We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast stop”
Review of Gulf Drive Cafe

Gulf Drive Cafe
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good breakfast stop”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We met friends here on a rainy morning for breakfast. The weather forced us to dine on the 'back porch' instead of the deck overlooking the water. Food selection was quite good. My husband ordered the crepes which were huge and delicious. Having to sit inside, it was extremely noisy and ever though we had a round table for the 8 of us, it was very difficult to carry on a conversation. But on a sunny day, this would be the place to go to sit outside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WYWoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    264
    185
    153
    252
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go for the view only”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place has promise when you see it - perfect beach location and parking across the road. However, we tried to get a drink at the bar while we waited for a table and the bar staff were the rudest I have ever encountered anywhere. They completely ignored my girlfriend and I - in fact they seemed to go out of their way to be rude. When we were finally seated after a long wait (and yet tables outside were empty) the service was non existant. We got our seats and a menu and then we just waited. The only reason we didn't walk out was because we were on our way to the airport and didn't have time to start looking elsewhere. There is no excuse for such bad service and rudeness when you are supposed to be in the "service" industry. The food was very medicore to poor. All in all, don't waste your time. We are returning to Anna Maria Island in the future - BUT WE WON"T RETURN HERE.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank breijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eat breakfast with the dolphins”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had great service, good food, and a wonderful view. We have eaten here several times, and have never been disappointed. On morning, while enjoying breakfast, a group of dolphins cam swimming by

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother with this place.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I had breakfast at the Gulf Drive recently. We were seated in the indoor dining area because it was a chilly morning. The indoor dining area seems to also be the delivery entrance because we watched as dolly after dolly of frozen food was wheeled through on the way to the kitchen. The indoor dining area is also where 2 large coolers were stored. The doors on the coolers were so marked up with greasy finger prints they were one large greasy smudge! Both rest rooms open directly into the indoor dining area. Tables, folding chairs and miscellaneous supplies were also stored in the indoor dining area. Our table was so lopsided we had to fold a napkin and put it under one of the legs in an effort to balance the table. Never again, who run a business this way? Do yourself a favor and stay away from this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanGIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a waste”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Althought it promises a great sunset view and lots of TV's to watch a game; this resturant is way over promised. We had a dozen oysters and a plate of natchos - both were awful. Most of the oysters were smaller than a nickel anf the largest was the size of a quarter -- very disappointing for $20! The natchos were as bad for $15. We couldn't wait to leave.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank time2unwined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Drive Cafe also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Gulf Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing