We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went here tonight for a meal with my mum. We didn't book and happened to pass by so popped in - they found us a table no problem by the lovely wood burning stove! Had a gorgeous meal with superb mulled wine and cider. The staff were fantastic and Kerry is a credit to the pub - never met such a friendly manageress! Definitely would go back again and recommend to any - just a shame we live so far away in Derby!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you agin at The Hare and Hounds real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    57
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
230
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at this warm and welcoming pub/B&B when looking for a base to stay near to a wedding venue. The hosts and staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was wonderful, so much so, I very nearly didn't go to the wedding!! The beer and food was first class and the room clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately my wife could not join me due to illness but we have booked to return in 3 weeks!! Excellent location in beautiful countryside. What else could you ask for. Simple answer is, nothing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. Were so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had dinner here last night and we were really impressed with the place. We didnt book a table but they were able to accomodate us quite quickly despite being really busy. The wine list was quote good and they had more than one house rose , which was quite impressive. The menu was very varied and all sounded really good. We both had the blackpudding and bacon terrine to start and my partner had the lamb shank and I had the smoked haddock bake. We really enjoyed our meals and the staff were really attentive. The pub had a really nice vibe to it and we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Were glad you enjoyed ur meal with us and we hope to see you at The Hare and Hounds again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We discivered The Hare & Hounds four months ago and paid our fourth visit yesterday. Again it lived up to our expectations. A great welcome, super, friendly service, all of which compliment the excellent food. Nothing was too much trouble. We live in the Lake District and dine out regularly, often seeing food and service which do not justify the prices. NOT the case here and we definitely will be back next month. The seven of us all had different main courses and we were all very pleased with them. The starters and sweets were also a good variety and very well presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stampman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoy visiting us and we look forward to seeing you The Hare and Hounds again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having travelled from Scotland after a less than perfect week on the Island of Mull I was both very tired after a long journey in appalling weather and slightly dreading an overnight stay in yet another pretentious pub. Well, what a lovely surprise! I was met with a warm welcome and a broad smile by a young man called Jacob who showed me to my room. The room was very small (this is an old Inn) but immaculate with an en-suite shower room in modern style, also spotlessly clean. At dinner I was met by Jacob and a young woman called Charlotte who seated me by the woodburner and ensured that I was made welcome and well fed. All this under the constant supervision of Kerry, the owner. After a superb night's sleep I was treated to a first class breakfast served by Kerry, who was concerned to ensure that I and the other guests were entirely happy. Fabulous food, fabulous room, fabulous staff. What a credit to Kerry, who clearly has the right attitude to giving first class service to her customers. I am already trying to find a reason to re-visit with my Wife. I have no hesitation in recommending the Hare and Hounds to anyone. Very well done indeed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPLH2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose the Hare and Hounds partly because their house beer is brewed by the excellent Tirril Brewery, however we were thoroughly pleased with the comfortable rooms, inviting bar area, home cooked food/great breakfast and the other real ales on tap.
What made the 2 day stay brilliant was the loveliness of Kerry, her mum and dad and the staff.
Their welcome makes this place special.
That and the fact we did well in the pub quiz...

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms- 2 at the top are newly refurbished to a high spec. Quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBabs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

At a time when pubs and hotels are closing on a daily basis how come some continue to thrive? It isn't rocket science - give people what they want and they will come. 1. A friendly welcome. Many will remember Kerry from the Strickland Arms and how her front of house bonhomie built up the business withing months of it re-opening. Human and canine visitors were greeted with open arms there and the same simple formula has been repeated at the Hare and Hounds. It works. Grouchy licensees note - you will not stay in business long. 2. Good beer. Pubs that do not stock a good selection of permanent and guest real ales are not going to succeed either. Again, these are provided at the Hare and Hounds and changed on a regular basis 3. Good locally sourced food at reasonable prices. The lunchtime menu of 2 courses (albeit reduced portions) for £10 represents phenomenal value for money. 4. Good surroundings. The interior was tastefully redecorated before re-opening, the tables are a discreet distance apart, there are invariably log fires burning and, perhaps most important of all, people who pop in for a drink are just as welcome as those that are stopping for a meal. It's not Rocket science. This place is and will continue to be a great success and when you consider that the Masons Arms is only a few hundred yards away that speaks volumes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and all we offer. We look forward to seeing you again at The Hare and Hounds soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Property: The Hare & Hounds
Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bowland Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing