We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
180
88
15
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
180
88
15
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free ice cream room was clean turkey sausage breakfast bar yogurt free breakfast comfortable hotel sitting area would definitely stay here again third floor convenient location nice pool great place to stay we've stayed cleaning staff air conditioner tampa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 291 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

Despite being under renovation with an elevator out of service this hotel served us well. It is tucked away in a corporate industrial park so we felt very safe and it was clean (no mold in bathroom) and towels were a decent weight. I would recommend a hook on back of door beside one on wall as the curtain rod is higher than usual (not a bad thing but difficult for shorter people to hang a towel). Breakfast bar had great healthy options (turkey sausage and egg white veggie mini omelette, besides good yogurt options and oatmeal in addition to the regular scrambled eggs and sausage and pastries). Tea drinkers will like the hot water device (not a previously used for coffee pump pot which retains coffee taste). Go down early for breakfast before they run out and you have to wait for the next round if you are in on a holiday or graduation weekend. The back by breakfast bar has a nice outdoor seating area overlooking a pond (we saw some wildlife) besides the breakfast area and the lobby and was decorated in a contemporary style. Our room was spacious enough for the 3 of us and updated. The lights in the hall are very bright(good for security) with a light overhead each room door in hall that leaks under door at night(bad for those affected by light). I would choose this hotel again.More

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MrsBovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HIxBrandon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa-Brandon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello MrsBovie,
We are glad that you chose our hotel for your accommodation needs-we agree, the breakfast bar is very good! Our hotel is indeed located in a great section of Brandon- which makes our guest feel safe. It is also a great location for dinning and shopping. In regards to the towel hook, we appreciate the suggestion and will review this with our team. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Very comfortable hotel located close to the interstate. Shopping, restaurants very close in proximity. Clean quiet rooms with comfortable beds. The parking lot was brightly lighted. Nice landscaping around the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HIxBrandon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa-Brandon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Derric1963,
Thank you for providing us with a 4 out 5 score on your recent stay. It is always nice to hear when a guest feels comfortable and safe when staying with us. We hope you were able to get a little shopping and dinning done during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Under construction so the pool was not open. Disappointing. The outdoor area looked nice with trees and a pond otherwise. Close walk to many stores and restaurants. Friendly staff. Rooms towards the parking lot can hear the train a few times a night.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank davidbI5327ZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HIxBrandon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa-Brandon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello,
Our pool is now open for guests use. We are on the last leg of our renovations, with all of our public spaces open. Our hotel is definitely in a great location- plenty of dining and shopping to do. Please come back and see us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

Overall, I'm impressed with this Holiday Inn Express. Yes, it's under renovation, but that's a good thing. I applaud them for doing it. I received a call and an e-mail before my arrival letting me know about the renovation. Awesome customer service to manage my mindset. When I arrived we went to a guest room where the temporary check-in lobby was relocated. It was weird, but the employees made it awesome. Someone is managing the renovation correctly. Kudo's to them.

I stayed for three days and found that about half the employees need an attitude adjustment. Some cleaning staff are polite, enjoyable and say hello every time. Others ignore you, walk past while reading their phone and never smile. The breakfast team never even tried to be nice. I am not a fan of the food. The eggs were salty. The ham was deli slices. Oatmeal was sugar loaded Quaker Oat packets.

I would give this place another try. Someone knows what they are doing with the guest management during renovations. Half the employees know how to give great experiences. If the other half could pull their weight, this would be five stars. I'm not rating room quality and cleanliness because they were in the middle of a renovation. You can't be clean and actively renovating, but you can manage guest expectations, which they do very well.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CraftBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HIxBrandon, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tampa-Brandon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Craftbeers,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're glad to hear you were pleased with our service efforts even through our renovation period. We do apologize our staff didn't meet your expectations though! We strive to provide the best customer service no matter the department, and hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Best,
Jessica Raynal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

Needed a place to stay one night to catch a flight back north the next day. Yes this place is under major face lift. This is probably why the prices are cheap for the area. Updated rooms are super nice & obviously very clean. Beds are fantastic & hotel is quiet. Alittle tough to find for first timers. Staff is great. Typical HIE breakfast where quality is average or below but you can find something to eat. Breakfast quality is not the fault of the local hotels. It is what they are given. Several very good places to eat at this exit.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeBidcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HIxBrandon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa-Brandon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

BuckeyeBidcaller,

Thank you so much for your great review and feedback! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay despite our renovations, and hope you will come back and see us once our renovations are completed.

Best,
Jessica Raynal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews