We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made For A Fabulous Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Made For A Fabulous Vacation”
Reviewed November 7, 2004

My wife & I took my mother for the week of Nov 1-7, 2004 (another story in & of itself). Let me start by saying the Cape Caribe is a place you don't need to leave unless you really want/need to. They have just about everything covered. We used the movie theatre 2-3 times, ate at the Reefside Grille 2-3 times also. Best hamburger & best steak sandwich I've had in a long, long time. The grandkids came over from Orlando & used the play room & the arcade area quite a bit. However, the biggest hit was definitely the pool area. Nice large pool area, along with a large hot tub. The lazy river & water slide were also alot of fun. You can stay in the main building, or the oceanside building. The advantage to the main building is the movie theatre, game room, play room, restaurant & so on. However, the oceanside building is only a 2-3 minute shuttle ride away, and the shuttle was available every time we wanted to use it. While we were there, there was an entertainer in the lobby making balloon animals for the kids. He was great. The room we stayed in was a 2-BR lockout that slept 10. Room was immaculate, and had multiple tv's with vcr/dvd combo machines. I read in some earlier reviews that the A/C was loud. They have apparently fixed this problem. The only (and I mean ONLY) thing I had to get over was the view driving in to the resort. You are right beside Port Canaveral. Wonderful for spotting ships, but you also have to look at many many fuel tanks. Very minor issue considering all this place has going for it. We toured the Merritt Island Wildlife Refuge near NASA (very worthwhile), and got to watch a nightime rocket launch from our balcony (awesome). We took the 90-minute timeshare sales pitch, and I must admit it was the most low key, low pressure timeshare tour I've ever been on. Overall, if your're looking for a nice beach in a less crowded area, you can't go wrong at the Cape Caribe. We will be back again.

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    324
    142
    75
    62
See reviews for
651
180
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 25, 2004

Hello,

My wife and I were at Ron Jon’s Cape Caribe Resort in October 2004. I cant say enough good about the place, the staff was great the pool, lazy river and water slide was great. We saw a movie in the free movie theater, played pin-ball (something that we have not had the chance to do in quite some time). We had a wonderful, relaxing, fun-filled time. I challenged my wife to a game of miniature golf ( I didn’t tell her I wanted to practice my putting) The Food at the Reef Side grill was great, the Tiki bar near the pool was the place to get a iced tea or your beverage of choice.
This is a all inclusive resort, you can even buy souvenirs from the sundry shop. Try it I think you will be as impressed as I am.
Bill Hughey

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 19, 2004

This place is great!! The grounds are beautiful. My Husband and I and our 8 year old son stayed here before going on a cruise from Port Canaveral.

The restaurant was fairly priced for families. The rooms come with everything you need to cook-or to make frozen drinks to bring to the pool. I loved the beach-not crowded. The price is not bad either-compared to what it would be to stay down in Cocoa Beach in a just a basic room. You get so much more for your money.

There is also a band by the pool and tiki bar in the afternoon. Very nice -going back again in March 05'.

Oh also they have a small movie theater with movies running all day. You can pop some micro popcorn and head down at night for a movie, Most titles are suited for the whole family.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2004

We were booked in Ron Jon when Frances struck. We found it extremely dificult to gain accurate information about when the resort would re-open and what we would do if it did not open. When we did arrive we were delighted with the resort. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the shuttle bus was great. Our only complaint was that the cooker was not working in the apprtment the day we arrived, and did not get fixed until very late at night. With two hungry children and four adults I would have expected the offer of a take-away, or meal at the restaurant, but this was not offered - poor customer relations at the start of our vacation I think

Helpful?
7 Thank Wildswimmer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2004

Just returned from a Florida trip - doing our part to aid in the economic recovery! - and had a brief Cape Caribe experience from the timeshare sales dance to an overnight stay and two-day use of the amenities. We loved the resort - in fact we loved it enough to purchase a mini "try it to buy it" package. After reading some other comments here tho', I concede that we may have been suckered by the sale. If the resort does or doesn't deliver according to the MANY promises of this package, I will re-post to let all of you know because I know how much we rely on TripAdvisor for the real, first-hand scoop. I'd welcome seeing posts from other folks with either positive or negative experiences in getting Ron Jon's to deliver on this "try it out" package. Are we headed for hassles? Regarding our experience this week tho', we were honestly impressed. After the sales presentation, we spent the rest of the day and evening trying out the amenities. We then stayed overnight in a very nice 1 BR, but it's true - the beds ARE surprisingly and disappointingly hard! For comparison's sake, the next night we stayed at a Hampton Inn up on I-95 in Titusville and the beds were heavenly compared to Cape Caribe! The Cape seriously needs to consider upgrading these beds to something more resort-worthy. They feel cheap. Also, the shower stall in this 1 BR unit was very small and had no place at all to set toiletry items. Such a crummy shower was an irritant in such a nice unit overall. Our view was of the cruise ship canal and it was fun seeing the huge ships come and go. The next morning we went to tour Kennedy Space Center and then returned to use the resort again in the afternoon. There were no crowds for anything (hurricanes probably kept many away) and the staff was fine toward us. The waitress in the Reefside Grill was awesome as was the food (and we thought the prices were great for a resort restaurant). The driver who ferried us to the beach and to shuffleboard was also very friendly. Overall, we loved this resort and just really, really hope that our future experiences with them will be as positive as this past week's experience was. We'll keep you posted!

Helpful?
7 Thank SoccerKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2004

I am writing to give you our review of Cape Caribe. My family stayed here several times. We stayed on the first day they opened and had a wonderful time. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and have all the amenities of home. The pool, slide, lazy river and jacuzzi are fabulous. We have not seen such a great pool area at another timeshare anywhere. The kids indoor play area is huge and wonderful for small children. They also do sitting service for a nominal fee. We spent every evening before bed playing with our niece in it. The game room, miniture golf and theatre were very enjoyable also. Even though it had just opened they seemed to have everything going alright. The only thing we did not get to do was the slide on our first stay, it was still being completed. We did get to use it when we came back the following month.

My daughter bought a trial package on our first stay and seems to be happy with it except for a few kinks. You get to have a weeks stay with the package. You have to call a specific person which has taken a few days for them to call her back a few times and every week she has requested seems to be full. But we will keep trying. Also you are aloud bonus night that you can pay for to stay like for the weekend or if family is in town. The catch is you have to call 15 days before you stay and everytime we have called they have been booked. But now that the summer is over it will probably be easier for us to use these days. Her salesperson was not real pushy but he did do some miss informing. When we called to book the extras nights they told us they want you to stay here first, we already had and were not ready to use our week but after talking to a few people they did ok us to try to book them. Also the salesman said for everyone we refered and took the tour we would get a credit called Sand Dollars. And everyone who bought we would get a larger credit of Sand Dollars. We were told these could be used towards food, and other items at the resort or our maintenance fee if we did a full purchase. She has refered several people, but when she called to get the credit to use they informed us we do not get them until we make a full purchase not the mini package, that we have to be owners. This seems a bit odd since we get items in the mail often about golf tournaments, updates on the resort stating since we are "Owners" thats why we are included in these things. This was VERY misleading and disappointing. When our friends took the tour they said they were a bit pushy and brought a manager over to push they sale after they declined. While they were staying at the resort several times they were approached to take the tour. When they expalined they already booked a time the staff was courteous, appoligized and left them alone. We wont refer the tours again.

The front desk and others working at the resort seemed friendly enough. The information desk did take a long time to help you when you asked for information. I am sure they must have it worked out by now. The Reefside Restaurant does have great food. They just seem to not have enough help or something. It does take a long time to get your food and we have gotten mixed up orders a few times. But the waiter and waitress have always been pleasent about it and taken care of it. The beach area at the resort is great. When our family from up North and came to the resort they could not believe how clean and beautiful the beach is. They commented on how uncrowded it is compared to up Norths beach. My grandson is an avid surfer he took them our surfing and being able to ride the cart back to the main building and rinse off and enjoy the pool and jacuzzi after a long day was great. When the resort first opened they had towel carts out by the pool area. Now you have to go inside to get them, this is disappointing. They should go back to the first method of towel dispensment. With the package we have we can come to the pool area several time during the year. We have yet to use this, but people my grandson knows that work at the resort say it has been very crowded. This is probally due to the hot summer we have had. Everyone has been taking advantage of the weather and water. We will probably use it for the fall.

You have Publix and Winn Dixie near by for groceries. Make use of the kitchens you have, it saves alot of money. Since we are from this area let me tell you nearby places that are great to eat at. On the Beach: Yen Yens is Asain cooking that is out of this world. You must have the Giant Prawns - they are to die for. Grilles at the Port is just down the street from the resort. They have seafood, finger foods and entertainment on the deck. You can also watch the fishing boats and charters come in with there catch, kids love to see all the fish that they bring in. We reccomend the seared Tuna at Grilles it is great. Bernard Surf on Cocoa Beach is great also. It has specials weekly and you get so much extras before your meal comes. (Breads, and Shell bowl filled with olives, celery, relish and other goodies.) If they are to busy to get you in Fishers is a more casual restaurant located right next to Bernard Surf. They are owned by the same people. Same good food in a more casual environment. And Fischers also always serves large portions of your orders. You will leave full and happy. There are alot of chain restaurants to eat at on Merritt Island also.

Right down the street from the resort is Jungle Village fun center. It has go carts, an arcade, and minture golf. It is alot of fun for the kids. You are only 45 minutes away from, Disney, Universal and Sea World also. We would reccomend Cape Caribe as a great place to stay. Just beware of the timeshare sales. Make sure everything is explained and in writing. Ask alot of questions before buying. Be prepared to keep trying to book your bonus nights and timeshare week. Other than that it is a nice place to stay, clean and convenient to everything . I hope this helps you out if your considering Cape Caribe as a timeshare purchase or just for a vacation.

Helpful?
17 Thank mins-toy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 5, 2004

We were to stay at the resort Aug. 28th thru Sept. 4th but we had to evacuate on Thursday Sept. 2nd. due to hurricane Frances. Evacuation was mandatory and the resort did a great job of keeping us up to date each day and informed of what we needed to do.

We traveled with our two children (10 & 12) and stayed in the ocean front building and were very happy to be in that building. We were on the forth floor, corner unit, over looking the ocean. Great views!! We were able to watch a rocket launch from kennedy space center one night from our balcolny. It was amazing. The kids loved it.

The resort staff was always friendly and helpful when we were there. I have read other reviews about the unfriendly staff but that does not seem to be a problem any more. Front desk was always nice, especially Beth, and when our son cut his leg in the ocean the first day there they were quick with directions to the local hospital and repeatly called that night to check up on him. (A few hours in the ER and some stitches he was as good as new). The restaurant was quick to replace one of the meals that was wrong.

We had a great time at the pool. We would spend the entire day there and the kids were nevered bored. they would run from the pool to the lazy river and slide, then some mini golf then back to the pool. It was great.

We also went up to Disney twice during our stay. For anybody that is interested it's only about a 45 minute drive each way. It was a good way to break up the week.

We would return to this resort again.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Address: 1000 Shorewood Dr, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-2406 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Space Coast adventure, beachfront beauty and the excitement of one of the busiest cruise ports in the world, this resort provides maximum fun, entertainment and relaxation all in one place. Before you ever leave the resort, you'll discover a swimming pool, lazy river and hot tub to soak your cares away. Try the onsite mini golf course, elevated tennis and basketball courts and onsite exercise room. For kids, there's a big indoor play area with an attached child care center, a multi-row movie theater and much more. From the spacious game room to plenty of onsite activities, you won't be lost for things to do. And your roomy accommodations are perfect for settling in and staying a while. With direct beach access, an onsite restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, a gift shop for souvenirs and incidentals and plenty of activities, you'll never be at a loss for breezy Florida Space Coast fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Hotel Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort Cocoa Beach
Ron Jon Resort
Ron Jon Hotel
Ron Jon Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing