We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, nice location, low key”
Review of Pelican Post Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Post Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great value, nice location, low key”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We recently stayed here for a night while on the island for visiting and relaxation. This is an older building, motel style, but lovingly maintained and obviously cared about. There are some really beautiful old tropical plants/trees on the property that add to the ambience. If you're looking for something trendy and fashionable, this isnt it, but if you want a place to stay that is pretty quiet, walking distance from a lot of Bradenton Beach things to do, and quaint and a little retro, this would be a good choice. The rooms are pretty spacious for the price, and very clean. Our sole complaint/concern was that the bars on the main street are open late (good) but one of them seemed to have extremely loud music that went on well past last call (bad) that you could hear at least 3 blocks away. We dont really mind that sort of thing, it didnt ruin our stay at all, and it is certainly not the hotel's fault, but just a head's up if you're sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShameTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    32
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

wife and stayed here 05/04- for the weekend, had a great time, close to everything, beach,bars,the moose,quiet, quaint, a great value,will stay here again, if we can get reservations, Nicole was a great host !!!!!

Room Tip: love #6, or 7 on the end, wouldlike to rty one of the two separate buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Pelican Post. I had such a nice time there. The accomodations were exactly as pictured and were very comfortable. I had a mini-apartment and some friends joined me for a couple of days and we all slept very well in the beds. It's in a great location - one street over from Bridge Street with all its shops & restaurants, also plenty of good food on Gulf Drive. I thought it was a great value for a good price. I will definetely be back next year!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This quaint motel is great for families of all sizes. It is located just a few hundred yards off Bradenton beach. It has several different rooms to suit most needs, and has a yard where the kids can play and the adults can gather. The yard is great for grilling, and a grill is provided at no extra charge. Some of the rooms have kitchens, so you can save money by doing some of your own cooking. The rooms are clean and efficient, and everything you need to relax. If you want to go to the beach, it is an easy stroll to the beautiful soft sand, and rolling waves of Bradenton beach. It is hardly ever crowded, and there are no spring breakers makeing a lot of noise. This motel is an affordable place to stay for as long as you want.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joemoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Yes, it's a block from the beach and the staff was nice. However, it's about all I can say that is decent about this establishment. Bed was uncomfortably hard (no pillow-top to be found, unlike reported elsewhere on this site), sheets were old & ripped (but clean), pillows as thin as the sheets, headboard was coming apart, missing blinds slats, etc.
To add to our stay, a group of non-stop drinking travelers staying in the next rooms set up in the courtyard into the wee hours of the morning on our first night there. Thank goodness I was able to use the "fan" function on the A/C unit to somewhat drown out their loud party. When they were asked to keep the noise down around 1:30 a.m., it lasted all of 5 minutes.

I've stayed else where in Bradenton and Siesta Key for the same price with larger and much more well-kept rooms. I will make sure that we stay there next time, as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oot&Aboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The Pelican Post is the perfect place to unwind. Wonderful setting - close to the beach and the bay. Clean, well maintained and affordable rooms. As always, we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff who were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We spent most mornings enjoying the sunshine and relaxing in the garden under the palm trees. Great choice of restaurants within walking distance.

Already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Stayed in several different layouts - loved them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have stayed her for years, always clean, always affordable. I also recommend it to anyone headed to Bradenton. Only about a 3 minute walk to the beautiful Gulf
Coast beaches!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
1.4 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
374 reviews
3.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Post Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Post Motel

Property: Pelican Post Motel
Address: 202 1st St N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Post Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Post is just what you need for an easy, relaxed and affordable beach vacation! Just 150 steps from the gorgeous Gulf beach in the charming little town of Bradenton Beach on Anna Maria Island, you'll have a pleasant ground floor studio, apartment, or suite near not only the beach, but the fishing pier, and little shops and restaurants. You can count on a nice, clean, cozy room or apartment, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pelican Post Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Post Hotel Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Motel Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing