We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm bbq”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Bushnell
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Never had any problems when I go here. Love there food. Usually is pretty quick. And they have a drive threw also.

Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

After a couple of visits we have decided this is a good place (99% of the time). we go to the airboats about ten minutes from there and love to eat on the way. A slower pace area which is real nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We have never had a bad experience at Sonny's until today. We walked into Sonny's and noticed every table was dirty not bused, families were just sitting waiting on either their food or drinks to be brought out. The place was also HOT . After being sat down and told by the hostess someone would be by soon to take our drink order, we wanted 10 minutes, watched the hostess keep walking by, no food or drinks were being served to anybody. We went to the check out register where there stood all the waitresses and manager just standing around and we told them, "we're leaving nobody wants to wait on us," and just left. This is our first BAD experience with Sonny's. Very disappointed.

Regards,
Kathy R.
Land O Lakes, FL

1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Kathy R, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're so sorry to hear that you were not served and that the restaurant was not clean. Please let us help! Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, including the location, so that we can address the issues you had encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that you can give us a chance to make things right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have been to a half dozen different locations and most are very good and two have been excellent - one in Gainesville and another in Bushnell. The beef, pork and cornbread (sweet) are always excellent. The sides have been fresh and tasty. They take their food prep seriously and it shows. Prices are good and there are specials too.

Thank Micro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Micro S, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you have dined with us at multiple locations and enjoy our BBQ. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were traveling from Orlando to Tampa and stopped by this location with our extended family. The food was decent, not remarkable and the service was attentive. Lunches were slow in coming, not apparently due to service, but back of house. Pulled pork was a bit dry and fries were cooler than preferred (not too crispy). It all made due in a pinch, but none of us are becoming dedicated fans of Sonny's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe_Syracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Joe_Syracuse, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you decided to give us a try but sorry to hear that your pulled pork meal was not up to expectations. Please allow us to help! Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, along with the location, so that we can address this issue with our staff. We would appreciate your feedback and hope that we can make things right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Bushnell, Central Florida
 
Bushnell, Central Florida
Bushnell, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing