We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is as it should be done.”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having travelled from Scotland after a less than perfect week on the Island of Mull I was both very tired after a long journey in appalling weather and slightly dreading an overnight stay in yet another pretentious pub. Well, what a lovely surprise! I was met with a warm welcome and a broad smile by a young man called Jacob who showed me to my room. The room was very small (this is an old Inn) but immaculate with an en-suite shower room in modern style, also spotlessly clean. At dinner I was met by Jacob and a young woman called Charlotte who seated me by the woodburner and ensured that I was made welcome and well fed. All this under the constant supervision of Kerry, the owner. After a superb night's sleep I was treated to a first class breakfast served by Kerry, who was concerned to ensure that I and the other guests were entirely happy. Fabulous food, fabulous room, fabulous staff. What a credit to Kerry, who clearly has the right attitude to giving first class service to her customers. I am already trying to find a reason to re-visit with my Wife. I have no hesitation in recommending the Hare and Hounds to anyone. Very well done indeed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPLH2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for The Hare & Hounds
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 370 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose the Hare and Hounds partly because their house beer is brewed by the excellent Tirril Brewery, however we were thoroughly pleased with the comfortable rooms, inviting bar area, home cooked food/great breakfast and the other real ales on tap.
What made the 2 day stay brilliant was the loveliness of Kerry, her mum and dad and the staff.
Their welcome makes this place special.
That and the fact we did well in the pub quiz...

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms- 2 at the top are newly refurbished to a high spec. Quiet location
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBabs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

At a time when pubs and hotels are closing on a daily basis how come some continue to thrive? It isn't rocket science - give people what they want and they will come. 1. A friendly welcome. Many will remember Kerry from the Strickland Arms and how her front of house bonhomie built up the business withing months of it re-opening. Human and canine visitors were greeted with open arms there and the same simple formula has been repeated at the Hare and Hounds. It works. Grouchy licensees note - you will not stay in business long. 2. Good beer. Pubs that do not stock a good selection of permanent and guest real ales are not going to succeed either. Again, these are provided at the Hare and Hounds and changed on a regular basis 3. Good locally sourced food at reasonable prices. The lunchtime menu of 2 courses (albeit reduced portions) for £10 represents phenomenal value for money. 4. Good surroundings. The interior was tastefully redecorated before re-opening, the tables are a discreet distance apart, there are invariably log fires burning and, perhaps most important of all, people who pop in for a drink are just as welcome as those that are stopping for a meal. It's not Rocket science. This place is and will continue to be a great success and when you consider that the Masons Arms is only a few hundred yards away that speaks volumes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Many thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and all we offer. We look forward to seeing you again at The Hare and Hounds soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have just stayed 2 nights here for my birthday and have had a great time.As soon as we arrived the greeting was so warm and friendly as opposed to the cold,wet weather.We decided to have lunch as we didnt think that the room would be ready as we had arrived earlier than check-in but it was.After drying ourselves and unpacking we went for lunch which was excellent.Breakfast the following morning was the best we have had for quite a while.In the evening we had reserved a table ( recommended)and enjoyed another excellent meal.The steak and ale pie is delicious.All of the food is cooked fresh and is hot . The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.We stayed in room 2 which was beautiful , the bathroom is the nicest we have had anywhere in this country..the roll top bath is great for having a long, hot soak in after a long,long walk in the rain!!..We would recommend anyone to stay here.Yes, it is a bit more expensive than some b&b s. but it was well worth the extra.Warmest room we have stayed in ( had to keep the window open), bed very comfy,lovely towels,spacious ..quiet place to stay even though it is in a pub, you dont hear anyone..Cant wait to go again..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed stay with us and we hope to see you at The Hare and Hounds again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We can only endorse all the other positive and glowing comments about this pub. If you want an unpretentious but smart and comfortable place to stay in a convenient location for both Western and Eastern lakes, and if you want your dog welcomed like one of the family, this is the place to stay! It really lives up to its reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stopped at The Hare and Hounds for 3 nights in October to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in the Lakes, as we got engaged on top of Blencathra. We couldn't have picked a better location. The room we stopped in (No.2) was spacious with a lovely bathroom with rolled topped bath and walk in shower. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we both had good nights sleep. This was aided by the fact it was so quiet! You really wouldn't know you were above a pub, as you could literally hear no noise through the night.
The breakfast was well cooked and delicious. We ate in the pub two of the three evenings we were there. Plenty of choice and again the quality of the food was fantastic. I would heartily recommend the beef pie!
Kerry and the team at the Hare and Hounds went out of there way to make our stay a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We have already recommended it to a number of friends and would love to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: We chose Room Two. You pay a bit more but we thought it was worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemusHowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. The surrounding area is beautiful and the staff are really friendly and welcoming! The room was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and there was even a double ended bath - perfect after a nice walk! The breakfast (which was included) was fantastic and our evening meal (paid for separately) was delicious. There was so much choice of food, beer and wine that we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brown Horse Inn
Brown Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Winster
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bowland Bridge
Price Range: $121 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing