We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Gulf Drive Cafe

Gulf Drive Cafe
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food was terrible the wings were undercooked and the chicken fingers overcooked.... The bar was fantastic people friendly... Just don't eat there...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaywanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    258
    176
    150
    248
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect beach bar w/music open to ocean breezes”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great food, good service at both the bar and restaurant. However, smoking is allowed at the outside bar (Don't know how that is allowed since the bar serves a full menu.) Can be bothersome when the breezes blow your way. Enjoy live music and watch glorious sunsets!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CELESTE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice overall experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Visiting family wanted to see beach quickly. Nice variety of food, reasonable service, and had no surprises. Good variety for everyone. Not our usual time, type of visit- but nice overall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OsageHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

During previous visits to AMI, this was one of our favorite restaurants, one we would visit 2-3 times during our week long stay. This year we were so disappointed in the quality of our food that we did not return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pdillon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“View doesn't compensate for food/service”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been to this restaurant for breakfast & dinner and although they have a fairly extensive menu, the food is only average. Breakfast is their best meal if you don't mind waiting; it took nearly 30 minutes for our food to arrive, which is much longer than any other breakfast place on the island. At dinner, the server spilled dressing from my salad all over my right shoulder/right arm and with nothing more than a "We're sorry" from the manager (after I sought him out) and an offer for me to bring the shirt back in the morning and they would launder it, the server (no apology from her) still charged us for the salad! The restaurant seats a lot of people (they do wedding receptions in the Tiki Hut area) yet they only have a single bathroom for each gender which means standing in line most of the time! Was reluctant to go back after the long wait at breakfast but thought we would give them another chance and went back for dinner.... big mistake there and we won't be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshaM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Drive Cafe also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Gulf Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing