We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Behind the Fence Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brandon B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I would agree with other reviewers - if you need modern amenities, give this a miss. If you need peace and quiet and a home away from home, you cannot do any better. Larry and Carolyn are simply the best. We have already stayed there twice and if we need to get back to Brandon, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

for those who are into modern accommodation, I would say: give this place a miss. If however, you are looking for something of the beaten path, then this is the place to book. A stay in "Behind the fence" is more than a B&B experience: it is an encounter with a different lifestyle all together. The accommodation is basic but the atmosphere that comes with it, is more than overwhelming. Carolyn and Larry are both amazing people: the friendliness they offer is genuine, warm and unrestricted. I treasure the memories of my stay as they have left a lasting impression on me and I do wish them continued success. With very warm wishes from the Belgian lady, whom I am sure you will remember!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotteofvarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked based on rustic style in newer construction. The cabin was hot when we arrived and we were told there is no way tenants can control room/cabin temperatures. The owner said they would set the unit for cool while we were at dinner with relatives. Upon returning later that night there was no improvement and no air movement or fans. You can not leave doors open since this location is surrounded by ponds and the Florida mosquitoes will have a feast on you. We had to book a room at a hotel for the same night to get any sleep at all. On another note, you have to walk through the mud and weeds in the dark to get to the cabins. All in all, unless you really like authentic antique furniture I'd look for a different B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnEckhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

When we entered Behind the Fence Bed and Breakfast Inn it was like stepping back in time to the early 1800's in New England. I've been to museums furnished just like this wonderful place and I wasn't allowed to touch anything. Here, I was actually encouraged to touch anything I wanted to! Carolyn, our hostess, was so gracious, answered any questions we had and gave us a surprise tour of the whole house. We were very comfortable in the cabin next to the pool and enjoyed having a microwave, refrigerator and TV hidden behind an old door. Carolyn explained that when she gave tours to school children she didn't want them to see anything newer than herself so all modern conveniences were hidden from view. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, fruit, cereal, toast (with homemade jam), and delicious homemade cinnamon rolls. We stayed two nights and when we left we felt like we were leaving friends. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend Behind the Fence to anyone who enjoys history and antiques.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We immediately felt transported in time. So relaxing, just what we needed. We have already reserved a return getaway! We plan to bring books, relax, and hike nearby (Alafia River State Park). However, what we look forward to most, is just staying "home" at the inn, soaking up the atmosphere of another time. We stayed in one of the rooms near the pool. Both are beautiful - no frilly, cutesy stuff! Everything is of the era, or a very fine replica. Another review summed it up "...stepping back a couple centuries in time without sacrificing modern amenities..." We loved it and so enjoyed meeting and chatting with the wonderful innkeepers, Carolyn and Larry. Delightful!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel was fine, the pleasure of Carolyn and husband’s company was great, and the bonus of interesting guests from around the world made the visit most enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Very cozy and very 1800's. Carolyn and Larry are great hosts. We had a lot of laughs and told a lot of stories. We really enjoyed staying there. We loved Brandon too. Great restaurants, no need to go to Tampa. We had plans to go but did not. We were happy just staying at the B&B and in town. Good relaxing time. Thanks Carolyn and Larry for a great Thanksgiving weekend.
Kathy and James

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KATHALEENA6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Brandon
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon Regency Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Brandon
3.4 mi away
Brandon Motor Lodge
Brandon Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Brandon
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Behind the Fence Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Behind the Fence Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1400 Viola Dr, Brandon, FL 33511
Location: United States > Florida > Brandon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range: $79 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Behind The Fence Hotel Brandon
Behind The Fence b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing