We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the Sand”
Review of Gulf Drive Cafe

Gulf Drive Cafe
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
218 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Sand”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Based on some old reviews from guide books, we went here for breakfast on our first morning in Florida. The food was average although, in fairness, it's not easy to rave about a couple of over easy eggs, bacon and toast. The portions were more than adequate and the service was prompt and friendly. the best part of the experience was dining outside with a view of the Gulf and the beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    259
    176
    150
    248
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beach food and service”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went here on a weekday afternoon for lunch. This place is located right on the Guld of Mexico. The setting is spectacular. We were greeted at the front by a friendly lady who said we had 30-45 minutes to wait for a table for two. We were given a pager. We moved on down to the bar where we had seats overlooking a patio with tables and The Gulf in the background. Beautiful. A middle aged female bar tender eventually came over and seemed confused when I asked about one of her draught beers. She didn't know if it was a lager, ale, pilsner, etc. Then she said, rather doubtfully that it was an ale. I asked for and got a taste. It was an ale and I ordered it. It's rare that I would see a bar tender move so slowly. My wife and I joked that she must be a relative of the owners.
As we sat we could see two tables that were unoccupied on the patio. We assumed there wasn't enough staff to service all tables. 35 Minutes later, were seated at one of the empty tables!! We did not observe any additional staff.
Our server appeared and we ordered drinks and food. The prices are in line with other beach front restaurants but the portions are much more generous. I had the fish and chips which were excellent and my wife had the grouper which was not only delicious but almost more than she could eat. I have heard locals say the quality is not consistent here, but our food was perfect.
Incidently, we laughed when we were told that the female bar tender is the owner!
A great place for ambience. If you want to sit outside, you will be in the sun. There is seating in the shade at the bar and on an enclosed sun room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becks_Drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigander
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Little Place Turns into Big Place”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Little nostalgic for the cool little beachfront breakfast/lunch place that used to be in this spot (you can still see old place on the north side). Nice setting with palapa bar/restaurant. Loved the 'surfboard' shaped table overlooking the beach. Menu, food and price like most in area only waterfront/sunset place other that The Beachouse on Bradenton Beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGGKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Bad food & bad service with a nice view. Nothing to add to that. Unfortunately there's only so many options in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtmck56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
525 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

No complaints, really. Nice place to hang out on the beach and brag a couple glasses of wine. We weren't really thrilled by the selection of wines. But hey, for a place to sit with your honey and watch the water and the sunset, it's great

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bagnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Drive Cafe also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Gulf Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing