We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Accomodations in a Gorgeous Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tortuga Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here a year ago and absolutely loved it. There was one incident where it got a bit loud across the hall but otherwise we had no trouble. The view to the Gulf was breathtaking, the rooms were decorated beautifully and I highly recommend the enormous shower with two heads. All around fabulous. We hoped to go again next week but it was booked so we are going somewhere else. Highly recommended! Enjoy! The beach access is directly across the street and the inn is close to local dining establishments.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 934 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

For our first stay on this island, we loved the "old Florida" feel of Anna Maria Island (Key West for grownups), and Tortuga Inn provided the perfect spot to enjoy the island. The office staff was so helpful and friendly - from choosing a room while booking the reservation over the phone to mapping out restaurants, shops, beaches and bike trails once we arrived. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Small French cafe right on the property sells great coffee to start the day. Our queen room overlooking the front parking lot was cute and clean with a nicely updated luxury bath. Our room was near the pool, which thankfully shuts down at 10 p.m. for quiet hours. Great access to private beach, right across the street. Rental bikes were delivered to us - a fun way to see the island. Highly recommend Tortuga.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieW868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The day we were getting married was exciting and spontanious. Lisa Bean at Tortuga offered to perform our wedding ceremony. The garden area near the pool was a perfect spot for our vows. Photos by the bay and at the beach to follow. Sounds wonderful,right?? Well, we never expected this story! We drove to the Tortuga, where we were to be married.....it rained! Even harder as we got out of the car. The staff welcomed us with open arms and towels to dry us off. Reschedule the wedding? No way! Through the expertise of Lisa and support of Tortuga staff, we were married in THE GIFT SHOP of the Tortuga Beach Resort! What a wonderful experience! The ceremony will always be remembered as special because of the staff at Tortuga and we look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just spent Saturday to Wednesday here. We hated to leave. The place was very clean and very well layed out. The foliage, ponds, etc are beautiful. It is a nice location right across from the beach but also on the inlet side. The people were helpful and friendly. The pools were well located. It wasnt too busy so that might have added to the peacefulness. Easy walking distance to the tiki bar, fish house and bridge street. The trolley stops are right in front of the entrance. Easy to get any where. I would greatly recommend it...only downside were the birds that would wake me up every night fighting in the bushes on the bay side..:)

Room Tip: nice rooms on the bay side have their own pool or hot tub...very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I wanted one last getaway before I went back to teaching. We stayed at the Tortuga the last weekend in August. I did not know that it was Hurricane season, and though it was hot, humid, and rainy, it did not deter us from our weekend. The room was clean to start with but house keeping service didn't show up at all our first full day there. I had to request clean towels at a minimum and made the bed myself. The following day, someone didn't show up until after 5 pm. I prefer to have a room cleaned before then.

There were no balconies or anywhere to sit and enjoy while it was raining. We were therefore stuck in our room. Crossing the street to get to the "private beach" also wasn't that big of an issue, but I only imagine how dreadful it would be when it was at peak season, such as Spring Break. That's a pretty busy street. Have you ever considered building a small walkway bridge over the road?

The pool was nice, but small and very crowded. According to the website there were supposed to be two pools and a jacuzzi, but upon arrival, we found that those were only for certain rooms. The small cafe on premises ran out of croissants every single morning except one. By 9 a.m. there was nothing left, disappointing there. Also, small tables and chairs or somewhere to sit and drink coffee would have been nice.

We plan on coming back to Anna Maria in a couple of months, I already booked our trip, however, NOT at the Tortuga. I would like to try somewhere else so I won't be disappointed again. These may seem like small, petty, things, but when you are paying what I consider quite a lot for a room, I certainly expect better service and more amenities. So I chalk this one up, to just average, really, really average.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you want a view of the ocean, easy access ocean, and your room cleaned b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katydemick, Manager at Tortuga Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

This is in response to "Was an okay stay". We're disappointed we didn't provide service & accommodations to this guest to satisfy their every need. It is always our goal to provide the finest to our guests. We searched our records and could not identify this person, either by name or city & state, as staying with us on the holiday week-end, so we're not sure what unit this guest occupied. This was the holiday week-end and we were at full occupancy, so our housekeeping staff had to do 54 services. We apologize, it did take most of the day to get everyone done, as our guests do not like to be disturbed prior to 11 a.m. We have a total of 6 buildings all nestled together on our property. From the statement about having a walkway but no balcony, this guest probably stayed in one of our upstairs units near the front pool. The units in the Garden Apartments located in the center of the property all have screened lanais; and most all the other units on our property have either a porch or a private courtyard area. Even though this guests mentions their comments might seem small, petty things, we do not look at them in that way at all. We know it is the little things that make a difference to our valued guests. We're sorry this person has decided not to stay with us again, but we hope their overall stay on beautiful Anna Maria Island was pleasant.but we hope their overall stay on beautiful Anna Maria Island was pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I struggled with what to rate this hotel. I know they aren't extensive with a spa or breakfast buffet...but if you go in with reasonable expectations and really want a great family location, this truly is five stars. First off, we have stayed in the past in both the older and newer gardens buildings. This time we stayed in the older building, two bedroom, one bath unit on the second floor. The full kitchen had everything you'd need including dish washer detergent and coffee filters. We really enjoyed the daily room service. The pool is small but well maintained with many community toys for sharing. Towel service, well stocked front laundries store, free washer and dryer use. The small crepes to go store was EXCELLENT. would highly recommend the crepes....good prices as well. The location is fantastic within walking distance to many restaurants, across the street from a fabulous beach. Included in your stay are multiple beach chairs and umbrellas, even though it was labor day weekend, they didn't run out. Overall, I would highly recommend this location and truly enjoyed our time here.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Fishyfishy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

What a beautiful place. The room was just perfect, a wonderful home away from home. It was quiet, and very Island-like. The lush garden atmosphere keeps this little Inn almost undetected from the outside world. There was parking under the building right next to the elevator. There were two pools. One for people with children, and one more discreet in the center of the Inn. The staff was warm and friendly. I would want my business run by such fine people. The beach was just across the street. The inn provided umbrellas and lounge chairs free of charge. I felt like it was our little stretch of beach! The sandwiches at the french cafe were excellent. I will stay at Tortuga Inn whenever I come to Florida if it is available. The last time we stayed at the Hilton on Long Boat Key. It was nice....but this was perfect.

Room Tip: Stay in the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#1 of 15 in Holmes Beach
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
171 reviews
0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
175 reviews
3 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2315
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range: $80 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing