We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but a Great Place--for Families or Couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Certificate of Excellence
in Western New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pricey but a Great Place--for Families or Couples”
Reviewed September 1, 2005

We rented a one bedroom suite (at ~$180 night) in the pool building and were very happy that we got an end unit (which means additional light and view in the living area, kitchen, and bedroom). This was the cleanest and nicest place we've stayed in. I would not stay in the ocean building. There is a view of the ocean, but the beach appears to have never been combed as it is loaded with all kinds of seaweed; there is seawood in the shallow part of the water in the sand; there is no lifeguard--our children (15 & 18) would not go in the water. The ocean building would give a guest more privacy as all activities, the convenience store (with same prices as a regular grocery store), movie theater, restaurant, tiki bar, pool (the wrist bands are no big deal), hot tub, lazy river (is the best--my favorite vacation part), water slide & game room are a tram ride (which runs continuously) away in the pool building. It's easy to run up to your room and back down again in the pool building. The parking garage is next to the pool building. The pool building is about 1,500+ ft from the beach. Jetty Park is next door but is $5 to enter; a lifeguard is available; in the heat it was necessary to drive there. The beach there is full of seawood and dead cucumber fish. If it's the beach you're going for, go to Daytona (we could never find a great hotel there though!) where it is nice and clean and no sanddunes. The condo is perfect & has all amenities-even a washer/dryer--however, guests need to "trade in" their towels in laundry and empty their trash down a chute, when needed. There are activities for all (cash bingo, name that tune, teen dance, family game night) everyday. Something for everyone. Live music or piped in music is played all day in the pool area, not really loud-very nice. It would not be necessary to leave the premises for several days, if relaxation is key. However, going south into Cocoa Beach, you must try the Florida Seafood Restaurant which is near the Ron Jon Store down the road a few miles (which is open 24 hours a day). Portions enough for 2-3 people. Next time, we will go at the beginning of our trip, so we can enjoy the leftovers in our suite the next day! A great place. A great vacation at the Ron Jon. We only received a call to get our "timeshare" gift but never went to pick it up; no hassles. If I could afford a timeshare, this would be the place! We received a phone call after checking out to ask how we liked the Ron Jon and what could they do better. Employees always greeted us everywhere on the premises throughout our stay. That's great customer service! We never smelled any fumes from cruise ships in the pool building/area. A heartily recommend this place--from a choosy person. It is a 45-minute drive from Disney World. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ponycar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    321
    139
    73
    62
See reviews for
638
179
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
princeton,nj
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

A great timeshare but reccomend that you DO NOT attend the timeshare sales meetings. They are really, really good and you will buy something. I suspect that as they sell off all of the pieces in so many unique manners that you will have a hard time gettting the weeks you want.

The resort is great but your better off renting....if you want to but a timeshare, buy a resale off of ebay with your money in escrow until you know you have it.....don't buy direct.

The play area here and the activities are great!

The pool, slide and lazy river are great!

The ocean view building isn't as accessible since it is probably 1/4 mile from the pool and you don't want to be on the ground floor here since there are bushes that will block your view.

The beach is very nice!

The area around the hotel is OK... this is blue collar surf town that will probably turn as real estate continues to rise. Your resturuants are a grade level below what you might find in Orlando and are more local. You have to drive to everything.

The only negative I can put on the hotel is that when the ships leave the port, you are breathing in diesel fuel for a couple hours...it is right next door.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank shawman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Traveled with 4 teenagers (19 to 15), what a trip, but boy what fun. The kids enjoyed everything and we old timers had a pretty good time also. It is really amazing how fast a 50 year old man can climb stairs to a water slide! I am ready to go back. We are hoping that the opportunity will arise that we can return to this wonderful place soon. The staff was amazing, friendly and helpful. If you are planning a visit, get up in the morning about 5:30 and watch the ships come in from your balcony....

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Just spent a week at the Ron Jon (July 25 - July 31/05) and had a great time. We were 4 adults and 5 children (ages 6 - 9) and had a 2 bedroom villa (or lock-out as they call it) in the main building, 5th floor. There is nothing negative to say about this place, everything was great and much more than we expected. The rooms were immaculate, large and modern with all kitchen equipment required and everything worked well. We took the shuttle to and from the beach everyday and never had a problem nor a long wait. We spent afternoons by the pool/waterpark and never had a problem getting lounge chairs (and it was hot and sunny the entire time we were there). The air conditioning worked well and was not noisy and the beds were fine. The staff was friendly and the one time we called the front desk to see if anything could be done about the water pressure in the showers (it was not very strong) they had maintenance up to our room within about 5 minutes and the problem solved in no time. We would go back in a minute and would highly recommend the resort to anyone considering it.

Helpful?
13 Thank kinger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2005

I recently visited this resort and was so impressed with the faciltities that I actually purchased timeshare property even though I already own timeshare in Cocoa Beach. This place has it all! There are events and activities for children, teens and adults of all ages. The location and amenities allow me to make a wonderful holiday without having to spend extra money on theme parks and other entertainment if I don't wish to. The resort is about 45 minutes from Disney and other well known Orlando attractions, 45 minutes from Daytona and about twenty minutes from Kennedy Space Center. Want to take a cruise? Walk across the street and board many of the better known cruise lines or a gambling cruise if you so desire. Plan to stay put? You've got the ocean, pools, tennis, basketball, a gym and so much more right at the resort! As for bracelets for the pool and other general rules, these are necessary safety and security precautions one finds at all responsible resorts and getaway locations. Enforcement of such rules and regulations ensures a safe, clean and inviting atmosphere for all year after year and maintains the right ambiance for anyone who wishes to feel like they're at a luxurious resort that just happens to be focused on family!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 24, 2005

My sister from NY and my sister from Tallahassee stayed with me at your resort 4th of July weekend last year. It was my 50th birthday and they threw me a small party in our room. We had a fantastic time playing golf, swimming, and at nite we enjoyed the jaqquezi. I thought the rooms where beautiful and spacious and they came with everything you needed.
We stayed in the 2 bedroom which was very roomy and each of us had our own room. I had a sister from Malabar who stayed in a camper at Jetty Park that wished she would have stayed with us.

We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2005

My sister and I take a yearly July vacation with our 80 something Mom & Dad. Previously we had stayed at the Resort at Cocoa Beach, but wanted to try something a little larger. After reading many reviews, we decided on the Ron Jon. We found it to be clean and quite large. We were pleased to find two double beds and a TV in the second bedroom instead of the usual twin. When we first arrived, we were a little dissappointed that we were placed in the beach building, since we were concerned about having to take Mom on the tram. It turned out not to be a problem. It was only about a 5 minute ride to the main building and the trams arrived every 5-7 minutes to take us back and forth. They run from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Not realizing this our first night we ate a later than usual dinner at the restaurant on the premises and did not finish until 9:30. There was no way Mom could walk back to our building. We went to the desk in the lobby and they very kindly arranged for a tram to take us back. Every staff member that we dealt with was courteous and friendly. As for the restaurant, we ate there 3 times and each meal was excellent as was the service. We heard that they will be soon serving hot breakfasts, which is great since there is only one other restaurant open for breakfast within walking distance. We spent our days at the pool and were happy to see that there were quite a few umbrellas. A few more would be great since you have to get there early to claim a seat near an umbrella. We found the pool area very clean and the staff was constantly checking to make sure everyone had a pool bracelet on. We did enjoy the "lazy river" even if we are not kids. The entertainment by the pool was enjoyable as was having a poolside bar to get drinks from. The only suggestion we would make would be for there to be a towel exchange located in the beach building in addition to the one in the main building. It was a bit of an annoyance to have to lug the dirty towels on the tram to exchange for clean ones. One other minor complaint: We arrived on a Sunday and were told that our rooms would be "tidied up" on Thursday. We called Thursday evening to let them know it was not done and were told they would send someone. No one came. Being 4 adults, it was not that big a deal since we just cleaned up ourselves. All of us agreed that we would like to return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank CeBeRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Address: 1000 Shorewood Dr, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-2406 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Space Coast adventure, beachfront beauty and the excitement of one of the busiest cruise ports in the world, this resort provides maximum fun, entertainment and relaxation all in one place. Before you ever leave the resort, you'll discover a swimming pool, lazy river and hot tub to soak your cares away. Try the onsite mini golf course, elevated tennis and basketball courts and onsite exercise room. For kids, there's a big indoor play area with an attached child care center, a multi-row movie theater and much more. From the spacious game room to plenty of onsite activities, you won't be lost for things to do. And your roomy accommodations are perfect for settling in and staying a while. With direct beach access, an onsite restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, a gift shop for souvenirs and incidentals and plenty of activities, you'll never be at a loss for breezy Florida Space Coast fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Hotel Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort Cocoa Beach
Ron Jon Resort
Ron Jon Hotel
Ron Jon Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing