We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one problem..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tortuga Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only one problem..”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall this was a very nice hotel in a very nice spot. We stayed in a 2 bedroom in Palm Court North. The kitchen is spotless and reasonably well stocked for cooking. The grounds are well kept and the front office staff (and the young lady at the Petit Cafe) are all extremely nice and helpful.
So my only issue? SMOKING. When I'm at a pool with my kids the last thing I want is to smell the smoke from a bunch of chain smoking guests. Kind of takes away from the charm! I hate to say it because everything else was so nice but I would think twice about staying here again unless they made the pool a non smoking area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ebmwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    146
    43
    19
    11
See reviews for
384
330
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Once again, we stayed in the Garden Apts, fully appointed condos, so beautifully decorated a la Tommy Bahama island style, very spacious with a full kitchen, dining area, living room, and jacuzzi tub. We were welcomed back with a lovely note from the management, a nice touch. Everyone on the staff is very friendly, professional, and genuine. There are two pools, one semi-private right outside our door in our building. They have almost completed a big gazebo on the beach, perfect for a romantic rendezvous or a big party. The location is perfect if you want to bike or drive up and down the coast, to Longboat Key, for example. There is plenty of covered, complimentary parking. There are wonderful restaurants and bars within walking distance, too. There is a little gift shop and light bites spot on the property. Only issue was a very loud wedding party, there for the two nights we were there, in the building across from us. Unfortunately, there is no staff on at night, so, had to deal with it ourselves, but, not awful. Returning in February, we will be staying in the Palm Court South, want to see what that's like, but, you cannot beat the Garden Apts, for romantic getaway or for the whole family. Beautiful sunset spot!

Room Tip: LOVE the Garden Apts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for four nights the week before Christmas, and had a wonderful stay overall. I've been coming to AMI my whole life, but having to move out of the state we now have to find places to stay when we come down for vacation. This is our first experience with this resort. We stayed in a Palm Court South Hotel Room, on the second floor. It was very quiet, though I don't think they had a lot of people staying there at the moment (the "flock" was not in full swing yet.) The room had all the basics plus some, and was clean. It was nicely decorated, and seemed fairly up-to-date. There was free wi-fi and phone service (cell phone signals are weak on the island). There was a mini-fridge and microwave, but there were also plates, utensils, and glasses to use. The bed was okay, the mattress was a little firm for my preference but not unreasonable. There were lots of pillows to choose from. My only suggestions for improvement, which are extremely minor, are to find a way to hang the "do not disturb" sign as the door handle was not a knob (maybe I missed a hook or something else?) and to invest in some larger bath towels (currently has the old style small, white hotel towels).

The property itself was great, with the pool and location/access to the beach. The beach chairs were on the beach and easy to access. You can pick-up towels from the front desk each day. There was a covered deck with tables/chairs on the beach as well, if you want a little shade. It is a good location on the island as well, and within walking distance to some of our favorite restaurants. The front desk was very friendly during check-in and check-out. May try a different category of room next time, but would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxbecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Tortuga is a lovely place with access to both the beach and the bay. Unfortunately, our stay was only for one night, as we were attending a wedding. It has a variety of room options, and we chose a studio. It is obvious that the staff takes pride in their facility, keeping it clean and in good working order. The kitchenette came with standard appliances, minimal dishes/pots/pans/etc., and coffee with the coffee maker. There is a Publix grocery store less than a mile away. The bathroom had small soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion bottles like you would find in any hotel. You could easily spend a relaxing week here. There is a garden courtyard separating the two buildings. The beach is literally across the street, and a marina on the bay is at the back of the property. It was a very quiet, calm atmosphere but that may be due to the time of the year we were there: mid-November. The staff makes every effort to anticipate the needs of their guests. In addition to WiFi, there's computer in the lobby that I used to check-in online with my airline and print a boarding pass.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the resort for a wedding. The resort did an excellent job coordinating with everyone for the wedding to make sure we all got rooms. The resort offers a number of room options from single beds to 3-4 bedroom units that allowed us to stay with family. The rooms were very clean, the staff was very friendly and they made sure our visit was enjoyable.

The resort is located within walking distance of restaurants, shops and most importantly the beach. All you have to do is walk across the street and you are right on the beach. The resort allows you to take chairs and umbrellas over to the beach where most places would charge you. I would recommend the resort for anyone looking for a great beach spot that has a small, local feel rather than a chain hotel/resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Brought my friend here! She lived it but then, I knew she would! Everything was perfect. Rented a hotel room this time. Just as nice as the 2 bedroom full kitchen. The cafe had great food. Pet friendly, quiet just perfect. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Every room us special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Anna Maria Island, and we stayed at Tortuga Beach Resort based on the advise of a friend that lives in Tampa. Wow, was it a really, really wonderful place to stay, plus our family had a wedding and reception on Tortuga's private covered beach area just 100 ft. from our rooms. There were over 20 members of our families staying there in various rooms, and everyone in our wedding party enjoyed the rooms, the pool, the quaint setting, the beach, and the staff; and I mean all the staff, treated us like family! Also, it was very affordable! We will be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 546RobertB546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
957 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
162 reviews
3.0 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Resort
Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2315
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing