We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chase Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bowland Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
s_pops89
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for an idyllic getaway then Chase Cottage is perfect. I stayed there for a long weekend in November and found the location to be perfect. It's not far from Ambleside, Windermere, Cartmel and so many other lovely places. Plus the two pubs nearby are so cosy and nice, not like those cold old man pubs you sometimes find! The views surrounding the cottage are very picturesque with the hills just rolling away in front and behind. The cottage inside was incredibly clean and well decorated, spacious and had everything we needed for our short trip. All the facilities are modern and work really well. I was sad to leave and would definitely like to come back. Perfect, perfect, perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: There no open fire, but it didn't matter
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4scouseca...
Liverpool UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered.......!”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Following a couple of very stressful weeks, Chase Cottage was just the medicine we needed. Hugh and Wendy were very accommodating during the booking process, responding to my endless emails prior to arrival. When we finally landed, it was love at first sight. A very warm, inviting, immaculately clean and superbly equipped cottage. The Hare and Hounds (a very popular Inn) next door but one and a shop across the road road selling A to Z! There are several good walks right from the doorstep. We just couldn't wish for anything more perfect. The local folk are all very friendly and we were lucky to be included in the Pub Quiz on the Thursday night at 'the local'. Sadly due to commitments at home we had to leave a day early and it wasn't an easy task. Two weeks and all well at home, leaving would be have been impossible. We shall be back.
Thank you Hugh and Wendy

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim c
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Cottage in Fantastic setting”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Cottage was in a wonderfully quaint quiet village with a hostelry which served good food and beer next door but one
The cottage itself was in remarkably good condition, well appointed and had everything to make our stay really happy
Contact with the owners was always available
Extensive library which gave you a very good representation of places to visit
The village itself was away from the busy places which meant that you weren't stuck in traffic as soon as you pulled out the car park
All in all it was just about spot on for us lot

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarkym
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!! IMMACULATE!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Everything you would expect and more. Lovely location away from crowds, but an ideal base with easy access to all areas of the lakes. This cottage is immaculately presented and the level of finish all over is very high quality. Loads of info at the cottage to browse, from local walks to the far away. Food never a problem with the excellent Hare and Hounds only 2 doors away, but if you need to cook the kitchen is equipped with every utensil you can think of. Would not hesitate to return and will be recommending to everyone I know. Thank you Hugh and Wendy. You should be very proud.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryLa...
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable, Accessible, Super.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Highly recommended in a quiet location - yet easily accessible for lakes. High quality fittings and comfortable environment... makes for a very fabulous stay. Close to great eateries, and super walks. There were just the 2 of us, and we each enjoyed our well equipped rooms. We were blessed with great weather, but even had we had a different weather, the cottage would still have been perfect. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulL L
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal, Peaceful, Truly England.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage interior is as shown and described. The location is perfect set in rolling hills in a lovely valley. Perfectly positioned to explore the all inspiring Lake District with its breathtaking landscapes and views. As in the words of AW " The Truth" awaits - what are you waitng for ? Expand Your Mind, Excite your Heart and find the truth. Book Chase Cottage today.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bed Size
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyfana...
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fantastic,spotlessly clean cottage.Well equipped with everything we needed.Ideal location for visiting all areas of the lakes.We found the guide books in the cottage very helpful.The Hare and Hounds pub,next door but one,served delicious food,although we all enjoyed our nights staying in at Chase cottage which was warm and comfortable.We would certainly return to the cottage at a later date.All in all a brilliant week was spent in the lakes with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing