We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bungalow Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“A Small Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The uniqueness of this property is what makes it so special and the people that work there do a good job and are very personel. You do not go there for the pool you go there because it is Florida sixty years ago with window units and the basic necessities. The units would be better if they had a larger refrig and microwave. We stayed in unit 104 (on the beach). I would not trade this unit for one with a reftrig and larger microwave. The view and the front porch along with good neighbors (haven't had a bad one in five stays). You go to this place because it is what it is. It is not perfect (we still live on planet earth) but boy oh boy is it a special place. Time stands still in a very beautiful way and you can appreciate who your are with and God's creation! Enjoy

  • Liked — Motif and location
  • Disliked — Kitchen inadequate
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CorvetteLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    107
    39
    28
    27
See reviews for
126
271
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
boca raton
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2007

this was our second stay at the Bungalow Beach Resort. it is the perfect place to go when you need to recharge your batteries. The Beach is great and never crowd. the staff is great.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinythebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2007

Recently returned from spending a few days (which included the 4th of July) at the Bungalow Beach Resort. The photos on their website really give a great representation of what you will find. Upon arrival, we found the staff to be most welcoming! The grounds were beautifully maintained and the bungalow we rented(poolside) was just adorable. All of the creature comforts included (coffee pot, refrig, micro etc) allowed us to relax and not be forced to take a drive for every meal. We loved the way they asked us to sit their wicker basket outside the door for replenishing (towels, shampoo etc). The basket was promptly filled and came with a bright, fresh hibiscus bloom attached.

The pool is on the small side...which I loved because it actually kept the noise to a minimum. Very clean and amazingly surrounded by huge palm trees. Our "trip" out to the beach from our bungalow included a short nature walk that wound through a grouping of cottages. The short walk pops out to a small fenced area where 8 double seat loungers (with umbrellas) are situated facing the Gulf. I caught up on my reading with hubby sleeping soundly next to me! A few steps further and your feet enjoy the white sugar sand that leads you to the Gulf (which we love because it is not as rough as the Atlantic). Very clean and uncrowded!

(Just a note... family members rented down the coast at this same time. They found the hotel management to be rude and intrusive-- spouting rules about this or that. We found absolutely the opposite! Staff would pass by with a friendly hello, remind us of fireworks etc.... discuss the weather... like a friendly acquaintance NOT a gatekeeper.)


During our stay we explored the area by watching a dolphin swim around the Historic Anna Maria Pier, ate dinner at some adorable restaurants (a short drive/walk away), (crab cakes at Rotten Ralph's!) watched a 4th of July parade pass in front of the resort and enjoyed fireworks on both the 3rd and 4th! Spectacular! Most certainly we plan to return! The whole feel of the place transported us back in time ~ when beachgoers owned/rented cottages (before timeshares and massive high rises) during the summer!

Tom and Sherry
Florida

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank MimiandPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Proximity to the beach was great. Facility needs updated and or repaired. Overall stay was great with the exception of a worn out and broken bath tub and cooking utensils were worn out.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kkmcclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

My husband and I recently spent two nights and 3 days midweek at the Bungalow Beach Resort to "get away" briefly from our rat race. We needed quiet, restful and comfortable time away and we really got it. Our bungalow had a king size bed with great linens and comfortable mattress. The view from our private porch of the Gulf was spectacular and we were literally 10 steps to the beach. Our toiletries, towels etc. were top knotch. We loved our little spot so much we did not want to leave long enough to go out to eat. We ended up buying just a few things to keep in the small refrigerator in the room and stayed in our little paradise. The covered lounge chairs were perfect to laze away the evenings. Gayle, our hostess was very nice and accommodating. I am ready to go back right now. I would highly recommend this small intimate resort to anyone looking for a little paradise.

  • Liked — Quaintness of the grounds
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CentralFloridaSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

The Bungalow Beach Resort is awesome! We were looking for a little, quiet get away and we found our spot. We walked out of our bungalow and stepped onto the soft white sand. A few more steps (Literally 8 - I counted!) and we were relaxing on the complimentary wood lounge chairs. The sunsets were great as we viewed them from our porch while sipping champagne and nibbling on appetizers that we made in our kitchen. The linens were nice, crisp, white, and new. Last year we stayed in a similar bungalow that had a window unit for the air conditioner. It was a little too noisy for us, but this year we upgraded to a bungalow with central air. So nice. I would definitely recommend the Bungalow Beach Resort for a quiet get away! I didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — the crisp white linens, the old Florida style bungalow
  • Disliked — the shower needed some updating
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

I give the Bungalow Beach Resort a three because it is in a nice location in terms of the beach, the beach is not a very busy one and the sand is really nice. We had a nice time. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adequate, and it had a nice little kitchette. We were surprised that the rooms were not made up daily though we were told when we arrived to call the front desk should we need to have the bed changed (due to the sand) other wise they would clean it on day 4, on the pm of day 5 I called and asked to have the room cleaned, and yes they did come in to change the bed only, however the bathroom wasn't touched in the 8 days we were there. And we had to ask a few times for toilet paper (how embarassing) They have you put your dirty towels in a basket and your garbage outside your door and they bring back cleaned towels (in the same basket) with a nice bow tied on top (the garbage bag), if you were a person who freaks out about something coming back in a dirty basket this isn't the place for you. I am so so about it and it did bug me some as it didn't seem like a really clean way to change the towels and I wondered how many people before me used the same basket. If they made up the rooms daily or every other day I would stay there again in a heart beat. For the price it should have cleaning included. We travel to lots of places and this is the first time that we have never had our room cleaned on a daily basis, even out of the US.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank fatemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Beach Resort

Property: Bungalow Beach Resort
Address: 2000 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a bygone era, the Bungalow Beach Resort has much to offer those seeking Anna Maria Island’s Premier Gulf Front Resort accommodations. Our gracious rejuvinated classic 1930′s island style resort is nestled amongst the white sand dunes, sea oats and swaying coconut palms of Anna Maria Island. Escape to our private beach area. Relax upon lounge chairs with umbrellas provided for your comfort. Enjoy the Aqua blue surf and refreshing tropical breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bungalow Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Hotel Beach
Bungalow Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing