We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of a Time Warp”
Review of Cape Winds Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Winds Resort
Reviewed February 12, 2012

You arrive to a beautiful beachfront resort. Very well maintained. Tennis court above the parking garage. We stopped by the office but, found out we did not need to since we rented from a private owner. The lady in the office was Super Nice.Very Pleasant , A perfect text book Grandmother type of lady. We walked out and met the maintenance man. He had an accent that you knew was from Louisiana and was the true meaning of Southern Hospitality. He showed us the pool area which was very nice, nice sun deck, heated pool with crystal clear water, Hot Tub, restrooms and everything was perfect. Than we went to our room. This is where the Time Warp began. You enter the door and step into a time machine.Marty McFly would love this experience. The room was VERY CLEAN but, was from a different time era, 1970's. The kitchen had all grey cabinets and appliances, Burgandy carpet thru out the unit, late 70's furniture , This was ok since it was clean and we had a great ocean view. Just not what you would expect to see in Florida in 2012.Than I tried to use my cell phone and had no signal, so I tried the wireless internet, it was slower than I remembered on my first computer with dial-up and did the same thing as dial-up, kicked me off.I walked outside and the cell phone worked, back inside and it stopped. I took the computer outside and it worked, back inside and it stopped. My Husband said it was because of the concrete structure of the building but, I think it was because this was a real time machine and back in the 70's we did not have cell phones or fast internet so you could not use it as long as you were in the time machine.If you would like to take a trip back in time , to an era that did not have cell phones or internet and see some of the fashions they decorated rooms in 30 years ago , this is the place for you. Regardless to this we had a Fantastic Time, Meet Great People at the pool, had a very quiet relaxing vacation ( without the cell phone ringing in the time machine). I would go back but only if they can get internet service.

Room Tip: Check out the pictures of the rooms. I found out there is several different people that rent rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Cape Winds’ condos are all privately owned. Some owners have remodeled and some have not. When calling to make a reservation, ask when it was remodeled and what was remodeled. We did have internet issues, but we have upgraded the system and rarely have any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

This condo was wonderful. During the day we went to the theme parks and in the evening and a few extra days were spent at the condo. It is right off the beach, and poolside we could see the ocean from the balcony with beautiful sunrises every day. This unit is a 1 bedroom but we went with another couple, they stayed at the condo instead of doing the parks with us. We had the masterbedroom with King size bed and luzury linens, the mattress was so comfortable, attached was the master bath with a huge shower. The other couple slept on the pull out but said it was great they loved hearing the sound of the water and the cool breeze that came in at night. We had a full size kitchen and plenty of room, really enjoyed it. Look at pictures and see if its available at cocoabeachbest.com unit cw411 I definately recommend it. Our stay was 2/3/2012 great time to go before the spring break but cold outside. But I would go anytime. Want to go back.

Room Tip: should book #411
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniehappyreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

411 is owned by TLC Condo http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167639

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here at Cape Winds for a week in Dec 2011. We rented directly from the office at Cape Winds and found things to be just as their website represented them. We were in unit 406, which is a two bedroom unit with both the living room and master bedroom directly on the ocean. The view was just fantastic - we loved just sitting on the deck taking in the view at all hours of day or night and falling asleep to the sound of the surf. The unit was clean and comfortable with good quality beds, although the decor is a bit dated. But really, I couldn't be less interested in whether the countertops are granite or Formica or what color the walls are painted as long as things are in good condition, which they were. Cape Winds is in a quiet residential neighborhood, away from most of the hotels and stores, which we liked. The beach is beautiful to walk on and it's only about a 20 minute drive to the Kennedy Space Center, which was our main destination. My only complaint is that the free wireless internet was hit and miss - it would work for a few minutes and then I would lose the connection, which happened over and over again. But I consider that minor. We will be happy to return and stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor units have no view - try the third floor or above to have the best ocean view. Room num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

#406 is managed by http://www.capewindscondo.com/
The internet has been upgraded and we rarely have internet issues anymore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in 411 in July 2010. It has ocean view not ocean front - It still has a great view of the Atlantic. Over the years we have stayed at several locations but this one is the best. In July 2011, we attempted to book there but those that were aware of the last shuttle launch had already sold it out. We stayed at a much "pricer" place and that solidified our preference for the Cape Winds.

Sorry about the date - it was July 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

411 is owned by TLC Condo http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167639

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here in July, 2011. We came to Florida for the final Space Shuttle launch, so our priority was to be as close as we could be to Cape Canaveral for launch morning. Friends of ours (retired NASA Astronaut) have stayed here for years as part of the NASA family and would be staying at Cape Winds for the same reason. So that is how we found Cape Winds.

This was just what we needed. While the decor could be updated, there were no complaints. It had a king bed in the master with private bath, two twins in bedroom #2 and another hall/full size bath. Full kitchen, stocked with all your kitchen needs, and a sofa bed in the family room. View of the pool and the ocean from room 310. There are laundry facilities on the first floor. Some units have them in the unit. (ours did not) They clean weekly.

Easy walk to the beach that you really don't even need to take shoes...they will just get all sandy! Pool was locked for privacy. This is also beach access, so it stays private from beach goers, too. We loved this location on the beach. Hardly any crowds....we walked down to Cocoa Beach and it was packed. We stayed at our nice quiet Cape Canaveral beach after that!

We got our rental for the week through a realtor, but they also rent from the office here at Cape Winds. The only reason we did not book through them was they were all sold out due to the shuttle launch. Next time, we will try through them again. They are there in the office daily in case you need anything.

This is a not a luxury place....but it was just right for a beach vacation!

Room Tip: Full ocean views, rooms ending in 1 thru 8, floors 2 thru 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank WeThreeAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

This condo is managed by http://www.capewindscondo.com/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We went down to see Atlantis launch into space for the last time! We sat there right on the beach and watched her go!!!
We had an amazing time at Cape Winds. We stayed in Unit #509, but is not ocean front but is the closest ocean view room to the beach. It is also on the top floor. It was 2 bedrooms - master with a king (very comfy with a huge walk in closet and safe), 2nd room with a queen and it had 2 full baths! It also had the full kitchen and washer and dryer. The balcony was my favorite -stretched from the living room to the bedroom. It was huge, with plenty of balcony seating, and then it had a huge container filled with beach goodies - chairs, umbrellas, boards, noodles, etc. The furniture was great, the tv was great, the air worked great, and to have a keyless entry was AWESOME!! Just had to take the key to the pool to get in and out for the beach. Or you can just walk around. It had covered parking too!
The beach at the resort is great because it is all packed sand, of course the water wasn't beautiful, but we expected that for the Atlantic.
The location is great - took us a few minutes to drive down to the best restaurant Atlantic Ocean Grille on the Cocoa Beach Pier! YUM - we went there three times. The view is amazing because you are literally on the water! Inside in the air conditioning! Since we were there for the fourth we saw fireworks every night! Two great shows were put on. It was also so close to go to Kennedy Space Center - which was AMAZING because we got to see Atlantis on the launch pad on July 4th!! So cool. There is an amazing mom and pop italian place called Papa Vito - we placed the order and went and picked it up. It was some fresh italian! They even made a chicken parm dinner instead of a sub - so gave us the dinner for free and made the sub anyways. So in all we had dinner and lunch the next day because there was sooo much food! great prices there too!
There is also a Publix right down the A1A!
This resort was nice, but we rented from a private owner through VRBO.com It was so affordable and we would definitely go back again! It was a quiet place for fun and relaxation!
The pool was heated, which we only got in for a few minutes because you can't have floats in the pool to relax so we just went to the beach.

Room Tip: King bed in master, huge walk in closet, huge shower, living room sleeper couch, recliner, and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jaxster08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

This condo is managed by http://www.capewindscondo.com/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have 2 kids 3 & 9 and rented over Easter break for 4 days. It was nice the condo allowed us to rent for less than 7 days. The condo is very 80's in style. TV's were old, dvd player was cheap there wasn't one in the spare room. The pool was nice but small and set back from the beach. Most of the crowd were retirees so the kids were a little bored. The beach was pretty and uncrowded. Kids loved the big surf and watching the cruise ships going in and out. The general area had an "industrial" feel to it, a little run down and lots of gentlemen's clubs around. Given all the options I would choose a more family oriented and updated area near the Atlantic over Cape Canaveral/Cocoa Beach

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrackerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Cape Winds’ condos are privately owned. Some owners have remodeled and some have not. When calling to make a reservation, ask when it was remodeled and what was remodeled.

A lot of our guests enjoy the quiet at Cape Winds. This is family oriented resort with heated pool, hot tub, tennis and basketball. We are in a quiet residential area, just a mile north of the Cocoa Beach Pier. You can enjoy the activity at the Pier during the day and the quiet at Cape Winds at night. You can also enjoy the activity at the Port of Cape Canaveral where there are a lot of great restaurants and bars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Winds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Winds Resort

Address: 7400 Ridgewood Ave, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-3018
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cape Canaveral
Price Range: $113 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Winds Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Winds Resort is a family-friendly condo resort in Cape Canaveral, Florida. Our beachfront resort offers beautiful one and two-bedroom condos that come with fully-equipped kitchens, FREE high-speed Internet, private balconies, private beach access, tennis and basketball courts, a heated pool, sauna, hot tub, and more. The sound of the ocean fills each apartment and our guests enjoy perfect beach days, long walks, and warm Florida nights with loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cape Winds Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Winds Hotel Cape Canaveral
Cape Winds Canaveral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing