We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kabetogama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kabetogama
Anoka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Our family, My brother in-law, wife and son along with the five of us, sent a wonderful week long family vaction at Nothern Lights Resort. Upon arrival, you could just tell that alot of work and tender care was put into the entire resort by the owners and staff: not a thing was out of place: grass was freshly mowed, fresh firewood was placed in the pits, boats were all spotless and the reck hall, playground, cool diving tower & water trampoline were all welcome sights for our kids (and us adults too...but our eyes were brightened by the dock-side sauna!). Our cabin was in perfect for all of us, clean and well maintained with welcoming decore and furnishings with a "up north" theme. The week was sent enjoying all the amenities, but most of all the time with family was priceless and many memories were made! Thank you NLR...we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellysFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Northern Lights Resort is a great get away when traveling in Northern Minnesota. The cabins are clean, the views are breath taking and our Hosts (Heidi and Harlan), Yes they made sure we knew them by name, will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. There's something for everyone in your family to enjoy; Fishing, blueberry picking, swimming, hiking, ATVing or just sitting by the lake with a book. (And a glass of wine) Northern Lights has become a family tradition we look foward to every year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have experienced Lake Kabetogama for the past 18 years. The last 16 years we have stayed at Northern Lights. Through this time there was an ownership change, and Tom & Pat continued the traditions we came to lovewith the previous ownership. They hired Harlan & Heidi, who are excellent managers, and keep everyone well satisfied. Each year we see updates to the cabins--some cabins this year, and others the next. The resort is always clean, and well staffed. The harbor, and dock system keeps our boat safe from any weather. The amenities in each cabin are exactly what is needed, and if not, Harlan and Heidi will see that you are satisfied. The cabins are also very clean, and just what you need. We will be back for our time in "heaven" in 2010, and many years thereafter!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Searching for a new experience, my wife and I work camped at Northern Lights for the summers of 2008 and 2009. Harlan and Heidi, the managers, each year improve the cabins and maintain them throughout the summer to assure the guests have a trouble free vacation experience. The comments we heard both summers included the following: The seclusion and peacefulness of the lake and woods provided a wonderful family time. The availability of fishing equipment and knowledgeable guide service made the fishing very rewarding. Children had toys and bicycles available and could ride them free of any traffic. The tapes and DVDs entertained at night while the days were spent with families reconnecting with each other. The lodge allowed families to play and share with each other. We met a number of families and friends who return each year to renew acquaintances or family bonds. Two wedding parties booked several cabins for their wedding. The sandy beach provided a great space for toddlers. The sauna was used by teenagers after they enjoyed the big blowup water toys. The grills and fire pits by each cabin were used most every night. Within driving distance was a bear sanctuary and an underground iron mine tour.
Being at that resort was a rejuvenating experience not only for all the guests with whom we interacted but also for us. It was a pleasure to see the families enjoy each other and be reluctant to leave. We found the northern woods and community friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rvcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the resort. We had a wonderful time--so much to do!! The views are amazing.

Tom, Pat, Harlan and Heidi are wonderful hosts. They were very attentive and we did not want for anything.

The accomodations were first class all the way at a very reasonable price!! The resort is in pristine condition inside and out.

Thank you so much for everything and we are returning in August 2010 with the entire family!!

Vicki and Frank Callaghan

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vscallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

Last year (2009) was our 3rd year in a row and we've booked for 2010. Every other year it's a friend and I; other years our wives come with. We always have had a great time. Harlan & Heidi and the other staff are just plain wonderful; friendly, helpful and provide great fishing tips. The amenities, from coffee to fish cleaning to the dogs & brats meal for charities are top notch. For years we'd gone to Canada but it got to be such a hassle to cross the border and the people weren't real friendly so we decided to try staying south of the border. It was the best move we made; the fishing is just as good; a shorter drive; much nicer accommodations and great people. No regrets and we plan on going back for years to come.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CommonAsDirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

We've stayed in Yellowstone for a week for three summers now. We have had a perfectly wonderful time each time. Each time has had new surprises and experiences. Boating, tubing, kayaking, fishing, huge walleye feeds, blueberry picking, hiking, just messing around and swimming and laying out . . . it is a beautiful, beautiful experience for all ages, and you can set your own pace and breathe it all in, at your leisure. Did I mention the great night's sleep you get up there, too? It's like they have double oxygen! :>)

There's so much to do, but my favorite is to just sit on the cabin's deck or porch and be with my loved ones.

It's so restorative and refreshing that you really, truly don't want to leave. I've traveled some, and the only other place where they have to drag me home, kicking and screaming, is on Maui, Hawaii. The GOOD news is, THIS place is tons cheaper! :>)

I'm like an addict, and being at Northern Lights is like crack cocaine for my peace of mind. :>)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusanFromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabetogama
19.5 mi away
Copper River Inn & Conference Centre
17.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in International Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
18.0 mi away
La Place Rendez Vous Hotel & Convention
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Interna...
#2 of 7 in International Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
19.6 mi away
Super 8 Fort Frances
Super 8 Fort Frances
#1 of 4 in Fort Frances
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
17.8 mi away
Days Inn International Falls
Days Inn International Falls
#6 of 7 in International Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting

Property: Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting
Address: 10179 Bay Club Dr, Kabetogama, MN 56669-8061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Kabetogama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kabetogama
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Outfitting

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing