were moving about quickly. Their communication with one another is just amazing - I think each of them knew about the order! They let me know the 40 min pizza had a few more minutes, so I enjoyed their wall of pictures while waiting when I noticed an award from Trip Advisor proudly posted. I was astounded to see the award only had 4 stars (very good). I sincerely cannot imagine what on earth would have prevented them from reaching the 5 star (excellent) rating. Maybe someone who hates Italian food? I can't guess!

The Sicilian (deep dish) pizza was amazing. Really amazing. I do not like pizza & I like this pizza. The six of us ate every last scrap. I mean, really: every. last. scrap. In addition to the Sicilian I had ordered a sausage Brooklyn pizza, but instead we received one with tomatoes, spices & cheese only. Initially we were disappointed until we tasted it & found it absolutely delicious! What a happy mistake! We would never have ordered this, but are completely won over! (Maybe the people who received our sausage pizza were equally happy.) The fettuccine alfredo was perfect again. The bread described above was simultaneously crisp & soft...just heavenly! And the soup...oh...the wonderful soup I am still dreaming of! It is heaven in a bowl, that Stracciatella!

This place is delightful: the lighting is perfect, it is cozy & inviting. The food is deliciously prepared using fresh, high quality ingredients, the staff are friendly, extremely hard working & earnest professional people who know how to make you feel welcome and feed you well.

Are you anywhere near Cape Coral? What in the world are you doing reading this when you could be at Papa Joe's enjoying the incredible food & staff? :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lumere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2nd Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited with friends and food was still outstanding. I had rolled spinach lasagna. Someone had spaghetti & meatballs. Both came with salad and bread. Salads were very good. Too much food for one sitting. Had enough for second meal and it still tasted great. Nice wine selection. You can taste test.
They do not serve desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmiller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Joe's also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Papa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing