We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get-a-way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Smoakhouse Ranch
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend at the Smoakhouse Ranch. A wonderful get-a-way. It is about 2 miles from the Suwannee River where you can go boating. There are antique shops near buy and plenty of open space to get some fresh air. It's a wonderful place to have a family reunion, wedding or just some peace and quiet. :) Oh and for summer travelers there is a tubing adventure nearby as well.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had an opportunity to take a weekend away form Tampa Bay, but always have the issue of traveling with our "Children", our beloved Pomeranians. We wanted to stay close to the Suwannnee, Santa Fe and Ichetuchnee Rivers to explore the Springs Country, but ran into the "No Pets" issue. A little research found the Smoakhouse Ranch, and a call ---after assuring Emily they are small an stay in their pen-- allowed us to book.

We loved the grounds, and there was plenty of green grass and farmland for roaming. Our "Children" were fascinated by the Chickens, Sheep and Cows---and behaved themselves--so we assume we can come back again---and look forward to doing so. The Ranch is less than 20 minutes from most of the Parks, and 30 minutes from Ginnie, Blue and Poe Springs. You have a choice of two small cabins, a large Farmhouse, or a "Cracker---Shotgun" house built with rough cypress. Since my Hubby is into Civil War, and Old Florida history---that was a treat! The Pool and Spa very very inviting in the Florida summer weather.

A caution from the Innkeepers---due to Guests showing up with large, or unregistered pets, they will be very strict on hosting---no Dogs over 40 pounds---and never in the "Farmhouse". We would have been turned away if not honest about our extebded "Family". We're glad ours were well behaved! A visit to this real Farm/Ranch is a must!----We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

What a beautiful place!! Had no problems finding the ranch, even coming in late at night. Tim and Emily were most accomodating and helpful! Our cabin was clean, relaxing and quaint. We loved the old feel, our 3 boys ages, 14 12 and 12 absolutely loved the location and all the animals. We cannot wait to come back and explore the springs in warm weather. The stars were absolutely beautiful, I have never in my life seen more stars in the sky! We even saw a shooting star. Tim and Emily were extremely helpful and it was an absolute pleasure to meet them. We will be making this a tradition for our Olustee trip every year! Well worth the drive to and from Olustee Battlefield! The eggs were fresh, the refrigerator stocked daily and the heat turned up before our returns in the evening. Little things like this make the extra miles worth it! We can't wait to stay at the Earl Cabin again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelgkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We have been coming to The Smoakhouse Ranch since our teenagers were toddlers. They love the animals, the open, safe place and the bonfires at night. My husband and I love the tranquility and the peacefulness that nature has to offer. Each visit we make a day trip to discover another northern Florida city. It's all good at Smoakhouse Ranch. If you want loud music and nigh clubing....look elsewhere. If you want a relaxing, peaceful and comfortable vacation....can't miss with The Smoakhouse Ranch.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvchiropractic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

My significant other and I have been going to the Smoakhouse ranch for probably 13 years. We used to stay with our young son who is now 23. This place is great with a lot of amenities. There are a lot of animals (Goats, Sheep, Donkeys and Cattle) here that we've watched grow up. They all have names and personalities. The Goats are amazing, they love to be hand fed and regard themselves as companion animals. The sheep were just lambs on our last visit and are now fully grown. They will probably become as tame as the goats soon. When the animals see you outside they call out to you in their individual languages that they want to visit and see if you have any treats for them. There is a lot to do without leaving the property. The ranch has over 50 acres of mixed use land. Tim maintains trails in the area known as Tim's woods. You can walk just about anywhere except in the critter grazing areas. We usually get quite a workout without leaving the ranch. The silence envelopes the ranch like a soft blanket. There are no commercial aircraft flying overhead, no traffic noise and of course no sirens. We live in South Florida and love to come up during the winter and experience some cool weather. It can get below freezing some mornings, but it usually warms up during the day. The cabins are large with full kitchens and lots of reading spaces. The ranch is close to numerous state parks and lovely springs. Tim and Emily are great hosts and go out of their way to make you feel at home. I would recommend this location to anyone who enjoys a quiet stay in a rustic rural environment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck_Lynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Received a gift certificate for one night at the Smoakhouse Ranch. When we made our reservation, the proprietors not only honored the discount rate for one night, Tim and Emily Smoak gave us the same rate for the second night. The Earl cabin was decorated throughout the cabin for Christmas and was a delight to drive up and see all the lights and the Christmas tree through the window. Missy did a wonderful job with the decorations. Diane and Scruffy the dog made sure we were welcomed at the cabin and provided a thorough tour of the cabin, explaining all the features available. This is a rustic cabin that allows you to unwind and relax while providing full kitchen, a claw foot bathtub upstairs, a full porch in front and a screened porch in back, perfect for morning coffee. There is satellite TV if you must have it. Also a nice selection of DVDs to borrow. The Smoakranch has cattle, goats, sheep, and donkeys that greet you each morning and afternoon, especially if you have the "cow candy" (feed pellets) bucket. Talk about a bunch of mooches!. Each morning you can nibble on provided pastries or have a bowl of cereal or if you like, truly farm fresh eggs and grits. The coffee pot got a work-out providing hot coffee, hot water for tea and hot chocolate. You can cook your own meals as there is a fully functional kitchen or travel a couple of miles to Branford and eat a Nell's Diner. Save room for the home made desserts offered during the Sunday brunch. If you want a getaway that lets you relax and get away from it all, this fills the bill. Being close to Branford allows you to visit the various natural springs, state parks and the Suwannee River.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank our_travels_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Me, my husband our teenage daughters love to stay at the Smoakhouse Ranch! It is a hidden jem in Florida's spring country. We have stayed 2 years in a row in the Earl cabin. And will probably stay a hundred more. There are so many springs in the area, we go tubing and swimming in just about all of them, and then come back for a relaxing evening in the cabin, where we play games, and make smores. Out girls love to feed the animals at the farm. Emily leaves "cow candy" on your door every morning so you can feed them. We would recommend this ranch to anyone who wants to get a way from the city and spent your summer relaxing in rural Florida!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooter125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Smoakhouse Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoakhouse Ranch

Address: 4321 SE County Road 500, Branford, FL 32008-5181
Location: United States > Florida > Branford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Branford
Price Range: $119 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smoakhouse Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoakhouse Ranch is a real working ranch, offering a relaxed introduction to the real Florida since 1994. Our accommodations range from two park models cabins, a two story historic cabin, or a full size 2/2 farmhouse---all country appointed, will full kitchens and bath. Feed our cows, goats, lambs, donkeys and chickens. 50+ acres and 8 area parks. The Ranch Experience! FBBI Palm award for many years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing