We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great amenities, poor quality units” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Certificate of Excellence
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great amenities, poor quality units”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We rented 5-days and 4-nights at the Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort in Cape Canaveral Florida for July 16-20, 2012. We had a ground floor deluxe 2-bedroom suite in the main building, unit 1110 a&b. We had 4 adults and 4 children ages 6 months to 8 years old. We paid over $300 per night including taxes.

The following are the good points of this resort. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. Check-in and checkout was easy and they have plenty of luggage carts. The restaurant on the premises has great food at reasonable prices but is only open for lunch and dinner. The activities for children are exceptional for a timeshare resort. Our room had direct access to the pool which was great for the kids. The lazy river and water slide was a big hit with the kids. The pool water was clean with no stinky chlorine odor. The hot tub was “hot” and big enough to accommodate a dozen or more people. The “maze” for the kids was big and fairly clean, they had scheduled kid activities and movies. There were plenty of deck chairs and shaded areas to escape the sun. The area is close to the space center and has some good restaurants close by. Car parking was good in that they provided a lot of covered areas to protect from the hot sun. Although there was no tidy service there was a linen exchange if you needed clean towels, linens etc. to service your own rooms. Housekeeping does a good job. The unit was clean.

Unfortunately, there were a lot of negatives. The room was in need of major renovation. It appears as it may have a lot of the original furnishings. The second bedroom only had full size beds and it was tight for 2 adults and 2 kids. The lockoff unit had a king bed, typical efficiency facilities, i.e. microwave, small refrigerator etc. Comparing the two bedroom suite with Marriott’s two bedroom with lockoff there is no comparison. The dishware and utensils were bare minimum. The air conditioner struggled to maintain temperature and humidity levels were relatively high. The living room TV was an old small Philips CRT while the bedrooms had small flat screen TVs. Lots of channels but NO high definition service. Furnishings and kitchen were definitely low quality as we have been used to “Marriott” quality resorts. The beach access requires a shuttle ride or a long walk. The beaches in this area of Florida is hard packed fine sand with a long shallow shelf. I would not recommend the beachside accommodations, especially with children. Golf cart transportation is provided to get to the beach. The boardwalk from the beachside accommodations was excellent, old planks being replaced with new ones, shower and wash off facility offered hose type wash off, foot shower and regular shower.

In summary, prices somewhat high in comparison to better appointed villas at other facilities, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, ground floor units great for accessibility to pool, hot tub, lazy river and slide. Restaurant had great food and friendly staff. Activities dept had variety of activities for kids most with additional fees. There was an animal show, at $2.00 per person, twice a week. Reservations made at the VIP desk. To have individual pictures taken with the animals there was a $5.00 cost for each animal to be held and photographed with your own camera. Grandkids chose to hold a tarantula and hedge hog. Hopefully you have a quick shutter on the camera!

Room Tip: The main building is centrally located by all facilities. The beach building is too remote and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    310
    131
    70
    59
See reviews for
611
169
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

4 of us stayed in a 2-bedroom villa and were thrilled with all of the space we had. Front desk staff is very friendly and informative.The other couple we were with had just gotten engaged the night before, so the staff made sure that we had an amazing view. There is SO much to do on property. The pool area is great, and the happy hour at the poor bar is even better. The tram running across property makes it very convenient to get from the pool to the beach. We were very pleased with our stay, and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmansini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a two bedroom in the main hotel. Ocean front was not available at the time (3rd week in July, 2012). we sort of had a view of the pool. While we were there the pool is loud. we could easliy hear the music in the room through the day. The pool closes at 11:00 PM and it get quiet then. The lazy river, small kids area, and the water slide clese at 7:00 PM. This is not something we could understand. lazy river and water slide were some of the main differences and it close early? Also no coolers at the pool. Not sure of why other than they want you to buy from thier bar. The location is really not with walking distance of anything. It is a short 7 minute walk to the beach. They provide a shuttle service to the beach. It was extremely difficult to find where to rent chairs and umbrellas and surf boards, etc at the beach.
I give it an averager review as the rooms and facility is clean, however there is no WOW factor about the rooms. They are pretty standard or below for time share type rooms. The pool area has some nice features, but it closes at 7 PM and the water is hot. There is plenty of staff around. I can't decide if they were helpful or too much policing was going on.
All in all the family had a good time and we did not encounter any problems, other than not being able to rent thing at the beach. You'd think the hotel could arrange and advertise in the lobby. It saved me some cash but Ron Jon missed out a couple of hundred dollars of easy money. If you go into to Cocoa Beach Ron Jon rents everything, however not at their resort?

Room Tip: get the highest floor as we had a lot of noise from our neighbors above. Find out close you are to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWags52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I recently stayed in a villa with my husband and two teen granddaughters in the main hotel. The rooms were large, clean the decor was pleasant. The restaurant had good food and service. The grounds, pool area and all outdoor and indoor facilities also clean with plenty of helpful staff. My disappointment was no housekeeping during the stay and a booklet suggesting you load the dishwasher, strip the beds and leave bedding and towels near the washing machine to assist cleaning staff. The rooms were costly and I think the request was inappropriate, however, I did comply. I also notified the desk that their activities schedule was different from the website. The days I chose were supposed to have two teen nights instead the dates had none and the schedule still was not updated in the computer. While there are always disclaimers regarding schedules changing there was a discrepancy in the schedule I was given. It was dated 5/25/12 and I added a Friday arrival BECAUSE they had added an additional teen night the end of June (according to website). Overall stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ron Jon was gave us exactly what we expected...a great/relaxing family vacation. Pool area was fun for the kids, clean and well-managed, the room was clean, well-equipped and spacious, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our 3 boys had a fun winter break holiday. We would definitely go back. Only drawback for the adults that i wish could change is that the restaurant/snack bar area closed early (10/11pm, i think?). We would have loved to have the kids go up to the room with their older brother who is 18 to hang out with friends and have some food/drinks by the pool, since the resort is a bit far from the "action".

Overall a great resort with lots of positives!

Room Tip: oceanfront/oceanside is far from the pool area, and vice versa....main building rooms are a bit far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank famiyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked a ocean front villa online. Was called by a representative from Ron Jons the next day and was informed that villa was not available but was going to upgrade us to a room that had 2 water views. When we arrived we were told that this hotel does not guarntee any view. Our room was overlooking a driveway. AC leaked all over laptop computer and serious bed bugs. Managements only solution was offering a refund of night one and we could go stay else where. Where would we go 4th of July weekend with 4 kids? Terrible service. Management was especially clueless on how to handle conflict. STAY AWAY!!!!!!! Great concept but poorly ran.

Room Tip: Impossible to know according to their policy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbow89, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear BrianS:

We apologize that your stay was not what you expected. We strive to create a fun and relaxing vacation atmosphere for all of our guests and normally accomplish this goal. This is reflected in all of the wonderful reviews that we receive, as well as our repeat customer base. The room you were in was checked thoroughly and found to have no pest issues. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to contact us. We wish you well and again apologize that you were not happy with your stay.

Launa Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We vacationed at the resort for 7 days. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Standard Oceanfront Villa. The villa was clean and we especially enjoyed the full kitchen, the washer and dryer, and the large balcony that overlooked the ocean.

We were a few floors up from the ground floor so my husband and I left the sliding glass door to our bedroom cracked open each night. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean's gentle waves was very soothing.

Our two kids LOVED the pools, the lazy-river, the waterslide, the mini-golf, and the indoor play area! We spent most of our time at the pool.

My husband and I enjoyed our drinks from the poolside bar (the outdoor Surf Grill).

The private beach was great and never crowded! The kids went shell hunting and enjoyed splashing around in the ocean.

My only complaint would be the staff. The staff at the indoor Surf Grill were quite rude and it was obvious that they weren't thrilled to be working there. I even overheard the bartender telling another guest to lighten her hair because he thought it would make her look younger. I couldn't believe it.

Regardless of the less than enthusiastic staff, our vacation was extraordinary.

We would love to go back someday!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbow89, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Deborah B-

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your vacation. We apologize that the restaurant staff did not exhibit professional behavior during your stay. We will bring your observations to the restaurant manager’s attention. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks again!

Launa Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
Address: 1000 Shorewood Dr, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-2406 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Space Coast adventure, beachfront beauty and the excitement of one of the busiest cruise ports in the world, this resort provides maximum fun, entertainment and relaxation all in one place. Before you ever leave the resort, you'll discover a swimming pool, lazy river and hot tub to soak your cares away. Try the onsite mini golf course, elevated tennis and basketball courts and onsite exercise room. For kids, there's a big indoor play area with an attached child care center, a multi-row movie theater and much more. From the spacious game room to plenty of onsite activities, you won't be lost for things to do. And your roomy accommodations are perfect for settling in and staying a while. With direct beach access, an onsite restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, a gift shop for souvenirs and incidentals and plenty of activities, you'll never be at a loss for breezy Florida Space Coast fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Hotel Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort Cocoa Beach
Ron Jon Resort
Ron Jon Hotel
Ron Jon Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing