We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty by the beach...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bungalow Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgton, Maine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty by the beach...”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at Bungalow Beach a couple of days ago. I really should have taken pictures of the bungalow, but my camera wasn't working. This room was filthy! The toilet was disgustingly dirty and stained. I understand that this was almost directly on the beach, but before a new person comes in, it may be nice to at least clean and sweep the floor. They were covered in sand. The ice bucket had no liner in it, and had drips of something that we couldn't identify on the inside and out. When sitting on the little veranda outside, we noticed that the there was a big chunk out of the ceiling, where there was extensive rot. The woman in reception really had no idea where anything was in the area. She suggested a restaurant that was under construction. I know that this property is old, but it really needs help. I love small hotels and this fit the bill. They're cute little places, but it was ridiculously expensive for old and a little too funky.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coneekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    107
    39
    28
    27
See reviews for
125
270
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I wanted to find a place, that was calm and relaxing to spend my boyfriends birthday. We needed a getaway from our crazy miami life, and this place was gorgeous. The sunsets are incredible, I could of sat in from of the water the whole day and be the happiest person. Even the sun rise is beautiful because the sky and water reflect each other. The rooms are just steps from the water, and the room was so cozy , cute , wouldn't mind living there.

I highly recommend this place as a romantic or couple getaway.

Room Tip: Our room had a cathedral roof which let the sunlight in and it gave the room a beautiful lighting fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danishowsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We absolutely loved our bungalow. Loved walking at night in search of conch shells- found so many! It was a bit chilly during our trip, so we did not get into water- but walking the beach was something I will always remember. A very low-key, peaceful place to enjoy! Can't wait for our return trip we already decided upon, in same room!

Room Tip: There are no bad room choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alitton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We very much enjoyed these intimate bungalows on the beach. Older Florida, clean and comfortable, a great experience for our family. The immaculately maintained 1930's property lends itself to relaxed comfort and a neighborly feel. No BIG CONDO here - clean, intimate, friendly, great beach. We loved it. Very comfortable bed. An ideal location, the free trolleys take you to all the businesses and restaurants, you can even walk back from Bradenton Beach center along the beach. Tip: We finally figured out that the decorative plates on the wall are not just for decoration you can eat off them. Enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHenzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Bungalow Beach despite some chilly weather. The spot is beautiful and the staff was very hospitable. It was nice to walk to restaurants nearby or take advantage of relaxing on the beachfront chairs to watch the sunset. We enjoyed the firepit in the courtyard as well as the grills provided to cook our dinner. The bed was comfortable and the bungalow was clean and well maintained. We met other guests that felt the same way we did. We will definitely return to this gem of a resort.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront king bed, you can't beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed over the New Years Eve week, and it took me a long time to find a place that would offer a quaint and cozy experience. I needed peace and quiet away from families with children and the "party crowd". I appreciated the fact that our bungalow had two bedrooms and two bathrooms... much needed for two women! It offered a small kitchenette with various utensils, and window units for all rooms, so we had individual control of our spaces. I really liked that it was within walking distance of Bridge St, and just steps from the beach. It is within a few hundred feet of a GREAT Indian restaurant (see my review), and the FREE trolley stop, which takes you to both ends of the Island. Also, they have a broom in the room so you can sweep up all that sand that you will bring in. Room service is non-intrusive, as you just leave your basket of used towels and a list of needed items out by your door and they quickly replace them and bring things you requested, such as more coffee.


I had issues with reservations and price hikes. I reserved this bungalow and was sent a confirmation of a price that had not yet been changed for their seasonal price increase. When my friend called just a few minutes later to pay her share, the price increased and they would not honor the original price quote, which did not make me happy. From experience I have learned to print out all communications, which I am glad I did, because upon check in, they tried to increase the price once again! Although they did not honor the original price quote, they did give us the SECOND price, plus 10% off since I have AAA.

I think this place was overpriced for what we got, and if I decide to go back to AMI, I will consider somewhere else.

Room Tip: the bungalows on the beach are worth it if you only need one room! the coast is on your patio! ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freebyrd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place is nice. It's small and has a low key feel to it. Which is just what I was looking for. The bungalow was really nice! It was a two bed, two bath. With a kitchenette. We weren't there much but to sleep, but it was nice having separate bedrooms. The property was nice and steps from the beach. There. Is a fire pit, but you have to buy your own firewood from publix. There are two grills next to the firepit, but I wouldn't use them. The utensils sat outside right next to the grill and They never moved, meaning they weren't cleaned or if they were, not well, and they looked grimy. I would buy or bring my own grilling utensils. Upon check in, the person at the front desk tried to tell us that we weren't quoted the NYE rate, and tried to change it. We've already paid for a night EACH when we made the reservation two months ago. Now they want to jack up the price on us at the last minute? We were not happy about them trying to do that. We did get the rate we were quoted from the owner though. (My friend had printed out the email confirmation)
I will say this, the day the temp went down over 20 degrees, my heater in my room went out. They don't have a full time maintenance person, but they did get him and a new heater in my room on the same day. The girl at the desk, (young, with brown hair) even stopped by with a little plug in heater so my room wouldn't be cold until. The repair guy got there. That was nice of her.

Room Tip: There isn't any daily maid service, if you need clean towels you put them in a basket outside yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Beach Resort

Property: Bungalow Beach Resort
Address: 2000 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a bygone era, the Bungalow Beach Resort has much to offer those seeking Anna Maria Island’s Premier Gulf Front Resort accommodations. Our gracious rejuvinated classic 1930′s island style resort is nestled amongst the white sand dunes, sea oats and swaying coconut palms of Anna Maria Island. Escape to our private beach area. Relax upon lounge chairs with umbrellas provided for your comfort. Enjoy the Aqua blue surf and refreshing tropical breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bungalow Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Hotel Beach
Bungalow Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing