We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly friendly - humans and dogs!”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly friendly - humans and dogs!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We can only endorse all the other positive and glowing comments about this pub. If you want an unpretentious but smart and comfortable place to stay in a convenient location for both Western and Eastern lakes, and if you want your dog welcomed like one of the family, this is the place to stay! It really lives up to its reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    58
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
229
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stopped at The Hare and Hounds for 3 nights in October to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in the Lakes, as we got engaged on top of Blencathra. We couldn't have picked a better location. The room we stopped in (No.2) was spacious with a lovely bathroom with rolled topped bath and walk in shower. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we both had good nights sleep. This was aided by the fact it was so quiet! You really wouldn't know you were above a pub, as you could literally hear no noise through the night.
The breakfast was well cooked and delicious. We ate in the pub two of the three evenings we were there. Plenty of choice and again the quality of the food was fantastic. I would heartily recommend the beef pie!
Kerry and the team at the Hare and Hounds went out of there way to make our stay a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We have already recommended it to a number of friends and would love to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: We chose Room Two. You pay a bit more but we thought it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemusHowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. The surrounding area is beautiful and the staff are really friendly and welcoming! The room was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and there was even a double ended bath - perfect after a nice walk! The breakfast (which was included) was fantastic and our evening meal (paid for separately) was delicious. There was so much choice of food, beer and wine that we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acharacle, Argyll, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at The Hare and Hounds, warm and friendly staff, the food was excellent and our bedroom No2 was very cosy and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will certainly return in the very near future. A special mention to Amelia and Kerry, nothing was too much trouble for them, they were the most pleasant staff we have had so far and we have stayed in a number of hotels this year. THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Number 2 room is where we stayed which was VERY comfortable, clean and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Hare and Hound is a truly wonderful place to stay - I really can't recommend it enough to anyone interested in a cosy getaway to the Lake District. We arrived late on a Friday night and were immediately greeted with a friendly smile and a warm welcome. This was the kind of atmosphere we continued to enjoy for the rest of our short weekend! All of the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and provided us with lots of ideas and help about where to visit and what to see. The room was extremely comfortable with lovely details like pretty cushions and bedspreads, 100% Egyptian cotton towels, homemade shortbread biscuits, teas, coffees and of course the wonderful free-standing bath! We had an exquisite meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night and a hearty breakfast of fresh fruit, freshly cooked bacon eggs (et.) and hot coffee each morning! If you are looking for a relaxing place to holiday, then look no further! Thanks one and all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adxmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford, cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

To start on a bad note....we could only stay for one night!! We stayed for one night for a nearby wedding, therefore were unable to sample the evening menu. It was very busy and it looked fantastic as we walked through in the evening... so we were the unlucky ones! Bedroom was 'in the roof', and was superbly comfortable with separate area with roll top bath & shower room. We had such a comfortable night and the staff were super friendly and accommodating without being fussy or 'too much'. We brought our dog with us, and although he is quite a big fella he was made very welcome which makes for such a great and worry free stay for those with precious four legged friends. Breakfast in the morning was a full English cooked breakfast but non-greasy with great ingredients accompanied by anything we wished for...we only had to ask. Would love to stay for longer in the future.... Perfect base

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falabalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here with friends for husbands 50th! We had a fantastic time. Very friendly staff, rooms furnished to a very high standard, food was superb breakfast & evening meal. I recommend booking the evening meal as very popular! We stayed for 2 nights & tried something different both nights from lemon sole to lamb cutlets - every course was superb. Excellent beer & wine selection. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Both rooms 1 & 2 were fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brown Horse Inn
Brown Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Winster
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Property: The Hare & Hounds
Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bowland Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing