We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Macadamia Nut Grouper Rocks”
Review of Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill - CLOSED

Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small family owned and operated restaurant that specializes in French cuisine. We are from Aix en Provence in the South of France where we had a restaurant for many years. Bertrand is the chef and works only with locals markets, and fresh produces. He makes fresh bread everyday. And we also have wonderful French wines. Each weak a new specialty for your pleasure. Come to see us.... Bon appetit!!!!!
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Macadamia Nut Grouper Rocks”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The grouper was excellent, large portion, tasted great. One of the best grouper dishes I have had this trip. The conch fritters were just ok. The coconut shrimp was good. Staff was excellent, spent some time explaining each dish. We had a good time and would go back. Lots of great flavors in their food and various dipping sauces for a good variety depending on your taste.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flhti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    23
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Macadamia nut grouper was beyond excellent! First time here, but definitely will not be the last! Looks on the outside may be a bit deceiving, but the food was the best we have had on the island!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krisstag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We really loved the Banana Cabana. The atmosphere was warm, and the people were outstanding. We had the grouper sampler and it was unbelievable. This is definitely be a place we visit often.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beardstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I dropped in on a Saturday afternoon. Not too many customers which was fine with me. Ordered a wrap and it was delicious. The bartender/waitress was very friendly and I enjoyed visiting with her. I will go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service and Food Quality Off”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This used to be our FAVORITE restaurant. Went there this past weekend and what a difference. We were the only people in the restaurant, )besides a few people at the bar) at 5 pm yet it took 1/2 hour to get an order of soup that was part of a special price fix promotion for local restaurants. In the interim, chef sent out some specialty soup that we did not order - a freebie. Waitress delivers it, sees there is only one spoon and two of us and says 'Gee, too bad you did not get two spoons with the soup' and then turns around and goes back to eating something at the bar. When the other soup that was ordered was delivered, she never asked if we needed another drink - one glass was empty. I had to get up and go over to the bar and order it while the waitress just stood their continuing to eat. BTW, the owner of the restaurant was standing there too. When our entrees were served, mine was barely warm. While we were finishing up, the owner was busy counseling a local 'entertainer' who was outside the restaurant playing music for tips about leaving empty beer cans (dozens of them) outside - of course we were in earshot of that discussion - person was obviously intoxicated but they served him a beer anyway. Needless to say, we will not be going back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetMOdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing