We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by the choices”

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #59 of 303 Restaurants in Brandon
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprised by the choices”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

As far as the Gluten Free menu choices, I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with the options. The service was really good and everyone was satisfied with their meals. The atmosphere was nice, but it doesn't have the same feel that it use to a few years ago when Romano's first popped onto the scene. The music choice isn't the old jazzy, swing or classic Italian music that use to lend to the dining experience. Now, it is just a mesh of, just kind of...whatever. You almost feel as though you are listening to a radio station that doesn't have a genre. It was odd. But, overall it was good dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candylandhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nothing spectacularly good or bad - just average. Their service is a little slow at lunchtime. The menu seems to have all the same items it has always had, and they're the same items as just about every other Italian-inspired chain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank anromath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went in completely blind without knowing what to expect and what a great surprise!!! Had a pretty good Italian feel. Service was good and the crayons at the table were fun. The wine list was extraordinary and we settled in well. Appetizers were amazing!!! The grilled feta was divine. Good bread, too. The actual dinners were ok. I had a mixed platter which was plentiful and the pasta dish my girlfriend had, was spiced a little differntly, but still good. The overall experience totally made it worth while. We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat. Maybe for dinner it fills up a bit more and I can see it being quite busy with families and such.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Powisallgood919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Italian in Tampa”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good tasty with oversized portions and excellent service.
You may have to wait as usually crowed but once seated noise is not an issue

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a little slow on the service once it started getting busy”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Visiting friends in the area and decided to have dinner there. So with 3 boys in tow we hit it up at 5:30...the server was great with the boys giving them extra menus to color on as well as the paper covering on the table, which I have found to be great with the kids. The food came out and the server continued to be gracious and attentive until it got busy. My friend had to place a to go order for a salad. It seemed like it took 30 minutes for the kitchen to make it. Food was great but if it gets busy, expect service to slide.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Bixler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing