We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for lunch”
Review of El Mambo

El Mambo
Ranked #93 of 427 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average for lunch”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Bakery is worth it but the sandwiches and service were mediocre at best. If you're starving for a place to eat and want home made Cuban, try it. But, there are a lot of other Cuban restaurants with more atmosphere and friendly employees than this one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    79
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went with several friends for breakfast a few times, and found the food to be cheap, fast & very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Shish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a way to start the day”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent three nights I in a hotel in Cape Coral. Complimentary breakfast and all. A friend of ours told us to go for breakfast at El Mambo. So we skipped hotel breakfast and went to this Cuban restaurant. what a great breakfast for so little money. And the staff is helpful and very kind too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank andre s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“sandwiches were great; dinner entrees so-so”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have to say, to my surprise, the cheap food (average sandwich was $5) were great, as opposed to the entrees. I ordered the steak entree it was terrible, my fellow companions ordered entrees the fried pork chunks, which was terrible and fried beef strips which was WAY over seasoned. But, two of them ordered steak and egg sandwiches. The cuban bread was awesome and the sandwich overall FOR THE PRICE was really surprisenly a good value!

I would stick with the sandwiches. Never had the breakfast, so no commentary there.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Cuban food in a hidden gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I like walking into an ethnic restaurant and being the only person speaking English.

(To a point... I speak some Spanish, but if I go to an Ethiopian restaurant, the menu has to be in English.)

So I took it to be a good sign that when I walked in, the waitress was having a loud and boisterous conversation with one of the other diners, in Spanish. I was right.

This was a really terrific menu. There are a lot of Cuban restaurants in Florida but too many of them only sell the obvious dishes, the Cuban sandwiches and ropa vieja, but not a lot of places that make Cuban diner food. I had the chicken milanesa, a dish that somehow made its way into Cuban food even though it's really a Viennese dish by way of Argentina and Brazil. It was delicious: swiss cheese, tomato sauce and ham melted on top of a breaded, fried chicken cutlet. I also tried some of the Cuban sandwich, which was quite tasty, if predictable.

Their plantains were also fantastic, and the red beans are amazing.

Best of all, the meal cost practically nothing and came with the authenticity of being in a hidden little corner of downtown Cape Coral with a Spanish-speaking wait staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank particleandparcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mambo also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Mambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing