We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!”
Review of Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill - CLOSED

Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a small family owned and operated restaurant that specializes in French cuisine. We are from Aix en Provence in the South of France where we had a restaurant for many years. Bertrand is the chef and works only with locals markets, and fresh produces. He makes fresh bread everyday. And we also have wonderful French wines. Each weak a new specialty for your pleasure. Come to see us.... Bon appetit!!!!!
Rockville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Been coming here for years but tonight discovered it's been under new management for about a year...all I can say is wow! Best macademia nut grouper sandwich on the island, by far. Shrimp appetizers (2 kinds) so tasty;also homemade chips and salsa. Sweet potato fries excellent. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    23
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here. I had the Drum Pan Chicken and my husband had the ribs. Both meals were very good and the servings were very generous. We had enough for lunch the next day. The owners were very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksbluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Funky, friendly, flavorful”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Much of AMI food is curiously bland, so Banana Cabana stands out easily. Our table gave high marks to the crab cakes, gator swamp chili, and coconut shrimp. We came in mid-afternoon, had the place mostly to ourselves, and the bartender made us feel like regulars. Worth two visits or more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank i0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a very good evening, lively atmosphere and good music.The service was really good and very friendly.Lots of different food on the menu, we had the ribs which were delicious.We shall return!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cassie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fun low key great food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Small family owned so the owners cook the food and work the place. This means the food is good, no fly by night teens cooking. And best place for a fish taco on the island, not fried like every place else does. Get the fish tacos, very good When all the other restaurants are crazy busy, come here, you wont go regret. Glad I stopped in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nthemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing