We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but our room needs help!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Mansions Resort
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Idaho
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, but our room needs help!”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed here for one night in August. The location is great with excellent views of the ocean and is very peaceful. The exterior of the resort looks great. The grounds appear to be very well maintained and manicured.
The rooms do need some TLC. Our room was one of the penthouse units and was very well appointed, but it had paint falling off the walls and ceiling. There appeared to be black mold growing around all the air conditioning vents, the microwave in the kitchen was broken and the TV in the living room didn't work, along with several light fixtures through out the condo. The bi-fold doors to the closets were dragging on the floors and had to be forced open. The exterior lighting at our unit either didn't work or hadn't been turned on so we had to walk to the pool in the dark.
The one thing that really puzzled me was the morning after we arrived I noticed the message light was blinking on our phone so I listened to the message, it was from the manager who was apologizing to the previous guests who had stayed there before us. Apparently the previous guests called down and complained about the same things I've mentioned here and told the manager they were leaving. If the manager knew that the room had issued that needed fixed I don't understand why she thought it was acceptable to rent it to us for almost $200 a night?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gemss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    23
    18
    23
See reviews for
91
43
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
YTB18
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions...
What you have to understand when booking is that this is a Condo-Hotel and NOT a hotel. Every unit is owned by an individual not some guy that owns a bunch of hotels... While some units are in need of a cleaning and updating some are very clean and very nice... Be sure you request and clean and fresh room, we did and we got one! UNIT 1316 while NOT ocean front it ws still a great unit and had everything we needed and was very well maintained and clean... sorry but there were NO dead roaches here like some other have seen... On that note EVERY house in Florida has roaches it part of living there! You kill them and move on... Where in Florida can you get a private beach this size at such a price? I highly reccomend this place for families to enjoy the beach, the Space Center and Disney is only 45 minutes away!!!! But again when booking be sure you request a Clean and Fresh room, you will enjoy your stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YTB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Thank you YTB18 for your review and opinions regarding Royal mansions Resort. I am happy that we were able to meet your needs. As our slower season approaches we are in the process of reviewing and updating any units that need freshening! Again I appreciated your input and look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights in August and loved it. Our one bedroom condo was well furnished, comfortable, and quiet. The only odd part about the suite was the window in the bedroom looked out into the dining area just adjacent to the balcony. If there were 4 of us, with 2 using the hide-a-bed, privacy would have been limited. However, there were just 2 of us and we really enjoyed our stay.

We never used the pool, but did frequently take advantage of the nearby beach.

Not much else to say really. If we ever go back to the cape, this is the first place we will try to book, it really beat staying at a hotel (all the hotels we saw nearby looked like dumps anyway)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2009
I would like to thank "JeffCanada" for his review of our Resort. We appreciate his opinion of what was both liked and disliked on our property. This helps us to do our best to keep all guest happy. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our family was extremely disappointed from the moment we pulled into the parking lot. Before we had even reached the room, my young son commented, "We've stayed in a lot nicer places than this!" The door to the condo stuck and was very hard to open and close. The ceiling in the enclosed front patio had paint peeling; very unappealing. When it came time for a nice hot shower, we found that the valves on BOTH showers were not working properly. It took at least 5 minutes to get the water the right temperature. I didn't want to take my shoes off in the shower because of all the mold and mildew!!! It was hard to take a shower anyway with no complimentary soap!!! They did have the little hotel shampoos---but NO soap!! The air vent in our bedroom was not working properly and we ended up sleeping on the pull down bed. Don't bother with the "complimentary continental breakfast." It left much to be desired. There was only one small plate of food choices (plain bagel, plain waffle & mini blueberry muffins). The person staffing the room told me if I wanted cold water, I would have to get it from the water fountain outside!!!! The kids pool toys (for the EXTREMELY small resort pool) were all old and broken. We will never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AliceinWonderland71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2009
I am the General Manager of Royal Mansions Resort and would like to comment on the guest review by “Alice in Wonderland71.” We are currently painting the entire exterior of our property. This was started after all units had new doors installed. As with anything new, the doors do occasionally stick and we are addressing these issues as they surface. I appreciate the comments on the maintenance issues. We have full time maintenance staff on property every day and they are very responsive to guests who notify us about their concerns. I apologize that “Alice” was told there was no soap on property. We always have soap, shampoo and lotion for our guest as their comfort is our ultimate goal. Our breakfast is a “continental” breakfast including bagels, muffins, English muffins, waffles, fruit, cereal, juice, milk, coffee and tea, plus all of the companion condiments. While the hotel does not provide pool toys, our guests occasionally leave them behind. Apparently we overlooked the condition of the toys that “Alice” mentioned during our daily pool inspections. I do apologize to “Alice” that her stay was not as she expected. I appreciate her taking the time to share her experience. Guest feedback is critical in bringing things to our attention that need to be addressed. I would encourage “Alice” to contact me directly so I may identify the unit in question and inspect and take care of any physical problems and discuss with her these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We just left the Royal Mansions and can't wait to go back. We found our condo to be very well furnished and very clean. We loved the beach, the pool and hot tub. We had young children with us and the beach was perfect for them. We enjoyed the area, we had just left Disney World and appreciated the quiet and calm. The staff was quite helpful , telling us where we could find manatees, and even MapQuesting us a map to the Merritt Island Wildlife Refuge. We are trying to figure how to get back there soon. Loved it !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
As the Manager of Royal Mansions Resort, I would like to thank "Herder" for the positive review of our property! We work very hard to try to insure that all of our guest have the same kind of pleasant experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great unit (1211) that we were told was recently 'redone' by the owners. Full kitchen, lots of applicanes/cookware/dishes/ect. We ended up having the rest of the family come to our unit since we had enough to cook with/eat with. Great decorating! Love the furniture! Had 2 plasma tvs./dvd players. Bed was fantastic. Great mattress. Entire unit was tiled throughout and the color scheme was very relaxing. Loved the pics of what I assumed were the owners and their family on the walls. Felt like someone's home vs a hotel room. Great pool/hot tub/beach. Could not believe that there was not a crowd on the beach in front of the complex, but then heard that it's always like that since you are between the Cape Canaveral Port Pier and the Cocoa Beach Pier. We walked to both and there were lots of people/noise. Will definitely be back! Would be nice if the front desk would tell you if there are recently remodeled units done. The rest of our family members would have liked to have a unit as great as ours was! They had good ones, but no plasma tvs or enough kitchen utensils.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Booked "1 bedroom ocean view villa" through expedia.com. What we got was a condo in disrepair overlooking the parking lot.(OK if you stretched your neck you had a glimpse of the ocean) The condo we got was DIY gone wrong and showcase for tacky decor. The bedroom did not have an exterior window, the wall to wall carpet was coming up, loose floor tiles, damaged cabinets, stained furniture, etc, etc.

However what was worse was the unfriendly manner in which we were treated. Only after expedia stepped in were we offered another room for +$30 a night more which we declined.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LJRVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2009
I am the General Manager of RMR and would like to comment on LJR’s review. First, I would like to thank LJR for taking the time to write their review. I am sorry Ljr feels they did not get what they had booked. The reservation was booked through a wholesale account which does not and has never offered ocean front units. We are an ocean front property and our units offer a variety of views, and the only guarantee is to book direct ocean front. There is no standard décor in our units, they are individually owned and have been decorated by each Owner. The basics are the same, bed size, linens, kitchen amenities etc. We offered to move LJR with the additional charge for direct ocean front. We also offered to move to another non ocean front unit at no additional charge. Both offers were declined. I apologize if LJR perceived the staff to be unhelpful. They were a late check in, and a call was made to their unit first thing the next morning and a voicemail was left trying to remedy the situation. Our maintenance staff would have been glad to take care of any issues in the unit, if we had been made aware of them. Our goal is to have every guest happy with their stay, and I again apologize to LJR if they feel we did not help them have a positive stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
2.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansions Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansions Resort

Property: Royal Mansions Resort
Address: 8600 Ridgewood Ave, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-2025
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Mansions Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Mansions Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mansions Cape Canaveral
Royal Mansions Hotel Cape Canaveral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing