We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Post Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Post Motel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Nice homey atmosphere. Quiet. Friendly.would come back again. Kitchenette in room. Lounge chairs outside and bbq grill. Even a friendly visiting egret! Thank you. recommend visiting blue martini.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mulberry, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hubby & I needed a quiet weekend to ourselves but didn't want to go too far from home. Bradenton Beach on Ana Maria Island is only about an hour away and we had stayed at the Pelican Post a few years ago and decided to go back again. We were not disappointed we had a nice clean room,and of course great location from the pier to fish.The only con was could'nt figure out how to get wifi and no one was in office anytime we went by there. But that was ok because we were there to relax afterall. A big thumbs up to Pelican Post once again. Also there is free trolley on main road a block away that will take you all over Ana Maria Island, so you never have to use your car till you are ready to go home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bignanavc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My daughter & I needed a place that was economical, close to the beach and also to my parent's house. The Pelican Post is an older building, motel style, but kept up well and very clean. It is a nice quiet location and just a short walk to the beach and other places. If you are looking for super fancy, this is not for you, but if you are looking for an economical, quiet, charming place close to the beach, this place is for you! We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimb1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Fl
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We live 30-40 minutes from the beaches and like to stay overnight once in awhile to enjoy the beach and area . 2 other properties we stayed at before were not avail for this one night. I will not give a bad review just because a place is economical. But it is what it is..economical. It is an older and basic facility. It does have a great location, across the street from a fab beach and in walking distance to shops and eateries. We stayed in a small suite (room), however the interior decorating shows it.s age, so although very clean, it lacks any updating. Everything fuctioned, but we could barely tolerate the soft squeaky bed, and the bathroom is quite small. My last issue would be the very bright lights outside of the rooms, so that even with the blinds closed it is hard to sleep. On a more postitive note, we were checked in promptly and the hostess was very nice. We paid a small fee for late check out which is something not all places can or will do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cschli8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We recently stayed here for a night while on the island for visiting and relaxation. This is an older building, motel style, but lovingly maintained and obviously cared about. There are some really beautiful old tropical plants/trees on the property that add to the ambience. If you're looking for something trendy and fashionable, this isnt it, but if you want a place to stay that is pretty quiet, walking distance from a lot of Bradenton Beach things to do, and quaint and a little retro, this would be a good choice. The rooms are pretty spacious for the price, and very clean. Our sole complaint/concern was that the bars on the main street are open late (good) but one of them seemed to have extremely loud music that went on well past last call (bad) that you could hear at least 3 blocks away. We dont really mind that sort of thing, it didnt ruin our stay at all, and it is certainly not the hotel's fault, but just a head's up if you're sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShameTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

wife and stayed here 05/04- for the weekend, had a great time, close to everything, beach,bars,the moose,quiet, quaint, a great value,will stay here again, if we can get reservations, Nicole was a great host !!!!!

Room Tip: love #6, or 7 on the end, wouldlike to rty one of the two separate buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Pelican Post. I had such a nice time there. The accomodations were exactly as pictured and were very comfortable. I had a mini-apartment and some friends joined me for a couple of days and we all slept very well in the beds. It's in a great location - one street over from Bridge Street with all its shops & restaurants, also plenty of good food on Gulf Drive. I thought it was a great value for a good price. I will definetely be back next year!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
1.4 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
3.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.1 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Post Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Post Motel

Property: Pelican Post Motel
Address: 202 1st St N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Post Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Post is just what you need for an easy, relaxed and affordable beach vacation! Just 150 steps from the gorgeous Gulf beach in the charming little town of Bradenton Beach on Anna Maria Island, you'll have a pleasant ground floor studio, apartment, or suite near not only the beach, but the fishing pier, and little shops and restaurants. You can count on a nice, clean, cozy room or apartment, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pelican Post Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Post Hotel Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Motel Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing