We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”

Florida Cracker Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Brooksville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Florida Cracker Kitchen is Family owned resturant by 2 brothers that were born and raised in the business. The Kitchen is a laid back atmosphere with southern hospitality and real food like your mom used to make. We bake our own Bread and Biscuits daily and everything is made with heart and soul. As the name says the Florida Cracker Kitchen brings back the old florida and the tastes that accompany it. We take shrimp and grits to another level with our homemade Tomato Gravy and saute fresh shrimp in and pour it over grit cakes and it will make your tongue slap your brains out! Hopefully we will see you soon!
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The FCK is a great place to eat when in Brooksville! The former Farmer John's Key West Cafe is going strong, with a varied menu and some specials. The Shrimp and Grits is a different presentation, but is very good!! Great food and excellent service!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    80
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Some friends of ours went to this place after visiting the same farm we did a day before. We decided to follow their lead and we are glad we did. My boyfriend had the gator po' boy and he is a po' boy fanatic. He was not at all disappointed and really loved it! We shared a bowl of the gumbo and the okra with the grit cake on top really added to the great flavor. I had the panko crusted chicken strips and they were so crunch and not at all greasy. We live in St.Pete with a lot of wonderful restaurants but I can say that this was a delicious experience we would definitely have again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent fried catfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I stopped by the kitchen to try the catfish special. The fish was excellent, three large fillets fried perfectly with a traditional corn meal breading. French fries were hot and crispy, just the way I like them. The cole slaw was good, but a little wilted. The restaurant is clean and the service very good. It is located a little off the beaten path but it is worth searching out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A Totally Hidden Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

What a delight this was to find. Ordered Shrimp & Grits and was so surprised with the presentation and taste! Its a must on a your trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KOACampground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very fresh, very tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

If not for TA, I wouldn't have SEEN Florida Cracker Kitchen, much less stopped. Tiny and unassuming from the outside, the food is way better than you'd expect. As mentioned by another reviewer, they certainly could smile more, but that wouldn't make the food any better. A Friday lunch was not terribly busy so service was pretty quick; burger was done right and salad was crispy fresh with warm shrimp. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank Foolhardyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Cracker Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Florida Cracker Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing