We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay before cruise.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice stay before cruise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The Residence Inn is a great hotel to stay in prior to your cruise. The rooms are modern and very clean. We arrived from LA at midnight and the check inn we received was very friendly and accommodating. The full breakfast service in the morning is a plus and ensures everyone is full and ready for their departure. There is also a transfer from hotel to Port Canaveral which is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    200
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
464
124
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'm fairly picky about places, and have had multiple less than good experiences at Marriott, but this place broke the string of lackluster stays. Granted, they are renovating and our room was new, but the price and pleasantness contributed to a fine stay. So, the room (a suite) was actually smaller than I expected, but still plenty for our family of four. The 'master' room was plenty big and the bathroom was fine. The kitchen was well stocked, big fridge, although we certainly didn't need it for our 1 day stay, but for longer stays I can see the need. The amenities (Paul Mitchell shampoo) are a joke in that you get 1 use out of the tiny bottle (clearly not enough for 4 people). The front desk staff was very nice, the chef was nice, the wait staff in the breakfast area was militant.....very combative. For me, that kind of stuff makes me feel sad for them, but doesn't interfere with my day....I'm just reporting here. Breakfast was nice. The eggs were somewhat like a brick, but on a week day, they would cook fresh for you. The other stuff was of great variety and very good. You will be pleased, plus, the price , including wifi and breakfast, was quite acceptable. Just book it and stop reading this drivel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelertoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Residence Inn Cape Canaveral. I do apologize that you were not treated very well by our "breakfast staff". I will speak to them and remind them that they make the first and most lasting impression on our guests and we want our guest to go away thinking that they have been treated like family.
Anytime you are at any of the Marriott hotels please feel free to ask for extra amenities. We always have extra shampoo, conditioner at the front desk.
We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and that you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our family of four decided to stay at the Residence Inn prior to a Disney Cruise in June 2012 and were very happy with the accommodations- we had a one bedroom suite. The breakfast buffet was super and the staff friendly. While the property is not close to the beach (about 1 mile drive across A-1A), this is a great choice if you are looking for a comfortable stay near the port restaurants and cruise ships. Another positive to the property is that it is only a 40 minute drive to Orlando International Airport. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a good, clean, family-friendly hotel to spend a few days in before or after a cruise. If looking for another option close to or on the beach and a stand-alone family-resort 'feel' check out the Ron Jon Beach resort as an alternative (negatives: no free breakfast and a higher nightly rate).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about the Residence Inn Cape Canaveral! I am so glad that your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed one night before boardiing the cruise ship. It was terrible the room smelt like clorex when we arrived but as the night went on the floor dired to the smell of dog urine. I could not breath took my medican for the allergies and it did not help . 3 am I called the front desk and they move me to the 3rd floor and said no pets are allowed . later that morning went for coffee and found that the neighbor next to us had a dog you could hear them. Told the front desk manager and she split the bill with me . That was good want stay again though.

Room Tip: Not a hotel for a person with pet allergies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I do apologize that you had a problem with your stay with us here at the Residence Inn. Yes, it is true that we are a pet friendly hotel. We do try to keep all of our pet rooms on the first floor but occasionally a guest will check in and do not make us aware that they have a pet until they are already settled in. We always deep clean each room that has had a pet in it to make it suitable for the next guest, but with your allergies I can understand why you had a problem. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

During my 40 year career I spent many nights in hotels around the world. In retirement we visit our grandchildred in Cocoa Beach area quite often. Our suite hotel of choice is the Marriott, it is clean, in like new condition, and family oriented. Everyone is friendly and makes you feel at home.
The value and free breakfast for this class of hotel is unbeatable. Avander (Van) the chef does a fantastic job of presenting his freshly made breakfast, he has never disappointed.
It is not easy to keep a breakfast buffet fresh and appatizing. The Marriott Hotel chain should consider sending Avender around their suites chain to teach other chefs how it's done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about the Residence Inn Cape Canaveral. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you say such great things about us! Just so you know, we are currently rated #1 for our Breakfast out of all 615 Residence Inn Hotels. Needless to say Avander is a big part of our success! I have told him about your review and how much he is appreciated!
We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've stayed here several times since 2006; our most recent stay being in October, 2012. The hotel is in a great location -- an easy drive from Orlando International Airport, and very close to the cruise terminals at Port Canaveral. A shuttle service is available from the hotel to the port (for a fee) which we've used in the past, but most times we've rented a car with Hertz, which is very conveniently located (directly in front of the hotel), with complimentary shuttle service. The property is clean and well maintained, and the staff is friendly and helpful. There's a covered patio area with comfortable seating next to the pool and a bar, which I believe is only open in the evenings. They offer a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath room that works well when traveling with another couple or children. Continental breakfast is good, with some hot items. Depending on the time of year, the breakfast area can get a little crowded, but it's not horrible. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom/2 bath room is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julierack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here before a Disney cruise a week ago and it is by far the best place in town. That being said, Cocoa Beach is a dilapidated old surf town that I remember fondly in my youth but would not dream of having an extended stay here. Port Canaveral only exists for cruise visitors and space station tourists and is a good 30-45 minutes away.

Now onto the hotel. It has been open for about 7 years and is undergoing a major renovation that should be complete in early 2013. Some of the newer rooms are probably near completion on the 3rd and 4th floor. We visited about 10 hotels in Cocoa Beach and Cape Canaveral before settling here. The staff was nice and accommodating. The room was clean and quiet. The location is okay but presume people are not staying here for extended periods of time. Breakfast was good enough. The area was safe and tucked a bit from A1A.

Room Tip: If your cruise leaves at after 12:00 pm and coming from Orlando, just drive over in the morning to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cactusdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
3.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 32 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
4.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Cocoa Beach Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach

Property: Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
Address: 8959 Astronaut Blvd, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-4203
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Cape Canaveral is your home away from home. Residence Inn is the closest all suite hotel to Kennedy Space Center and one of the closest hotels to Port Canaveral. Our Key West style hotel offers a wide variety of amenities that cater to the leisure and business guest. Guests can visit our many local attractions, including world famous Cocoa Beach, the Brevard Zoo, KSC Visitors Center & shopping at Cocoa Village. Port Canaveral is less than 1 mile away. NASA, Boeing, and Lockheed Martin are a few of the companies that are located a few miles from our front door. All of our guest can enjoy spacious suites that are 50% larger than traditional hotel rooms. All suites include separate living, eating and sleeping areas. Our daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet is a great way to start your day. Our evening social experience featuring hors d'ouerves, beer and wine, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesdays with exception of major holidays.This is a great way to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach Hotel Cape Canaveral
Cape Canaveral Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing