We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great hosts, comfy beds”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great hosts, comfy beds”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Keri and team looked after us all (10 of us although only 6 stopped the night). Evening meal was brilliant and breakfast very filling. Rooms all spotlessly clean and the bed was so good I now want a new mattress for home. Have eaten there many times before and never been disappointed. Warm and friendly atmosphere. Will and have recommended the Hare & Hounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alzo_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    58
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
229
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had eaten here a couple of times before finally managing to stay over on my birthday, Saturday 23rd February with our family and pug - Milly. Unfortunately the weather was bitterly cold but that did not detract from our stay. The Hare and Hounds is a first class pub - bedrooms are fab just as if you were in a high quality hotel. I was a little worried about noise from the pub below but this worry didn't materialise at all. The bedrooms were immaculate even though pets are allowed. We took our little dog and she slept in her cage and obviously was not allowed up on any furniture in the bedrooms. Hopefully all guests with pets treat what is effectively someone else's home with the same respect as we did - we certainly did not see any signs of pets having stayed previously.

The food here is typical of a first class pub - probably the steak pie and fish and chips are their signature dishes - they are excellent. The pub was busy on Saturday evening and when we left on Sunday at noon there were diners waiting outside for the pub to open. I so wish we had a really good pub like this one on our doorstep. We would not hesitate to recommend this pub and look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: We had 2 x double rooms - the room on second floor was much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose the Hare and Hounds primarily due to the dog friendly nature, but also because of the pictures of the rooms and the food's reputation.
And we were NOT disappointed.
It's incredibly difficult to balance a pub for locals, with a reputation for good food, with accommodation and to keep the whole atmosphere cordial and relaxed; but Kerry and her team pull it off.
Every single staff member was friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and away from the bar, the food excellent with locally sourced ingredients, and all in a beautiful setting.
We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howieofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and have booked to come again...
This Lake District Country Inn has only 3 rooms, but the owner, her family and staff make you feel very welcome. Our room was excellent, breakfast was great and the Pub food was so much better than Pub food!!
I will be recommending to friends and family that want a few days in the Lakes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Second time we have stayed and its as good as we remembered. Staff couldn't be more helpful and the atmosphere is great. Top location for walking, sight seeing etc and our dog Henry was made very welcome (after we had washed him in the nearby stream).

Room Tip: our room, number 3 is small, but has a nice en suite and is fine for a weekend away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Whist both my partner and I were located in the samllest of rooms, the staff, decor and overall ambience are so warming and have everyigng that you would need! (I really didn't want to get out of the wonderful shower).

Whilst we were happy with our room and it exceed our expectiations - we could not have expected what was yet to come - dinner! Such amazing food, attentive and warming staff (in addition to the log fires). Try the steak pie, oh and the hotpot.. and the cheescake ... well the full menu!

Despite only a few rooms (and therefore guests), the breakfast was also to the same standard and we again felt welcome and comforted.

An unexepcted lovely evening as a half way stop from essex to scotland. We'll be arranging a longer say the next time!

Room Tip: If you are picky re space - you should ask about the size of rooms etc. Ours was small and little r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This wonderful hidden gem has to be visited to be believed. We have stayed here a few times and never want to leave.

The rooms are absolutely spotless with the comfiest of beds, top quality bedding and total blackout lined curtains giving us the best nights sleep.

As for the bathroom, it was huge, equally as spotless, with double shower and large deep roll top bath accompanied with top quality toiletries.... Bliss.

We ate in the evenings in this lovely snug pub and have to say well done chef for such constant
fantastic food. The lamb hotpot was the best ever, the steak and ale pie to die for, as for the home made vegetable potato cake, yummy! Oh yes, my husband added.....the fell house farm-bowland bridge pork sweet chilli and black pudding terrine was immense to name but a few dishes we had.

Kerry, Mandy and wonderful parents Jill and Alan, should be very proud of getting the whole package right. Even down to where to visit and where to spend our money (the stuffed 6ft Santa will always remind us of you).

Best wishes to Jacob and Joe too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillnDaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Property: The Hare & Hounds
Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bowland Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing