We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blow you away.....”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #13 of 24 Restaurants in Bushnell
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
York New Salem, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blow you away.....”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The food was wonderful on our "travel south eating BBQ" roadtrip. Our server was very sincere and friendly. I loved the Sweet Tea shirts.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Julia C, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and hopefully we're added to your list of places to eat BBQ while traveling south. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not high on list of Sonnys chain”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Saturday night and it was slow. Salad bar had a few not so fresh looking items. Smoked turkey was dry and brisket waa also dry and not a good serving size for the money veggie sides were all cold and bland no butter served with corn bread or veggies got fake butter off bar wings were good but not hot and no blue cheese as ordered slow service. Would not return to this location again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabinstuff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not Sonny's Best”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have dined at this location many times and the food and service have gone down hill. Our last server was hopeless with no idea of what she was doing. The service was so bad by the time we received our food we could not enjoy it, although it was not up to par either. If you are in the area drive a few more exits until you find the next restaurant. This is not one of Sonny's best locations and it is obvious by the complaints we heard from other tables. Perhaps after comping enough meals they will fix it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWBERRY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The servings were more than my friends and I could eat, so it made two meals for me. Plus the restaurant was right next door to our motel, and we could walk over.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArielasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, Joy Y! We are glad that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Okay BBQ”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The pulled pork sandwich is good. Needs a small amount of a seasoning. The chicken wings are not for myself. The giant iced teas are a good value. Salad bar is bland. I don't like the food coming out in no time flat. Unless you only have 45 minutes for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, CJ D. We are sorry to hear that your last visit was not up to your expectations. Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details so that we can address the issue. We would greatly appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Bushnell, Central Florida
 
Bushnell, Central Florida
Bushnell, Central Florida
 
Bushnell, Central Florida
Bushnell, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing