We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for a place RIGHT on the beach!”
Review of Club Bamboo South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Bamboo South
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best value for a place RIGHT on the beach!”
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The hotel is literally right on the beach! That was definitely the best part. We stayed in the south building, and our balcony overlooked the gulf. Nice room, clean & comfortable, didn't really use the kitchenette but it was nice and was stocked with dishes, silverware, pots & pans, etc.

The bathroom was cramped & laid out poorly, the sink was behind the door so you had to come in, close the door, then use the sink. I was also aggrivated by the front desk clerk when I asked if we could check out 1 hour late. Since I only saw 1 or 2 other occupied rooms in the whole place (it was 2 days after Labor Day), I thought it would be a no- brainer. However, she said the room was reserved, someone else was checking in and she couldn't let us stay that one extra hour. I wanted to swim in the gulf more!!! On the other hand, she did help me find directions to a place in St. Petersburg, so I appreciated that little extra help. Overall, I must say it was the best value for a hotel *on* the water. (P.S. Anna Maria has virtually no nightlife this time of year, but we had a great time closing down the Schnitzel Haus with some other German beer lovers.)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjstyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
39
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We chose Club Bamboo for our 30-person family reunion. Each family made its own reservation either through Booking.com or Orbitz. Both were much cheaper than the hotel's internet rate and the hotel did not offer a group discount.

Hotel is right on the beach, with beautiful white sand. Plenty of free parking in front or in back. Rooms are around a central pool area. First floor of rooms is actually on the second floor of the hotel. Ground level is under the first level of rooms, with lots of round tables and chairs, great for relaxing out of the sun, enjoying the gulf breeze, and being able to jump right in the pool or walk right out to the beach.

We chose a beachfront corner room for our family room. Rooms were nicely laid out with lots of conveniences. Kitchen was small, but had full refrigerator, microwave and toaster oven. No dishwasher or regular oven, which did make some meal prep and cleanup a bit more challenging. Maid service was excellent. We needed lots of towels and got them right away.

Overall, a very nice place on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonboatFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

So if you know anything about the area, the beaches are great! What more can I say? The water was wonderful, found 50 sand dollars, etc... Now, the hotel, yes it's dated, but it's a great location. The room layout is very strange. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with pullout couch and small kitchen. When you walk in the front door you almost trip over the bed... but remember, it's right on the water. The pool was nice, but soooo noisy all night long. Each night there were people screaming and partying around the pool until 12:30-1:00 AM and it echoes as the pool is in the middle, surrounded by all the rooms. But we had a blast and slept enough hours in the night! Greatest spot ever? NO... worst spot ever? NO
Recommend this? Depends on the reason and people going!

Oh one more thing, the staff were GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfincb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We did not choose this resort. A family member made the reservations for us but we trust his judgment. Check-in was very strange, we were given a key for the south building, just down the street. The first room had not been cleaned since the previous occupants left. We went back to the desk and they went to check it out and saw that it was a problem. The walkway lights were out because of a power failure but that was quickly resolved. They gave us a new room and it was really beautiful, obviously very recently remodeled. There was a very comfortable king bed, a chair that converted to a single bed, table, etc. The kitchenette was very nice, with a granite counter and stainless steel appliances. It was fully equipped with dishes, silverware, pots and pans. The bathroom was small but adequate, with a combo tub/shower. The balcony overlooked the pool and had a nice table and chairs. We arrived at night, used the pool (had it to ourselves the entire weekend -- remember the SOUTH building) and went to bed. In the morning, opening the drapes was amazing. The view was truly spectactular. Beautiful turquoise water, white sand, just steps from the pool area... just what we were looking for. There are chaises for use on the beach or around the pool, they only ask that the chaises be pulled back up after use. The beach was immaculate, quiet, and comfortable. One odd thing was the fishermen casting into the Gulf regardless of swimmers nearby. Overall, our stay was excellent. There are some covered parking spaces which really helped keep the car cool, though there are obviously not enough for all of the rooms. Checkout was just as odd as check-in. There was confusion because several rooms were booked at the same time and the extremely laid-back guys at the desk never could get a handle on who was in which room. In the end, the bill was accurate and all was well. One thing I didn't like was that the relative who booked the rooms had to pay a $200 deposit. I would think that a credit card number would suffice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wptaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
184 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We booked our studio through Vacationrentals.com and we were pleased once again. I will admit to being a little apprehensive about staying at a renovated hotel, but it was not an issue once we arrived.

This being our first week vacation without our now grown sons, we were looking forward to a great week and super accommodations. We were not disappointed.

The studio had a small kitchen with two burners, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot (a must) but no oven. There was a television in the kitchen with French doors that closed. One small bathroom with a tub/shower was sufficient. A living area with a bed, couch, television and table made up the remainder of the studio. Although there was not a lanai, there was a small guard rail of sorts that allowed the sliding glass door to be opened and gave the impression that the whole room was a lanai. I was not sure I would like that...but it was ok.

There was a small pool, and underneath the building were a number of table and chairs, barbecue grills and shower. There were lounge chairs for renters use. There was also a roof top area that was equipped with tables and ashtrays. Although we do not smoke, we spent sometime on the roof when it was unseasonably cold one day!

The staff was extremely helpful and even allowed me to check in on the computer in their office for our outgoing flight home.

This was a wonderful accommodation for us and we would go back again....

  • Liked — Being directly on the beach of course!
  • Disliked — the lack of a lanai
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tchrmom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Stayed here for a w/e in march. We stayed in unit # 217
Its a studio which is decorated really nicely, with a small kitchenette. We really enjoyed our stay the place was very clean and the beach view was lovely. We ate at Cafe on the beach for breakfast and lunch which was great. We also stayed in Sarasota for 2 nights before, but we really enjoyed Bradenton beach and Club Bamboo more.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank blondieoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

My husband, my two sons (3 and 1 year), and I stayed 2 nights at Club Bamboo. After reading that this was previously an Econo Lodge, I became quite nervous. I grew up in Bradenton, and we have a broad range of criteria for the places we stay on the beach. However, Club Bamboo met almost all of them. Nothing terribly fancy, but...It is RIGHT on the beach, and the beach was not at all crowded when we were there. We got a suite which had a seperate bedroom (with a door) and 2 bathrooms...essential when traveling with kids. There was a small kitchenette. The room itself was very big, and nicely decorated...again, nothing fancy, but nice. We could watch the sunsets from our room, but there were no balconies. Better to watch the sunset from the beautiful beach anyway! There was a pool. The only restaurant close by, Sharky's, was closed during our stay. However, there are plenty of other restaurants in close driving distance, or there is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel. There is also a Circle K right across the street which is very conveinent. The price was VERY reasonable for the size room and the location. Not somewhere I would stay for a week, but I would definitely book it again for a long weekend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a beachfront suite
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nationole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.1 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
3.0 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bamboo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo South

Property: Club Bamboo South
Address: 2412 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2240 (Formerly Club Bamboo Resorts)
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Bamboo South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new managment.Club Bamboo South - Where relaxation and fun begin! We are located directly on the Gulf of Mexico on Anna Maria Island, Florida. We are in the village of Bradenton Beach, just a mile North of Longboat Key, and close to all that Sarasota and Bradenton have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Club Bamboo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Hotel Bradenton Beach
Econolodge Bradenton Beach
Club Bamboo South Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing