We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great views food needs some work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cast and Cage Restaurant - CLOSED

Cast and Cage Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great views food needs some work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great view of water boats and even Sarasota indoor and out. Family fish place on pier. It is high priced for quality of food and little attention to details, empty salt pepper and napkins. Fish and chips far better at Au Shucks on Cortez. It does have potential they need to scrub it down, improve the food and offer coupons. They seem to care and asked for input so.....
I will give it another chance but not my first or second choice at this time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dicksmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    16
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were in the mood for a casual lunch on the water and took a chance on this place. SO glad we did! The food was fantastic (the Key Lime Pie was one of the best we've ever had), the seafood chowder was great. One of our entrees came out slightly later than the others (not that much later) and the waiter did not charge us for it - which was lovely but completely unnecessary!

Owners are ex-military. Staff was great -- our waiter Johnny was knowledgeable about the menu and friendly.

So happy to find a new place to stop! (We came by boat and used the dock there)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaunAndGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I can only speak to lunch as we didn't do dinner. Decent atmosphere for a pier restaurant. Much smaller than what I had I imagined. Sign says "Please wait to be seated", after 5 minutes "Oh you folks sit wherever you'd like". Ok. We chose to sit inside since today's midday sun really turned it up outside today. A table near the window for 4. Waitress came over sucking her teeth/poor attitude since the guy that told us to seat ourselves hadn't given us menus. Not sure why it seemed a problem for her as there were only 2 other tables. PLEASE NOTE: they do not have a liquor license yet and only have beer and wine. (Wish we had known that). 3 wines and a beer later, we ordered fried pickles. I will say those were really good. Lunches were chicken fingers and steak fries, Caesar salad with blackened grouper, grilled mahi sandwich and a grouper sandwich. All of us were ok with our meals. Just ok. But the fish was fresh. Didn't knock me off my feet, pickles were best part of the meal. Could I recommend this place based on my lunch experience? Certainly not. Great view, cute place but I won't be going back. Too many other options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

While vacationing in Florida recently, was on Anna Maria Island for 2 days and our last morning we stopped in here to get a bite before our snorkel trip. The service was great, we sat outside and the view was refreshing. They have a good menu and everyone (party of 5) enjoyed the food. Definitely recommend this place and I will return if in the area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHANE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location- Average otherwise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Good location out on the pier with a good view of the intracoastal traffic. As others have noted, it is a new restaurant with extensive upgrades and much cleaner than Ralphs. Nothing special food-wise, but a good solid place to stop and watch the traffic, pelicans, and get a taste of the Island live. {robably fun for kids if you had any. Hard to find parking, but worth the walk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OsageHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cast and Cage Restaurant also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing