We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, but felt a bit strange...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but felt a bit strange...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I came to this hotel for one reason only - I was on vacation in Florida and wanted to see a rocket launch at Cape Canaveral. I emailed in advance and requested a room over-looking the range. The reservations team couldn't have been more accommodating, I had a room on the top floor and right outside was a balcony directly over-looking the launchpad - which was 8 miles away but trust me, that's almost as close as you'll get. It's great if you're visiting the Kennedy Space Center too, and is right next to the Cruise Terminal.

The room was stunning, the staff are fantastic, the grounds are nice 4 out of 5 for those. Three things jumped out at me though. Firstly rules, rules, rules. I was issued with a huge welcome pack full of rules. I had to sign I say I'd comply with the rules, a huge carbonated sheet of small print. There are rules on the walls, rules in the parking lot, rules in the rooms. They really stood out. Secondly, the restaurant/bar just felt odd. Rough decor, menu and the staff were a bit laid back. Thirdly, the check-out time of 10am. I have never come across a hotel with a 10am check-out time. It's too early. I figured why it's 10am - this is a time share resort. They want everybody clear by 10am so they can start showing round prospective purchasers from 11am with no suit-cases and guests hanging about.

Did I enjoy the stay? It was OK and I was really pleased with the room set aside for me. Would I stay again? Hmmm... That's tricky, if it wasn't for the good view of Cape Canaveral, probably not. I'm giving it 4 out of 5 for the great rooms, good staff and the trouble they went to for me getting a good room with a view!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    315
    132
    71
    61
See reviews for
619
173
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We only stayed one night as we needed an overnight place to stay near Port Canveral and a Cruise ship. The overall look and feel of the resort is very pleasing. Its clean and has a great staff. We stayed in the Main Building in a Studio room and were very happy. The room was equipped with a kitchen, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the front living area was spacious and comfortable. The price was a little high, but when you have everything you need within walking distance it was worth it. I would stay here again and most definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our family including 4 young children stayed at this resort Feb 12-17 of this year. Overall this resort offers good value, but compared to other properties (time share) they do fall short in a few areas. First, the pool area, when operational is good, but they do not heat the water. We had stayed at at Marriott resort in Orlando and during the cool Feb weather (40-50 overnight) they had the kids area heated to 85 degrees. The water in all areas of this resort was cold, and because of that, alot of people did not use the pool area. They also had functionality issues with the pool area for the first day and a half we were there so we lost out on using during this time. Their hours of operation are also perplexing. Other resorts have their facilities open until 11pm or 12am. This resort, their kids splash area closes at 5pm!!! Why? The main pool 10pm? Why so early? Also, all of the activities at this resort are during the day, there's nothing to do in the evening especially with the pool area closing so early.

They do have a fantastic kids play area, the largest I've seen at a resort, our 4 young ones absolutely loved it. But again, it was closed by 9pm, why so early?

We used the basketball and tennis courts, lighting was ok at night but there were a few lights burned out so it made it hard to follow the ball under the lights.

The beach was fantastic, a short 7 minute walk to one heck of a nice sandy beach. We ran into 3 sharks on our final day, the kids liked seeing them up close (maybe a bit too close :)

We had a 2 bedroom villa, it was very spacious. Some drawbacks, the balcony was not screened in like other resorts so birds and other bugs have easy access. The king size bedroom was nice with a jet tub and shower, our inlaws used this, our 4 kids used the 2 double bed room, which was actually very uncomfortable, the beds were not comfy at all. Every day I woke up sore and stiff. At the very least, they should have queen beds.

We utilized the kitchen to cook a few meals. It was not as well stocked with supplies (general cooking materials) as other properties we have stayed at, which was very disappointing.

The towel service was annoying, your rooms are not cleaned (which they really should be for the price you pay) and you have to lug your towels across the hotel to get new ones. Again, only open until 7pm, so if you swim till 8 or 9pm and want new towels for the next day, no luck.

Their onsite restaurant was fantastic, very good food.

Checkout is a bit of a joke. 4pm check-in and a 10am checkout, they threaten you with charging you extra for every 15 minutes over 10am you stay. Again we stay 50+ nights a year in hotels, never once have I had a property operate in this fashion.

I think overall there are more pluses than minuses but I certainly would not purchase a timeshare at this property as it does fall short in too many areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgrs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the Ron Jon resort for one night on February 13. We were originally booked to stay four nights but decided to go for a cruise on three of the nights (it was close to the same price). When I first booked the room the rate was around $200 a night but I double checked the rate one week before and it was lowered to $100/night - I called and they made the adjustment without any hassle. The room was nice but the water from the taps smelled and tasted horrible. It looked like they had a lot to do at the resort but unfortunately our time was cut short so we couldn't check everything out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stopped at the Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort on Feb. 2nd and were completely surprised. We picked it because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and the price was low. ($99.00 on Expedia) The staff was very friendly and helpful every time we needed something. There were a few things I was surprised about....
1) The room was very spacious, had a kitchenette and kitchen gear and settings for 6 people. Dish soap, paper towels, even wine glasses and a corkscrew. Everything was very clean, I was looking for something amiss and couldn't find anything. lol The 2 person jetted tub was also very clean.
2) They have a full list of activities for kids and families at the resort. (and it is a resort) There is a theatre that had family movies playing from 8am - 11pm I think. Meet the Robinsons, Brother Bear ect. An arcade room, a youth tv room with a bright green couch and chairs, outside activities around the pool for the kids too. It was kind of like a summer camp. There was a huge inside jungle gym that my kids (4 and 11) didn't want to get out of-multiple levels and slides.
3)The outside pool and beach area is much better than the photos show. The area is clean and well maintained. The waterslide had a lifeguard keeping an eye on things.

We were unhappy that we didn't get a chance to see The Kennedy Space Center so we will definitely be back for 2 or 3 nights to enjoy the resort while we explore the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for two days before our cruise. We had multiple families converging on this location before the cruise and all had a fantastic time! We stayed in the main building which I would recommend. You have all amenities there for the kids! There is an indoor play area, a kids babysitting area, lazy river, mini putt, and outdoor tennis and basketball! The place has huge pools and hot tubs and a great water slide! The rooms are pretty plain but spacious and comfortable. Great experience!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a room that faced the pools, I would ask for one of those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidmsp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for a night before our Disney Cruise, and was so in love, we booked another night after our cruise. My children were instantly in love with the Ron Jon Resort. There was plenty to do for them, more than any other hotel we have ever been to. The play room, movies, mini water park, restaurant and rooms had them very happy from the moment we arrived.

My son has a lot of food allergies, and the staff at the restaurant were very helpful and accommodating. It was also their first time seeing the Atlantic Ocean, and the beach at Ron Jon could not have been any more perfect for a first view of the sea. We had to promise the children we would come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoadTripMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Address: 1000 Shorewood Dr, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-2406 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Space Coast adventure, beachfront beauty and the excitement of one of the busiest cruise ports in the world, this resort provides maximum fun, entertainment and relaxation all in one place. Before you ever leave the resort, you'll discover a swimming pool, lazy river and hot tub to soak your cares away. Try the onsite mini golf course, elevated tennis and basketball courts and onsite exercise room. For kids, there's a big indoor play area with an attached child care center, a multi-row movie theater and much more. From the spacious game room to plenty of onsite activities, you won't be lost for things to do. And your roomy accommodations are perfect for settling in and staying a while. With direct beach access, an onsite restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, a gift shop for souvenirs and incidentals and plenty of activities, you'll never be at a loss for breezy Florida Space Coast fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Hotel Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort Cocoa Beach
Ron Jon Resort
Ron Jon Hotel
Ron Jon Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing