We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pool...terrible people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Resort at the Port
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was nicer in the pool area than we expected, but that is where the "nice" ended. First, I've never seen such a horrible restaurant in my life! At least 4 waiters heard talking about how much they hate the place. It was a busy Saturday morning and appeared to be no one in charge anywhere, just chaos. The dinner the night before was just as poor from a service and taste perspective. I asked to speak with a manager and was told "there isn't one". Really! Someone needs to get a hold of that restaurant staff and hire new cooks, the taste was terrible and worst of all NO ONE CARED! Overheard other staff at front desk complaining about their job, does anyone like where they work there? Is anyone in charge? Find another place to stay...Residence Inn and another Inn and Suites is right next door.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATraveler149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, General Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are truly sorry that you were dissatisfied with the service you received from the restaurant and the front desk staff. We will certainly investigate the concerns you've raised in your review. We truly appreciate all guest feedback. Guest feedback helps us to constantly improve our product and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,256 - 3,262 of 3,984 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Check in was fast and professional for our group of six family members. Rooms were ground floor in rear of hotel; clean and though not new, they appear refurbished. The shuttle offered to the port and return was a big plus as we could leave our vehicles at the hotel during the 7 day cruise. There was an unexpected up charge that wasn't mentioned on their site for this service, but it was well worth the fee for shuttle for its timeliness and courteous driver. All staff were friendly while dealing with the many large groups of cruisers. We will stay here again mainly for the convenience of the parking and shuttle and the friendly staff..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachtaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall, 2 1/2 star hotel. I'f you were on a budget it will work, but the rooms are seriously outdated. Id almost say a motel 6 or budget suite would comparable. If it were the 80's, it would pass for nice. Tube tv's in rooms. Wow. Pool is a bit fancier, but also outdated.

Also, beware if you book from hotels.com, they will not allow you to place your name on the waiting list early for a shuttle to the ports. However, if you book without a discount they will. I would say customer satisfaction not guaranteed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSilberbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are truly sorry that you were dissatisfied with the room you received. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our service and product. We hope that you will return soon to see the changes we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this "resort" from August 12th to the 14th 2013. We would rate the room about average, nothing special however the security or lack thereof end up costing us about a thousand dollars and a huge headache. On the night of August 13th we decided to go out to the pool, we took our wallets out with us in a bag and left it on a table about 15 feet from where we were swimming. At 830PM we watched a little 6 year old and her mother walk up to our table (still 15 feet from us) and walk off with my bag containing our wallets. We got out to chase them down but by that time they had made it to the parking lot into a car and left. Like any reasonable person I called the police and notified the Radisson of what had happened. We spent the next 2 hours dealing with the Radisson staff and local police, during this time the Radisson could offer absolutely no help to the local authorities. According to Jack at the Radisson front desk they do not have any security cameras and they "cannot keep any locals from entering the resort." This is nonsense, all it would take is a gate or a door that actually works only by key card, currently there are 8 different ways into the pool area all of which are not gated or under surveillance. The rest of the night my husband and I spent all night looking for a 24 hr check cashing place as we had no credit cards and all our cash was stolen. The next day during our checkout we spoke to the "manager on duty" Jeff, my husband asked him why they do not have security cameras or even a security plan in place to keep local criminals out of a resort that people pay money to stay. Here is his response... "We try our best to keep locals out but there really isn't anything we can do about it. We have a pool attendant on duty but unfortunately he had a family emergency last night." After my husband and Jeff had a small conversation we saw it was going no where and we left. At no time did any member of the Radisson ever offer anything for our loss, even an "I'm sorry." I'm begging any of you who are thinking about staying here to look elsewhere. My husband and I decided to post a video of the exact route the thief took to exit the resort, please take a look at http://youtu.be/wF-rq_1tLTU

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, General Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Rest assured that the safety and security of our clients is of utmost priority to us and we take our guest's concerns very seriously. We appreciate that you have made us aware of your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this place because of a Groupon advertisement when we planned on going to the Kennedy Space Center. Front desk girl (wish I knew her name) on the afternoon of 8/4/13 was extremely nice. Pool was nice. Room was about average but the mini fridge and microwave were a nice surprise. They touted the sleep number beds, but ours didn't work and felt like it was set on the hardest setting. We didn't complain since we were only here for one night. We got a cheap rate and it was in a good location, so we can't complain much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agidago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter and I came in at 11pm after a long flight. There was one person in front of us on line at check in, when it was our turn we were told it was the end of her shift and we would have to wait. We waited approx ten minutes until another clerk helped us. Not terrible but who would expect a long wait at that hour. We were given a room that had stains on the carpet and tiles in the bathroom that were permanently stained black. I got a good price and we only stayed til 8am the next day so we dealt with it. It gave off a slightly worn out feeling and could use a solid room remodel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are truly sorry for your dissatisfaction with the check-in experience and with the room. We have shared your concerns with our management team for immediately correction. We truly strive to constantly improve the quality of both our service and our product. We hope that you will give us another chance when next you travel to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here one night before going on a cruise. We had a room in the back of the hotel. It was an old motel style room where the door was outside. I should have listened to the reviews and not stayed here. The only reason we stayed here was because we were going to use their shuttle service which we didn't use after all. There are so many other hotels in the area that looked so much nicer and newer from the outside. The room was very small and dark. The carpet was very dirty with a large stain right as you walk in the room. The beds were not very comfortable. The carpeting in front of the bathroom area was wet for some reason. The sink is in the room. The room with the toilet and shower was very small. Overall very disappointed with the place for the price. My husband who will stay about anywhere without a complaint agreed that this is not worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiceMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are truly sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We have addressed your issues with the room with the Executive Housekeeper for immediately resolution. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our product and service. We truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you when next you travel to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.9 mi away
Best Western Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cocoa Beach
Holiday Inn Express Cocoa Beach
#10 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
468 reviews
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Resort at the Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Resort at the Port

Address: 8701 Astronaut Blvd, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-4310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Canaveral
Price Range: $118 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Resort at the Port 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Resort at the Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort At The Port Hotel Cape Canaveral
Radisson Resort Cape Canaveral
Radisson Hotel Port Canaveral
Radisson Cape Canaveral Fl
Radisson Resort Port
Cape Canaveral Radisson
Radisson Hotel Cape Canaveral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing