We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
74
10
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen lake kabetogama yellowstone cabin voyageurs national park fish northern minnesota top notch wonderful experience wonderful family would definitely go back rented a pontoon boat comforts of home within driving distance exceeded our expectations no charge make you feel at home each morning
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 86 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Northern Lights Resort is a great get away when traveling in Northern Minnesota. The cabins are clean, the views are breath taking and our Hosts (Heidi and Harlan), Yes they made sure we knew them by name, will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. There's something for everyone in your family to enjoy; Fishing, blueberry picking, swimming, hiking, ATVing or just sitting by the lake with a book. (And a glass of wine) Northern Lights has become a family tradition we look foward to every year.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have experienced Lake Kabetogama for the past 18 years. The last 16 years we have stayed at Northern Lights. Through this time there was an ownership change, and Tom & Pat continued the traditions we came to lovewith the previous ownership. They hired Harlan & Heidi, who are excellent managers, and keep everyone well satisfied. Each year we see updates to the cabins--some cabins this year, and others the next. The resort is always clean, and well staffed. The harbor, and dock system keeps our boat safe from any weather. The amenities in each cabin are exactly what is needed, and if not, Harlan and Heidi will see that you are satisfied. The cabins are also very clean, and just what you need. We will be back for our time in "heaven" in 2010, and many years thereafter!!

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Searching for a new experience, my wife and I work camped at Northern Lights for the summers of 2008 and 2009. Harlan and Heidi, the managers, each year improve the cabins and maintain them throughout the summer to assure the guests have a trouble free vacation experience. The comments we heard both summers included the following: The seclusion and peacefulness of the lake and woods provided a wonderful family time. The availability of fishing equipment and knowledgeable guide service made the fishing very rewarding. Children had toys and bicycles available and could ride them free of any traffic. The tapes and DVDs entertained at night while the days were spent with families reconnecting with each other. The lodge allowed families to play and share with each other. We met a number of families and friends who return each year to renew acquaintances or family bonds. Two wedding parties booked several cabins for their wedding. The sandy beach provided a great space for toddlers. The sauna was used by teenagers after they enjoyed the big blowup water toys. The grills and fire pits by each cabin were used most every night. Within driving distance was a bear sanctuary and an underground iron mine tour.
Being at that resort was a rejuvenating experience not only for all the guests with whom we interacted but also for us. It was a pleasure to see the families enjoy each other and be reluctant to leave. We found the northern woods and community friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rvcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the resort. We had a wonderful time--so much to do!! The views are amazing.

Tom, Pat, Harlan and Heidi are wonderful hosts. They were very attentive and we did not want for anything.

The accomodations were first class all the way at a very reasonable price!! The resort is in pristine condition inside and out.

Thank you so much for everything and we are returning in August 2010 with the entire family!!

Vicki and Frank Callaghan

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vscallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Last year (2009) was our 3rd year in a row and we've booked for 2010. Every other year it's a friend and I; other years our wives come with. We always have had a great time. Harlan & Heidi and the other staff are just plain wonderful; friendly, helpful and provide great fishing tips. The amenities, from coffee to fish cleaning to the dogs & brats meal for charities are top notch. For years we'd gone to Canada but it got to be such a hassle to cross the border and the people weren't real friendly so we decided to try staying south of the border. It was the best move we made; the fishing is just as good; a shorter drive; much nicer accommodations and great people. No regrets and we plan on going back for years to come.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CommonAsDirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews