We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortuga Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuga Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here spring break 2013 and had a great time! The folks at the desk were always in a good mood (they work at the beach though, so....) It's a very clean, beautiful, and well-kept property in a convenient location. They give the option of no housekeeping to save money. We did this but our youngest got sick the first night and they graciously changed out our bed sheets gratis. They have free laundry for guests so you can clean your own towels as needed (dryers are slow but what are you going to do?). You don't have to bring beach towels because they give you tokens for one set of beach towels each day.

The pool was heated and our daughters loved it. It can get a bit crowded with spring break but never unworkable. They have a bin of toys and a cabana boy standing by with cool drinks and towels. They only ran low on beach chairs once that I can recall because it was too cool and windy to go to the beach.

The resort is across the main road from the beach. This does have fairly constant traffic during spring break but cars stop to let you cross. There's a free bus running the length of the island and there's a bike lane on either side of the road. The beach is clean and the Inn provides plenty of lounge chairs (the poor staff has to drag them back near the road and stack them each night). The sand varies from soft flour to broken shells but its a lovely wide beach with a lot of shallow water and mild waves just big enough to give kids their first taste of body surfing. There is an outfit offering water toy rentals right there. Shelling isn't great but what was on offer got our 9 year old excited.

The island is small so the inn is convenient to most everything you could need. There's little need to leave the island and you're better off staying on it because during spring break the backups to cross the causeway are loooong.

The staff worked very hard to keep guests happy. We didn't have housekeeping but they were busy as bees everywhere else keeping things looking great. For some reason the TV (full cable) got stuck in the on position so they brought in a brand new TV the next day.

We did have a couple of minor complaints. For the first 3-4 days the wifi had a horribly weak signal, dropping constantly and basically unusable. Then i think someone realized a router/repeater was offline and it improved considerably. So if you have a bad signal check at the desk and see if it can be improved. The other issue is it got a bit hot at night for sleeping. We didn't get enough breeze and couldn't work out the cooling system, but it wasn't bad enough for us to try super hard, either!

All in all a great place, a great stay, and a lot of people working hard to ensure you have a happy and carefree time on vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    140
    42
    19
    9
See reviews for
369
319
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in studio room 247A (a Friday through Wednesday). We made arrangements to pick up our key in the after hours box. The outside and stairwells were poorly lit making it difficult to read the map to our room. There were two deadbolts on the room door. Use the key on the bottom deadbolt to open the door. Once inside, you can lock both deadbolts. The door had painted glass windows and did not have a peep hole.The room was clean with a small kitchen, but did not have a good view. If you opened the blinds, guests walking by can see directly into your room. The mattress was firm with scratchy sheets. The bathroom had a small window to open, but without an exhaust fan, the entire hotel room became foggy when someone showered. The shower had awesome water pressure. There was also a bidet. I sent the housekeeper away on Sunday because she came before noon, but she did not return again until Tuesday afternoon! The French Cafe near the front office was nice for breakfast. The beach is located across a VERY busy street, but the hotel provides free beach chairs and umbrellas to guests. There are lots of seashells. There are also two trolley stops near the hotel where you can ride around parts of the island for free. We enjoyed our trip, but wish our room had a better view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I want to start by saying the deluxe apartments in the Tortuga inn are awesome. Now that that is said, i would not really count it as a normal hotel/motel. Think of it more like you are renting an apartment at a really nice location. The service is not designed to be a hands on effort. The pools are...not the best.
I love the concept, because I enjoy a restful undisturbed vacation and that is what i get every time i go. Its pretty close to everything and the beach is amazing. Not a resort but a very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jestercrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Tortuga Inn and were very comfortable there. The apartment was very clean and well appointed. With two pools to choose from they were never crowded and were well maintained. Beautiful private beach right across the street and a French bistro. What more could you ask for? The quiet rules after 10 pm on Anna Maria made for a restful stay. Thank you David and Tim and all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinrick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at Tortuga Beach. It's not a fancy resort, but it's very clean, well-kept, friendly, and offers an ideal location just steps from the beach and walking distance from local eateries and activities. It's perfect for families. We were in the Palm Court 2 bed/1 bath rooms - stayed in both a top and bottom floor room during our stay and liked them both. The upstairs room had an ocean view and wonderful breeze. The staff at Tortuga was accommodating and friendly, and they really provide everything you need to be self-sufficient in your own little apartment - even free laundry and internet. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the Palm Court or Gulf View rooms and ask for a room at least a few rooms away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in apt. adjacent to pool. Very noisy with loudly closing security gates slamming shut from 9am to 10 pm. Beds uncomfortable and sleep sofa had collapsed ( discovered first evening) and wouldn't open. Furniture very dated and uncomfortable - needs to be replaced. Maids often took old towels and did not bring new! Location okay but certainly not as charming as the old world feel of the Pine Street end of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazelNadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was on vacation with my sister, brother-in-law and 11 yo nephew. We were in a 2 Br/1bath room location 227. We had a great view of the pool and the a bit of the ocean. The staff was great and helpful with finding out about places to eat. We were there the from March 20-26, the weekend was when a big crowd came in and because the temperature were cold on the beach people were pulling in lounge chairs from the beach across the street to the poolside since the pool was nicely heated. I found the area to be a quiet place until the crowds came in. Anyway, the property was well kept, I thought the rooms were well insulated and I am a light sleeper. The kitchen had all you needed to cook and there was a free laundry with 3 washers and 3 dryers. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were easy to keep clean since the floors were tiled. I am pretty picky but I have to say I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMKUSAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.0 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Resort
Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2315
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing