We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lengthy prayer the entire restaurant had to listen to!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa Joes Italian Restaurant

Papa Joes Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 129 Restaurants in Brooksville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 50 and Spring Lake Hwy
Description: Papa Joe"s Italian Restaurant has been a family tradition for 30 years. Papa Joe has personally constructed a diverse menu to fit anyone and everybody's taste buds, and each dish is prepared to order 'justa for you'. Whether you are looking for an aged tender steak, fresh seafood, or are in need of a carb fix, we got it! From the beginning, Papa Joe has prided himself in using the freshest and most whole ingredients available. In fact, many of the herbs we use are picked fresh from our herb garden and all of our dough is made on premises with a healthy blend of semolina and stone ground wheat. Cheers!
Tampa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lengthy prayer the entire restaurant had to listen to!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

So the food wasn't bad. Prices were ok, not a fancy place, but the portions are decent size. What got me was that the owner had a preacher lead the entire restaurant in prayer.... A very long prayer. And if you didn't participate, you got the evil, hairy eyeball. I won't go back just for that reason. Crazy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    71
    40
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood Fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Every thing was very good I have nothing negative to say.Very pleased I was in Brooksville for a gymnastics competition and for a small town the food at Papa Joes was very good I only spent 1 night I Brooksville but I would have liked to try more on the menue

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place had a nice laid back setting and good food. The meatballs were excellent! I would recommend this place for a nice dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“an absolute delight !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was exceptional !!
The sautéed calamari with pasta was outstanding !!! Not even featured in Italy's cafes or restaurants
Pounded it down with a half carafe of excellent Chianti !!
A definite re-visit is worthwhile to say the least !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilHarmonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We went here tonight for a dinner with friends. Child in party wanted milk it was 2.95 really milk is that expensive? Pasta was okay and we ordered pizza just to compare it. I would have to say it was okay and just that. Food for everyone else was just okay as well. the server was the best thing of the night funny and service oriented. Def wont be making a return trip here unless some things change so bada bing .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allaroundtheworld874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Joes Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Papa Joes Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing