We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best getaway in Central Florida”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bushnell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress House Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bushnell B&B and Inns
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Best getaway in Central Florida”
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We LOVE coming to Cypress House. Have made several trips and are looking forward to more. So glad we discovered this beautiful Bed & Breakfast. What a great getaway - peaceful & quiet & wonderful. Horseback riding, the countryside, the park and a variety of things to do. Couldn't ask for a better place. Thank you (Jan & Tweety) for being fantastic hosts - we appreciate the superb treatment of your guests - you make us feel like family. THANK YOU - THANK YOU - THANK YOU for everything !!!
Karen Rea & Darrell Tucker

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmpngator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Cypress House Ranch has a beautiful and peaceful location in the country-side. The ranch has great staff and great horses. The trail rides were just wonderful! This is why we went to the ranch and this is why we are going back there!

The rooms were nice and clean and the breakfasts were good and big. Everybody was very helpful and gave tips about the near-by locations and things to do. There is a state forest near-by where you can go riding, hiking, biking or canoeing.

The house and its surroundings is beautiful. There are lots of trees there and the horses live near the house. Their stable is under the guest house and behind it, so you get a wake-up alarm at 7 when the horses come back from their night-time pasture and are fed. This was fine with us because then it was time to get up for breakfast and get ready for the saddle. Some of the rooms are in the main building where the sounds of the horses are distant.

This place is good for people who do not miss busy city life and want to relax and spend time near nature. I would especially recommend the trail rides!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnlandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My wife and I are from a large metropolitan area. Back in 2003, we began looking for a quiet place to get away from the big city and spend some quality time around horses. We found Jan’s Bed and Breakfast and decided to give it a try. Needless to say, Jan was so hospitable, and the “old style” country home, which is made from Florida Cypress, was what we were looking for. It is set on a 10 acre farm, located only minutes from the State Forest with miles of horse trails. We loved it so much we’ve been going back every year ever since.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2008

. Cypress House is a lovely historic Florida home nestling in the hills of central Florida near Bushnell in the midst of wooded farmland. Wooden rockers line all three sides of the wrap-around veranda and overlook huge, moss-hung oak trees. Five rooms are available for guests, all furnished with lovely antiques and decorated with elegance and taste. The home is spotless, and guests are offered not only plenty of linens and blankets but a wide selection of books and videos to enjoy in their rooms. A large outdoor pool is a few steps from the main house in a screened enclosure. The water was clean and clear when I visited. The environment is absolutely quiet at night, reminding a traveler of what real silence is like. The breakfasts aren't gourmet wonders, but they're quite good
. In addition to running a B&B, the owners raise horses, available to both experienced and novice riders who want to take trail rides. The stables themselves are a pleasure to visit, providing clean, well-kept, housing to about fifteen healthy horses.
. The hosts are usually available for advice about the area, travel directions, and so on. The rates are exceptionally reasonable for the high quality of this B&B and its beautiful surroundings.

  • Liked — Gorgeous environment, silence at night, serenity
  • Disliked — No pets allowoed.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbInGville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We love to ride the Withlacoochee State Trail and were looking for a place nearby that we could make a weekend out of. We actually passed thier sign on the road and looked them up. If you're looking for something in the middle of nowhere then this is your place. At the end of a curvy road, under the live oaks and the spanish moss sits the Cypress House. Jan, our hostess for the weekend, has lived in the area for 30+yrs. She had this place built for people that love horses and solitude. We didn't ride this time but may try it the next. We stayed in the king room, a seperate building, actually the top of the horse barn. 17 horses and 5 cats were there to greet us. If you're looking for cable tv/satelite you might as well look elsewhere....10 channels on the tv and 1/2 of them were fuzzy!!! We weren't there for that anyway! Jan started us out with a nice breakfast on Saturday. We met a mother and her 2 children who had stopped there for the weekend on there way to Seaside for the kids spring break. Isn't that what bnb's are all about, meeting new people, hearing thier stories!! Anyways,we brought our bikes and drove up to Inverness and rode the trail up to Dunnellon (34 miles round trip). Came back to the inn, to the quietness of it all. Took a nap, then headed up to Catfish Johnny's near Lake Panasoffkee, a local joint, had the Gator appetizer...delicious! Sunday, we had pancakes and sausage and met up with our friends from the previous day to hear of thier horseback stories. They went down along the Withlacoochee River and up into the woods, they said it was such a fun time. If your looking for a place not far from the city and just want to get away you can't beat the Cypress House...the price is right too!!!! Thanks for everything Jan.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — feeding the horses at 7:00 a.m.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flame6883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homosassa, fl.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

My husband Mike and I stayed at the Cypress House Ranch B & B for four days in Ocober, 2007. I can't stop telling everyone what a terrific time we had!! The hospitality, room, food, Miss Jan and Miss Amy were wonderful. The horses were GREAT and I am now taking riding lessons!!! We only live 25 minutes away, but it felt like we were in another world. If you love the country and horses this is definately the PLACE FOR YOU!

Alicia Kaltneckar

Helpful?
1 Thank aliciak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushnell
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bushnell
4.3 mi away
Bushnell Inn Bushnell
Bushnell Inn Bushnell
#2 of 3 in Bushnell
50 reviews
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Brooksville
Days Inn Brooksville
#3 of 6 in Brooksville
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooksville / Dade City
8.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brooksville
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brooksville-I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cypress House Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5175 County Road 631C, (Formally SW 90th Ave), Bushnell, FL 33513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Bushnell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bushnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress House Ranch is an ideal location for travelers using I-75 or staying in Sumter County.Continental Buffet style breakfast, pool, wood grill, and off the main roads make this a place to get away from phones and traffic. Watch the horses, deer and turkeys play from your room or the covered pavilion.All the comforts of home, with none of the stress. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing