We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the area”
Review of Cape Winds Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Winds Resort
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in the area”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here during the month of sept. the hotel is on the beach, central ac, pool, and updated. Steve runs the place and he is very nice. They have a bike rack and you can bike to the pier. Very quite and peaceful. The unit I stayed in was very nice and had beach decor. I would say this is the best hidden gem in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunrise2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    33
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
87
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We absolutely loved the accommodations at Cape Winds 406...this was a beautifully maintained unit with spectacular views! I would give it 6 starts if I could!! The double balcony was perfect and waking up each day to a beautiful view of the beach was priceless. The condo was clean and well stocked for all our needs. The management staff was easy to work with and we received mid-week housekeeping service at no extra charge. We enjoyed seeing the cruise ships from our balcony and our day trip to NASA and Kennedy Space Center was great! The entire week was exactly what we wanted it to be...would recommend Cape Winds to anyone. Unit 406 was the BEST!!!! Can't wait to return again!!
SDH/Atlanta

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdhardin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport, Ohio, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our second year at Cape Winds 308. Amazing view from the balcony. We watched the large ships leaving Port Canaveral, which head south directly in front of the resort. Parking is great. If you rent from the on-site rental agency, you get housekeeping assistance once a week and towel service. Everyone is really friendly. We have a lot of family visiting throughout the week from the area and they are also very impressed. This unit does not have upscale furnishings, but everything is clean and well maintained. We reserved again for next year.

Room Tip: Most units have a double balcony. End units have wrap around balconies, which we like on the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont OK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in unit 413 the week following July 4 and really enjoyed our time there. We planned the trip as a relaxing one, and it was. Although this unit was not beach-facing, the balcony still had a good view to the beach & pool below. The unit itself was very conveniently set up with kitchen and bath accommodations. The only negative was that the king bed mattress was on the soft side for our liking--just not what we're used to. Other than that, everything was VERY well maintained and supplied, and the beach and pool access were enjoyable. The staff was all help and very courteous. It was more than we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaRFairmontOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in units 411 & 413, just across the hall from each other. They are both perfectly adequate but the furnishings in 413 are much newer and nicer. Both have balconies from which you can see a little bit of the beach - these units face a building next door and the pool/hot tub area. Management on site was extremely helpful - for instance, when we showed them that the beach umbrella in 413 was broken, they quickly brought us a new one. Location is convenient to Port Canaveral cruise ships; from our front balcony we could see the ships docked there. This resort is right on the beach and the beach was never a bit crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivergrl822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
This reviewer meant to review units 412 & 413. Condos 412 and 413 are right across the hall from each other and both are managed by capewindscondo.com

411 is owned by TLC Condo and is updated with quality furnishings. The web site is homeaway.com property number 167639
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First the reviews stated that the room was recently updated. The only thing that was even close to be new was the kitchen countertop and backsplash.
Other reviews stated the room was nice and quiet but the room is overlooking the pool, hot tub, and side-street for public access to beach. When you close the patio door and you stay inside yes it is quiet.
The room does have an ocean view but “direct ocean view” is stretching it. Looking out of the room before you get on the balcony all you see is the building across the street from you. We were expecting from the description and reviews to be on the beach front of the building not on the side of the building.
The bedding and towels were very old and worn. Beach towels and bedding should be thrown away and replaced. The pillows on the master bed were so flat that it was like not having a pillow. The beds in both rooms were so hard that we did not get a decent night sleep our entire weeks stay.
With regards to being close to everything I can say yes it is but not within walking distance. If you want a vacation where you park your car and walk to restaurants and shopping this is not the location. It is a good 20 to 30 minute walk (for someone who is in good physical shape) to the nearest restaurant and shopping.
As far as having quick response from Jaclyn (who was apparently the only one responsible for this unit) I had to send multiple e-mails and waited at least 4 days for a response just to see if this unit was available. Once I said we wanted it she was quick to send out the information of how to pay but did not answer any of my questions. Once we were there the paperwork stated to make sure you let her know if there are any issues with the place which we did after a week there and now back home still have not heard any response and no one came to fix anything.
Suggestion to proprietor, spend a few hundred dollars per year to replace worn bedding, towels, beach equipment, and closet doors to make the stay more enjoyable. Also, be more honest about the location of the unit so that your quests are not disappointed when they arrive like we were.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 302Anonymous302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Each condo in Cape Winds is individually owned and managed. This condo is managed by stayincocoabeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our first time at Cape Winds. We have stayed at another location in Cape Canaveral several times, but due to our late planning we were unable to book it. We found this complex on line, talked to Steve and decided to stay. We must say it was a pleasure. We found the condo to be in very nice shape. There were two small issues and the maintenance arrived to correct them immediately. From there it was smooth sailing. Even the elevators worked perfectly(bad operating elevators can ruin the trip).
The location and views from the place are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papavaups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Mansions Resort
Royal Mansions Resort
#7 of 7 in Cape Canaveral
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
2.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Winds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Winds Resort

Property: Cape Winds Resort
Address: 7400 Ridgewood Ave, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-3018
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Winds Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Winds Resort is a family-friendly condo resort in Cape Canaveral, Florida. Our beachfront resort offers beautiful one and two-bedroom condos that come with fully-equipped kitchens, FREE high-speed Internet, private balconies, private beach access, tennis and basketball courts, a heated pool, sauna, hot tub, and more. The sound of the ocean fills each apartment and our guests enjoy perfect beach days, long walks, and warm Florida nights with loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Winds Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Winds Hotel Cape Canaveral
Cape Winds Canaveral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing