We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast...and try the mango smoothies.”
Review of The Island Spice - MOVED

The Island Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Indian Cuisine
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast...and try the mango smoothies.”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We enjoyed a great breakfast at Island Spice. My grandson wanted a fried egg sandwich, which wasn't on the menu. They created a double decker masterpiece for him. My granddaughter and I had stopped in the evening before for dessert. They told her she needed to try the mango smoothies, and made her a sample to try. She loved it so much, she had one for breakfast the next day. My eggs Benedict were great, and so were the hash browns. I'm sure the other meals are equally good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    80
    18
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not the usual Florida Resaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Island Spice has been opened on Gulf Drive north Bradenton Beach for about the past month and is within easy reach of Longboat Kay, Holmes Beach and Anna Maria. There are not many Indian food places in the area and it has that real curry smell as you walk through the door. Manchester England curry mile, if you know what I mean.
Island Spice is open for breakfast,lunch and dinner and therefore cannot rely on curry so the menu is a mix of American essentials with a local mix with a carry out and delivery service. The place has a cafe atmosphere but is extremely clean and tidy with good service if a little slow since everything seems to be cooked to order but if your on holiday
why rush.
We have been three times since opening with spouse and friends and really enjoyed curry main courses on each visit, you are asked when ordering how hot you require your dish to be. We all enjoyed our meals with clean plates and no complaints.
The curry menu might not be as extensive for the committed but lets go and encourage them to develop it.
All the best to Island Spice.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Average Indian fare”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nice to have some diversity in taste. We liked the naan and the the tikka masala was average.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank manymoonsMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Finally! Local Indian restaurant and it's really good!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Did midweek takeout to try this new restaurant. Samosa starter was yummy. Non veg combo was delicious and enough for lunch tomorrow. If you're use to driving south to Sarasota to get your fix give this place a try. I think you'll like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank estroili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Been on AMI for 3 weeks now, eating out once a day, this is the most wonderful meal yet.”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

For lunch My mom said the crispy Mac n cheese was scrumptious, my dad said the Apple Cobbler Pancakes were light, fluffy , and flavorful. My husband and I shared the Aloo Gobi and Chana Masala which were wonderful. We will be returning for dinner and breakfast

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cpgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Spice also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing